![]() ![]() |
Ireland v Latvia match thread |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 12131415> |
Author | |||
Double Maxim ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() Joined: 24 Sep 2008 Location: Sunderland Status: Offline Points: 41445 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
||
Feckin bar stoolers.
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Sponsored Links | |||
![]() |
|||
Roberto_Carlow ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 05 Jan 2019 Status: Offline Points: 1026 |
||
Look forward to those moaning about kids at football games, having kids of their own.
How dare parents bring kids to a not sold out Latvia friendly, that seat could have been left empty the selfish feckers.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
oldbilly ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 30 Sep 2016 Status: Offline Points: 2953 |
||
![]() Personally thought the pros outweighed the cons. Smallbone Ferguson obafemi O’Dowda molumby all excellent, Johnston is an exciting player, kelleher was decent enough, beaten by a worldie and a deflection, needs game time as does Doherty , the only real disappointment for me. Need to tighten up on the space in front of our three cbs when not in possession too. Still finding this Irish side the most watchable since micks first go at it.
|
|||
No Pasaran!
|
|||
![]() |
|||
FrankosHereNow ![]() Roy Keane ![]() ![]() I like Klopp Joined: 02 Jun 2011 Location: El Sadar Status: Offline Points: 11809 |
||
|
|||
As You Were Three in a row |
|||
![]() |
|||
Mr. Snrub ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 12 Mar 2016 Location: Co. Dublin Status: Offline Points: 1607 |
||
How people can post during the game is beyond me. Maybe go and see it with your own eyes instead of criticisng every single play..........
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
SeaSharp ![]() Davey Langan ![]() Joined: 09 Jun 2022 Status: Offline Points: 786 |
||
Are you under the impression that everybody lives in Dublin? I live in the UK and have a season ticket but I'm not spending hundreds and taking 1.5/2 days off work to come see a midweek friendly vs Latvia.
Edited by SeaSharp - 23 Mar 2023 at 10:50am |
|||
![]() |
|||
Het-field ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() By Appointment to His Majesty The King Joined: 08 Mar 2016 Status: Online Points: 9090 |
||
Its quite easy when you have your phone in hand. In fact, depending on circumstances a lot easier that actually attending games for many reasons.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Mr. Snrub ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 12 Mar 2016 Location: Co. Dublin Status: Offline Points: 1607 |
||
Plenty of postitives to take from the game.
Smallbone looked very comfortable on has debut, has played himself into the team for Monday. Ferguson getting his 1st Ireland goal and a great cameo from MJ. We need to shore up at the back and stop conceding those long rangers, it's becoming a real concern. I brought the misses to her first senior game and she loved it witnessing 5 goals. Think back to the friendlies under MON, grim times!
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
notpropaganda73 ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() ![]() Joined: 17 Feb 2016 Location: Donegal Status: Offline Points: 711 |
||
+1 Frustrating to lose the two goal lead similar to Armenia but the positives with the debutants outweigh those negatives for me.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
MayoMark ![]() Moderator Group ![]() ![]() The NEW angrier Freewheeler Joined: 27 Jan 2009 Location: Castlebar Status: Offline Points: 25858 |
||
Suppose it just needs to be started 30 seconds earlier but if that was being knocked out Monday night when the teams are coming out it would be absolutely class
![]() |
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Healy52003 ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 02 Dec 2015 Status: Offline Points: 1852 |
||
How much was a pint in the stadium ?? The real stuff not the 0.0 sh*te Do you still get the collectable Cup ?
|
|||
![]() |
|||
John Nice ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Location: Wexford Status: Offline Points: 2979 |
||
Just to point out to all the lads banging on about the 133 ranked Latvia side last week, the team ranked 28 by FIFA and 16 in UEFA qualifying Wales only beat them 1-0 at home last night in a competitive game.
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
Het-field ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() By Appointment to His Majesty The King Joined: 08 Mar 2016 Status: Online Points: 9090 |
||
We conceded twice to them, and the Latvian defender put the winner on a plate for us.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
The O'Shea ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() I know everything and I’m NEVER wrong Joined: 16 Aug 2013 Location: Ireland Status: Online Points: 8465 |
||
But we scored 3 times? Why is it more important not to concede 2 (one being a wondergoal) than it is to score two more? The outcome is the same, a 1 goal win.
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
||
Because its speaks to the team being on the back-foot for a part of the match. And anybody watching saw that.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
John Nice ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Location: Wexford Status: Offline Points: 2979 |
||
But the point is people were bemoaning the fact that Ireland only won by the odd goal (and 6 of that team didnt start vs France, others needed the minutes, 2 full debutantes and another off the bench) and Latvia obviously caused the higher ranked Wales side problems also. We won the game, some of the criticism after the game (a friendly) was ott.
|
|||
|
|||
![]() |
|||
||
True. But Kenny has generally taken friendly matches seriously. Thats indicated by his team selections, and even his substitutions in those games. Issues that have raised their head during Kenny's time in charge also repeated themselves in this game. Conceding to a minnow (yes a minnow), being forced to recover the loss of a two goal lead, a period of the game where we looked listless and out of ideas, and finally circling the wagons in order to secure the win (Latvia even had a late chance). My point is, not all wins are equal. A 1-0 win is uninspiring, but there remains a clean sheet, and the defence escapes intact.
|
|||
![]() |
|||
kevin100 ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 01 Jul 2020 Location: Mallow Status: Online Points: 2856 |
||
Issue is for me it’s a carbon copy of what happened against Armenia. Went 2-0 and nearly fell over ourselves trying to throw it away. Went ahead against Scotland and Ukraine gave the lead away as well lesser extent than the first two but still signs of a pattern. The big positive for this Irish team is we now have a range of attackers who have shown they know where the net is to an extent at international level. Ogbene,Obafemi,Parrott without including the arrival of Evan Ferguson. Oldest of them is Ogbene at 25. It’s all very positive coupled with our obvious set piece threat. Our defensive weakness is worrying and the lack of ability to protect that D area/area just outside the box also. Signs of that again Monday night. Our set piece defending did improve Monday night and the management deserve credit for that even if we didn’t have many to deal with. Seems to me the goals from distance/not protecting the D area this will be to Kenny what the passing stats thing was to Martin O’Neill going by his frosty response to a perfectly fair question from Tony O’Donoughue the other night. |
|||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 12131415> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |