![]() ![]() |
Ireland U17s thread |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 313233 |
Author | |
ripbomb ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() ![]() Joined: 13 May 2012 Status: Offline Points: 584 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
And France lead late on
|
|
![]() |
|
Sponsored Links | |
![]() |
|
pateen ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() ![]() Joined: 26 Apr 2012 Location: London Status: Offline Points: 443 |
Balls
|
|
Flying so high, trying to remember
How many cigarettes did I bring along? When I get down I'll jump in a taxi cab Driving through London town, to cry you a song |
|
![]() |
|
You Tell Me ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() Joined: 05 Sep 2010 Status: Offline Points: 5210 |
All going against us here unfortunately.
|
|
![]() |
|
J89 ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 25 Mar 2018 Status: Offline Points: 2543 |
Switzerland and England in the play off. Switzerland will fancy their chances and looked the better team when both played in the group stages.
|
|
![]() |
|
You Tell Me ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() Joined: 05 Sep 2010 Status: Offline Points: 5210 |
A good tournament overall but, being honest, we were a level below the sides that are still involved - two of them beat us easily enough. It would have been a big ask to beat the Swiss in a playoff also. But there are definitely a number of individual players from the team that we'll be seeing again at a higher level in future hopefully.
|
|
![]() |
|
Denis Irwin ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() Stay Home & watch Lethal Weapon Joined: 03 Feb 2008 Location: Ath Cliath Status: Offline Points: 37601 |
Foiled by France once again
![]() |
|
Bill O'Herlihy: Ah ye can't be saying that now Eamonn |
|
![]() |
|
giveittochristie ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 21 Oct 2015 Status: Offline Points: 254 |
Equally we are streets ahead of Wales and Hungary. Can we maintain that over the coming years given differences in coaching budgets?
|
|
![]() |
|
The O'Shea ![]() Jack Charlton ![]() ![]() I know everything and I’m NEVER wrong Joined: 16 Aug 2013 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 8477 |
We're a level below the world's traditional best sides? Colour me shocked.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
|
horsebox ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Born n bred in darndale. Joined: 03 Feb 2010 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 33185 |
Spain playing at a different level to Ireland. Their passing, movement and work rate was incredible.
Ireland held out for a time time though. Great experience for them all the same. |
|
When the devil got a hold of me, He wouldn't set me free, So he kept me soul for ransom. na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na. I'm a sailor man from Glasgow to |
|
![]() |
|
Baldrick ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() Peyton-tly Pedantic Joined: 18 Sep 2008 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 29932 |
Considering our investment in coaching is only above the likes of Andorra and San Marino it’s a minor miracle we do so well and for our lads to get to a quarter final with more 15 year olds than every other squad put together is an unreal achievement. Played great football against Wales and Hungary. Fair play to all involved and we are punching above our investment by miles.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
|
tetsujin1979 ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() ![]() Joined: 22 Jan 2009 Status: Offline Points: 3887 |
That's not true. We have four fifteen year olds in the squad(Harnett, Orazi, Melia, and Murray). Serbia also have in their squad(Milosavljević, Stojanović, Maksimović & Avdić), Spain have two(Hernández & Yamal), Croatia have two(Puljić & Milišić), and the Swiss(Akahomen) and Wales(Clarke) have one each Edited by tetsujin1979 - 28 May 2023 at 12:15pm |
|
![]() |
|
greenshoots ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 08 Jun 2021 Location: Limerick Status: Offline Points: 371 |
The stat about us having more U15's in our squad than the whole of the rest of the countries at the tournament has been doing the rounds for a week or more. Are we now saying that is completely wrong?
|
|
![]() |
|
tetsujin1979 ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() ![]() Joined: 22 Jan 2009 Status: Offline Points: 3887 |
Yes, and futsalfinn has admitted he was wrong still hasn't deleted the original tweet though
Edited by tetsujin1979 - 29 May 2023 at 12:14pm |
|
![]() |
|
And then also got his subsequent correction wrong. Maybe not someone journalists should be taking at their word going forward.
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <1 313233 |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |