New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Irish Citizens in the North/ Presidential election

Irish Citizens in the North/ Presidential election

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 7>
Poll Question: Should They Be Allowed To Vote
24 [64.86%]
13 [35.14%]

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zizu Kilbane Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Irish Citizens in the North/ Presidential election
    Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 3:46pm
Personally I think its a disgrace they are not allowed to vote in this... For example, Darron Gibson, Marc Wilson, Paddy Barnes, etc have represented the Irish nation/ people internationally but there not able to vote for the head of state of the very country they represent.... That disgusts me

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Saint Tom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 3:48pm
should be extended to all citizens regardless of location in my view - you still dont qualify hornet Wink
Emerald View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Emerald Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 4:56pm
Everyone born in the North is an Irish citizen by birth, not just fellow county (Wink) men. So all the Unionists could vote as well if they wanted to. Might make for an interesting outcome...

GoneToShowgies View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GoneToShowgies Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:09pm
Originally posted by Emerald Emerald wrote:

Everyone born in the North is an Irish citizen by birth, not just fellow county (Wink) men. So all the Unionists could vote as well if they wanted to. Might make for an interesting outcome...

An Irish passport should give you the right to vote I suppose.

Doyler View Drop Down
AKA James McCarthy

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Doyler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:11pm
We should have the right to vote in this, we are all Irish.
Look at these scenes, just look at these scenes!

"it's too strong lads!"

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nvidic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:13pm
voting system needs an overhaul.. i missed out on voting last time out because i was in china.. studying on a ucd course, absolute joke i couldn't have been given a postal vote. Northern citizens are entitled to an Irish Passport thus should be able to vote.
eire32 View Drop Down
xHamster's Free Porn Videos

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eire32 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:16pm

Never new they are not allowed to vote :(

How is Mary Boss then being from down?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote soccerc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:18pm
System is fair as it stands. Giving a vote to  non resident citizens or passport holders would be an abuse. If they don't live here permanently then tough. If you want to be in a position to exercise this valuable franchise then come live here, pay tax here but don't expect us that do contribute to our society on a daily basis to have views of those who don't foisted upon us.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nvidic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:22pm

System is fair as it stands. Giving a vote to  non resident citizens or passport holders would be an abuse. If they don't live here permanently then tough. If you want to be in a position to exercise this valuable franchise then come live here, pay tax here but don't expect us that do contribute to our society on a daily basis to have views of those who don't foisted upon us.

gets tricky then though, how do you define pemanently?! Anyone who lives in england for a few years could easily fly over and vote, while someone who may be on work/studying further abroad for a relatively short period of time can not vote
Jerryfromkerry View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jerryfromkerry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:22pm
Such partitionist sh*te soccerc
No man has the right to fix the boundary to the march of a nation. No man has the right to say to his country “thus far shalt thou go and no further"

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote soccerc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:27pm

gets tricky then though, how do you define pemanently?! Anyone who lives in england for a few years could easily fly over and vote, while someone who may be on work/studying further abroad for a relatively short period of time can not vote

The conditions for a Postal Vote are strong and tight for a specific reason - to avoid fraud. Just look at recent events in UK where postal voting was allowed to a wider range of qualifiers.

Can't see how someone who lives in England can obtain a vote easily as the compilation of the Register of Electors is fair and fairly secure.  I accept that students or workers on short term assignments abroad are disenfranchised albeit temporarily but likewise if I was hospitalised while on election day.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote soccerc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:29pm
Originally posted by Jerryfromkerry Jerryfromkerry wrote:

Gobsh*te Wink

Using the perjorative term partitionist is akin to using begrudger - Only used by those without an intellectual capacity to engage in reasonable discussion or debate

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nvidic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:30pm

The conditions for a Postal Vote are strong and tight for a specific reason - to avoid fraud. Just look at recent events in UK where postal voting was allowed to a wider range of qualifiers.

Can't see how someone who lives in England can obtain a vote easily as the compilation of the Register of Electors is fair and fairly secure.  I accept that students or workers on short term assignments abroad are disenfranchised albeit temporarily but likewise if I was hospitalised while on election day.

I automatically get sent my card at home.. can't imagine it's too tricky to move your address to a relatives home and recieves cards there.. although you'd have to be fairly pushed to do ti and i'd say literally no-one does that! There should be a few more exceptions but overall hard to say it'd make a difference to the vote, Northern Irish lads voting however might have an impact.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:30pm
Them lot up there are way too angry to vote in our election

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:31pm
Originally posted by Jerryfromkerry Jerryfromkerry wrote:

You do realiase that if Marty wins the election he will have to recognise the partition and won't be able to go to Derry at the drop of a hat.

Emerald View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Emerald Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:33pm

Never new they are not allowed to vote :(

How is Mary Boss then being from down?

Being able to stand for the Presidency and being able to vote for it are 2 different things. Don't think Marty will be able to vote for himself in this election as he is not resident (yet Wink). 

ericdogg View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ericdogg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:48pm
My own personal view is that Northern Ireland is an independent state therefore I said no. I would hope in the future that NI could be full independent state, completely self-governed, self-sustainable and capable of standing on its own rather than a qualifed version of home rule. Surely that has to be the next logical development.
International Caps - 7

International Goals - 1

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AntrimMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2011 at 5:57pm
Originally posted by ericdogg ericdogg wrote:

My own personal view is that Northern Ireland is an independent state therefore I said no. I would hope in the future that NI could be full independent state, completely self-governed, self-sustainable and capable of standing on its own rather than a qualifed version of home rule. Surely that has to be the next logical development.

Are ye well this evening Mr Paisley?

Thats exactly the way auld Ian wanted things. He had no more time for London than he did for Dublin.

Thats a nightmare situation IMO - it would give creedance and validity to a failed political entity and christ knows i'd want no part of it
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 7>