![]() ![]() |
Jeff Hendrick |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 138139140141> |
Author | |||
djhegzy ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 06 Oct 2014 Location: Co. Tyrone Status: Offline Points: 1117 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Since he became a Vegan he looks to be getting skinnier and Skinnier, wonder is it affecting him. He used to have flashes of brilliance ans then was anonymous for the next 5 games, always thought he needed a good shake
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Sponsored Links | |||
![]() |
|||
Conan ![]() Davey Langan ![]() ![]() I’m not very bright. Joined: 11 Mar 2015 Location: United Kingdom Status: Offline Points: 832 |
||
One of the universe's great mysteries is that. I presume each club just looks at how he has managed to play regularly in the premier league and Ireland team for so long and assume he must therefore be pretty good. Finally being found out though. Not his personal fault he's sh*te of course but from observation he does tend to spend a lot of the time avoiding the ball or quickly getting read of it with a short sideways pass when playing for us in order to not get found out I guess.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
You Tell Me ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() Joined: 05 Sep 2010 Status: Offline Points: 6773 |
||
He was very good at Derby to be fair to him. That was a long time ago now obviously. He was effective at Burnley in that he played the role that Dyche wanted him to play to a decent standard. Newcastle signing him was as predictably stupid a transfer as you'll ever see though, back when they were being run on a relative shoestring by Ashley. He has fallen away badly in the last few years and has been found out in the Championship on his loan moves - he's not the player he was when he played at that level for Derby.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
JoxerDaly ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 03 Apr 2018 Location: Dublin Status: Offline Points: 1216 |
||
Made over 10 Million in his career. Not bad for a non footballer who is still only 31.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
BabbsBalls ![]() Moderator Group ![]() ![]() Joined: 12 Feb 2009 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 10080 |
||
It's all well and good for us sitting at the end of a phone saying how sh*t he is and that he's coasting and how he's falling out of love for the game blah blah blah but none of us know what it's like to live in an environment where it's all about what people can get out of you.
I would imagine being a pro footballer isn't all a bed of roses and some of these lads eventually view it as nothing more than a way to make a living. Jeff is a limited player at professional level but has made a good living for himself. Fair play to him.
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
The Huntacha ![]() Roy Keane ![]() ![]() Joined: 27 Mar 2012 Location: Dubai Status: Offline Points: 12415 |
||
I remember thinking as that game ended that he had played himself out of the Euros squad. He mentioned in an interview a year or so later that someone close to him told him he was blessed to make it which might have given him a kick up the hole and could explain his good performances during the tournament. One of those players whose appearance and languid style did little to endear him to fans.
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Claret Murph ![]() Paul McGrath ![]() ![]() Hmmm, Goodness, I must say Joined: 16 Apr 2009 Location: Tibet Status: Offline Points: 15571 |
||
Has to be one of the worst Burnley players i have seen in the last 15 years .
If you never read the team sheet you would have no idea he was on the park .
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Mr. Snrub ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 12 Mar 2016 Location: Co. Dublin Status: Offline Points: 1870 |
||
Poor aul Jazzy Jeff. Showed flashes of a very good player and was class at the Euros. Made some big goals for us, Georgia at home & Wales away spring to mind.
He never put a consistent run of performances together and his career has really nosedived. Another below average midfielder who won a lot more caps than he should Edited by Mr. Snrub - 16 Nov 2023 at 8:26am |
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Given's zimmerframe ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() Joined: 03 Apr 2016 Status: Offline Points: 607 |
||
got a nice assist for oshea against Germany too
|
|||
![]() |
|||
SeanC ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 22 Oct 2021 Status: Offline Points: 268 |
||
I remember the first time I saw Wes he was playing with Shels at the time and he was best player on the pitch by a country mile. Followed him from then on. One of the most technical and forward thinking players we’ve ever produced overvlast couple decades. Year on year we had to watch him not being selected because of ignorant perception he couldn’t tackle and was lightweight. Instead managers selected the archetypal 6’ midfielder ahead of him who hadn’t a tenth of the ability of Wes. Wes was one of the bravest players on and off the ball this country ever produced and should’ve had 50 more caps except people like this thought he was “lightweight” coz he did meet their height expectations. Still laughable.
Edited by SeanC - 16 Nov 2023 at 9:53pm |
|||
![]() |
|||
The O'Shea ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() I know everything and I’m NEVER wrong Joined: 16 Aug 2013 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 9062 |
||
Yep, always baffled me that people claimed he couldn't do the defensive stuff, because he always put himself about the place pressing from the front. It did seem to be purely based on him being short, because he certainly never shirked a tackle.
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Realrover ![]() Phil Babb ![]() Joined: 20 Dec 2022 Status: Offline Points: 47 |
||
For Derby, Burnley and Ireland up until about 2018/19. Then a gradual drop off.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Mr. Snrub ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 12 Mar 2016 Location: Co. Dublin Status: Offline Points: 1870 |
||
Yeah that pisses me off. He was in his arse lightweight! The best technical player we've produced in decades and MON wouldn't play him in away games. He should have 100 + caps and been the first name on the teamsheet. Hopefully we don't make the same mistake with Moran who is of a similar ilk. Classic Irish mentality of not playing so called flair players ![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Given's zimmerframe ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() Joined: 03 Apr 2016 Status: Offline Points: 607 |
||
I also think it was a bit of a myth that he could not tackle
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Realrover ![]() Phil Babb ![]() Joined: 20 Dec 2022 Status: Offline Points: 47 |
||
It wasn't that he couldn't tackle it's that he would sometimes go missing in games and in our threadbare teams and style at the time it didn't always suit. He used to do the same for Norwich too. He was still criminally underused overall.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
The O'Shea ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() I know everything and I’m NEVER wrong Joined: 16 Aug 2013 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 9062 |
||
Lots of players "went missing" for Norwich and Ireland - it tends to happen when the team can't get a hold of the ball! I've always thought the idea that having a player who can create chances in your team is a "luxury", whereas having guys who can pass the ball sideways is a "necessity", is one of the most nonsensical myths in football.
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
ConorMac77 ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() ![]() Joined: 22 Apr 2015 Location: Newry Status: Offline Points: 3565 |
||
Yep, problem is there's too much of an obsession thesr days with statistics and possession of the ball, same as in gaelic football.
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
TooOldForThis ![]() Davey Langan ![]() ![]() Joined: 07 Sep 2020 Status: Offline Points: 948 |
||
There really is no excuse for a player to habitually "go missing" in games. If its not happening for you in a game, do something, make yourself relevant, even if it means kicking someone up the arse!
|
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 138139140141> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |