![]() ![]() |
Ireland U17s thread |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345 21> |
Author | ||||
BigStrongMan ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() Just Modding Like Joined: 22 May 2009 Location: Ireland Status: Online Points: 106809 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|||
|
||||
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Sponsored Links | ||||
![]() |
||||
Fozz ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 08 Oct 2019 Location: Dublin Status: Offline Points: 1942 |
|||
Squad announced for two games v Mexico in Turner's Cross this Sunday and Tuesday:
Some interesting names here and I'd pay in to see Zefi for sure.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Howdo ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() ![]() Joined: 08 Oct 2010 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 710 |
|||
The Indo trying to stir it regarding Zefi potentially declaring for Albania, haven't heard from him, other than how proud he is to play for us https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/inter-milan-youngster-kevin-zefi-named-in-ireland-u-17-squad-for-friendly-double-header-40812104.html Edited by Howdo - 02 Sep 2021 at 3:06pm |
||||
![]() |
||||
Fozz ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 08 Oct 2019 Location: Dublin Status: Offline Points: 1942 |
|||
Yeah, such nonsense.
Journos looking for a clickbait angle to draw in the Grealish/Rice PL supporters, and insult the intelligence of the rest of us. The squad and upcoming games is the story so report on that FFS. Anyway, seems we have three games in October against Poland, N. Macedonia and Andorra. Dates and times to be finalised. And how great would it be if the FAI broadcast them on YouTube and showed some interest... |
||||
![]() |
||||
Denis Irwin ![]() Robbie Keane ![]() ![]() Stay Home & watch Lethal Weapon Joined: 03 Feb 2008 Location: Ath Cliath Status: Offline Points: 37538 |
|||
600 tickets available for each match
|
||||
Bill O'Herlihy: Ah ye can't be saying that now Eamonn |
||||
![]() |
||||
greenshoots ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 08 Jun 2021 Location: Limerick Status: Offline Points: 362 |
|||
Very interesting squad. Curtis and Heffernan at the back would be highly rated I think, as would Ferizaj in midfield. The real aces are up front I think, McLoughlin is with Villareal and Zefi with Inter Milan. Have I missed anyone else? Seems to be a good crop of prospects at U21 level and U19 level and defo seems to be a few here too.... Best of luck lads.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
CillDara ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() ![]() Joined: 08 Aug 2011 Location: Kildare Status: Offline Points: 693 |
|||
Interesting that 3 of the 20 man squad are of Albanian parentage, I don't think I've ever even met an Albanian person in Ireland. Zefi obviously the star but Ferizaj meant to be rated very highly as well.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Bandwagon ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 07 Feb 2021 Location: Dublin Status: Offline Points: 2361 |
|||
Ferizaj and Zefi are cousins. He wont be long behind him moving to a big club. Himself and Curtis were on trial with Roma and Leverkusen over the summer there. It is a bit mad theres 3 players of Albanian descent in the squad, along with so many players of African descent we've had repent us through the various age groups but yet there been so few Polish, which is probably the biggest minority group in Ireland.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Howdo ![]() 500 Club la la la ![]() ![]() Joined: 08 Oct 2010 Location: Ireland Status: Offline Points: 710 |
|||
Possible reason why so few Polish declare is that the parents tend to go back to Poland or elsewhere with the family after a few years in a lot of cases. |
||||
![]() |
||||
gazurtoids ![]() Liam Brady ![]() Joined: 13 Mar 2015 Location: dublin Status: Offline Points: 1665 |
|||
Poland for such a big country has never been a big exporter of top young talent so not hard to see why there's no conveyer belt for those living here.....odd thing is they always have pretty good players ...but they only seem to emerge as adults
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Bandwagon ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 07 Feb 2021 Location: Dublin Status: Offline Points: 2361 |
|||
Very good point. Also thinking about it again, the Polish community only began to move here post 2000 and only really began to grown probably post 2004 when they joined the EU so a lot of their children wouldn't be really old enough yet. We might see a couple begin to emerge in next few years as they reach u15/16s and u17s level. Where as with the African community example I gave, they began to move here a couple years earlier in the mid 90s on wards, didn't they? As for the Albanians, Id be guessing but they possibly moved here during the Balkans wars of the 90s / early 2000s. Edited by Bandwagon - 02 Sep 2021 at 6:53pm |
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
Yeah looking at the most recent u15s and 16s squads there and we've Olaf Boruc (Shamrock Rovers) Hugo Gwiazdowski (Shamrock Rovers) Patryck Swieczka Andrzejczak (Cork City) Off the bat, so I suspect that is the case and we'll see more over the next few years. Couple other Latvian and Lithuanian beginning to show up too.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Donegalman ![]() Liam Brady ![]() ![]() Joined: 16 Jun 2015 Location: Donegal Status: Offline Points: 1645 |
|||
Rocco Vata, only 15 if Iām correct and starts every game in the Celtic B team. Itās obviously not the best of standard but heās playing regularly against adults at that age it should stand to him.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
You Tell Me ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() Joined: 05 Sep 2010 Status: Online Points: 4807 |
|||
So what you're saying is that we need to start scouting Polish youth teams for Irish born talent - not an avenue I'd have thought of before but we seem to source youth players from the strangest places these days so you'd never know.
|
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
Not what I was implying but now that you say it, I think thatās a great idea, you never know, we might unearth an Oā Lewandowski |
||||
![]() |
||||
|||
Here's today's team playing Mexico again:
Great showing last day so hoping for more of the same. And fair-play to the locals for coming out in some numbers. |
||||
![]() |
||||
greenshoots ![]() Kevin Kilbane ![]() Joined: 08 Jun 2021 Location: Limerick Status: Offline Points: 362 |
|||
A disappointing day for the under age sides. The U17's went down 2 nil at home to Mexico and the U21's dropped points in their qualification group with a 1-1 draw away to Luxembourg. The U17's beat Mexico a few nights ago so they have a win and a loss from that series of games which isnt too bad. The U21's had a great result winning away to Bosnia but left 2 points behind them today. With Italy and Sweden in our group, we really need to be winning games away to Luxembourg. Hopefully the senior team get a better result out there!
|
||||
![]() |
||||
Maccatacca ![]() Ray Houghton ![]() Joined: 01 Jun 2016 Status: Offline Points: 3412 |
|||
Usually the first game in these series of two at 17s level is where the first XI is played, we won that one vs Mexico so wouldn't be too concerned.
|
||||
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12345 21> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |