Topic ClosedIrish U21's finally win

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Irish U21's finally win
    Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 4:07pm
Didnt see it as i was training - any reports?
Just seen the end of welsh and french game - smashin win for wales!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 4:09pm
Johnjoe o toole scored the winner in injury. Didn see it either read it on the fai website. Still no chance of qualifying though.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 4:10pm
At least it's a confidence booster
Well done lads

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 4:13pm
sorry was the bbc web site, not the fai website. Lazy bas*ards wont update their site
engpad View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 4:56pm
I watched the game and it was poor. Ireland bossed the first half and bulgaria the second. Couldve been a few more goals, Stokes was very quiet upfront looked as though he was trying far to hard to try and impress, gleeson and quinn looked decent in the midfield. Rooney could have bagged a few upfront but didnt have enough quality.
Probably slighlty edged the game, good to get the qualifying campaign up and running, first goal in the group aswell!
btw, does anyone know where the england away game is being played or has it not been said yet?
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 5:30pm
I've covered all the games except Portugal in work and I have to say the amount of chances created and missed over the three games I've seen is ridiculous...tonight was as Engpad said quiet enough but we still should have scored before the last minute..the game only really got going in the final 20 minutes as both teams opened up but their Keeper (who Liverpool are meant to be signing) made two excellent saves in the first half, we also hit the bar and should have scored the rebound in that half too.

We finally got a f**king goal after 6hoursConfused of trying a free outside the box was whipped into the danger area and John Joe O'Toole planted his header firmly into the corner....how it's takin this log to score is bizarre in another tournament we'd easily have 5-6 goals..someone will get hammered by us in this group

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 5:36pm
Just back from freezing Athlone. Overall a poor game. We dominated though  Bulgaria were very technically adept and could have caused us more problems than they did.

Referee made some strange decisions agaisnt both teams and robbed them of a penalty.

Stokes and Rooney could have netted  before John Joe got his head in where it counts. Standing  in front of him when he connected and it looked like he met it with his face!

Chris McCann, (another Stephen Ireland?) fcuked off from the squad when he wasn't in the starting eleven leaving one vacant spot on the bench that Givens said half the country would give their right arm to pull on the green shirt.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 5:40pm
that mcCann lad is another promising player but if that's his attitude then he can also feck off
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 5:41pm
Fair play to you Soccerc..biter night..What happened with Chris McCann? Did the team get announced tonight and he walked out?

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 5:54pm

What the fck is wrong with these prima donna Big Time Charlies?  Who is Chris McCann anyhow?  P*ss off you fckn scorpy so and so if he threw the toys out of the pram.  Givens deserves and has earned respect for what he achieved in his Irish playing career and the senior lads on Saturday certainly seemed to pay him that respect.  Jeez I just hate that sort of me-me-me attitude in players.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 5:54pm
Originally posted by L.Y.A. L.Y.A. wrote:

Fair play to you Soccerc..biter night..What happened with Chris McCann? Did the team get announced tonight and he walked out?

'The background was that Chris McCann came to me at 5.15pm and said he didn't want to be in the squad tonight. It was a waste of time him being here,' explained Givens.

'He travelled to Montenegro and did not take part. He wasn't in the starting line-up tonight and he didn't want to be in the squad. I said to him 'have a think about it because it is obviously going to affect your future'.

'He said that he didn't want to be in so I said to pack his things and go.

'I regret now that he hadn't told me earlier because I'd have got somebody else on the bench. I'd have got a local boy in.

'I could have got somebody in because half this town would give their right arm to play for their country. Here's a kid who doesn't want to be there.

'I can never understand anybody that doesn't want to pull on the green shirt.

'I don't know the boy very well. He trained fine. There was no problem with his training in Dublin or here. As soon as the team was announced I wish he'd come to me then.'

Edited by soccerc - 20 Nov 2007 at 6:01pm
stiofain View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 6:05pm
John Joe O'Toole - great name.

Dissapointing to hear about McCann Thumbs%20Down
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 6:07pm
Brutal...what's wrong with these young lads coming through?Unhappy

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2007 at 6:09pm
That seems to crystal clear to me from those quotes.  How to win fans over Chris eh?  

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 1:21am
i thought o'cearuil was solid at the back and also that sheehan is a class player , delighted for them at the end , bulgarians are classy though , stroked the ball about , much better than our lads technically , their keeper is deffo one for the future.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 3:16am
That keeper is twice the keeper randolph ever will be.Very commanding throughout

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 4:12am
maybe a little short , jaysis irelands keeper looked a midget !
stiofain View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Nov 2007 at 5:41am
Agree with those comments lads. Happened to see the best part of Englands young lads against them last friday and they looked a decent enough team. One lad in midfield stuck out in particular.