Installing a bar in your house

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShayGivensBum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Installing a bar in your house
    Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:31pm
We are building a bar in our shed. We want taps, kegs etc. Has anyone done this before? What kinda gear do you need for a working tap etc. Where can one buy kegs? Bit clueless when it comes to it but would love to do it properly.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Butch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:46pm

We are building a bar in our shed. We want taps, kegs etc. Has anyone done this before? What kinda gear do you need for a working tap etc. Where can one buy kegs? Bit clueless when it comes to it but would love to do it properly.

Just put in a bar but no kegs / unless you are turning over a high volume (raging alcoholics) the kegs will be sat there only used for the craic and the taste will be horrible. Also you will need refrigeration for the kegs . Better off with a bottle bar . Under counter glass door fridges filled with your favourite tippple And pour it into a Glass

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sligo Hornet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:49pm

Just put in a bar but no kegs / unless you are turning over a high volume (raging alcoholics) the kegs will be sat there only used for the craic and the taste will be horrible. Also you will need refrigeration for the kegs . Better off with a bottle bar . Under counter glass door fridges filled with your favourite tippple And pour it into a Glass

....or buy a pub ....that way you can still keep your lawn mower in the shed

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShayGivensBum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:50pm
Yeah we thought about that but we are having a few big parties next year in the house and want proper kegs and taps etc. Any idea where you can buy all the stuff for it?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:57pm

Yeah we thought about that but we are having a few big parties next year in the house and want proper kegs and taps etc. Any idea where you can buy all the stuff for it?

https://www.brewcrew.ie/

I now expect an invite to one of these parties Wink
greenlad View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenlad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:58pm

I think you can hire most of that stuff from "prop me up".
Mr Stupid View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mr Stupid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 9:58pm
Just rent the gear for the parties ? We used to do that all the time. Most good pubs with off licences will rent you the taps and coolers and you buy a keg or two. They'll even come and install it in your gaff and pick it up the next day. One place in Galway even asked us if we wanted our own barman for the night ! It's not a bad idea as there is a lot of waste if you get lads that can't pull a pint and especially when everyone is bananas.
Stupid like a fox

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:15pm
Can't wait

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShayGivensBum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:19pm

Can't wait

You can come but the other neighbour we know is barred LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShayGivensBum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:20pm
Originally posted by Mr Stupid Mr Stupid wrote:

Just rent the gear for the parties ? We used to do that all the time. Most good pubs with off licences will rent you the taps and coolers and you buy a keg or two. They'll even come and install it in your gaff and pick it up the next day. One place in Galway even asked us if we wanted our own barman for the night ! It's not a bad idea as there is a lot of waste if you get lads that can't pull a pint and especially when everyone is bananas.

Never actually knew you could rent them tbh. Thanks for that. Still would like to buy our own though I think.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShayGivensBum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:20pm

Think that site only allows you to rent them?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PhilliyK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:35pm
Lad in work done similar few years back, I'll ask him the craic when he's back from travelling around Croatia

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShayGivensBum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:53pm

Lad in work done similar few years back, I'll ask him the craic when he's back from travelling around Croatia

Thanks Heart

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 10:57pm

Can't wait

You can come but the other neighbour we know is barred LOL

Derek Devoy? Won't be a party without him

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Aug 2017 at 11:55pm
Sasa's gaff for pre and post match pints from now on

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 12:30am

Think that site only allows you to rent them?

Nope they sell stuff too, you may need to contact them though
ErsatzThistle View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ErsatzThistle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 3:27am
Any excuse to post this Chewin the Fat sketch I love:

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREEWHEELER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 8:54am

Big mistake that, place is gonna be wrecked by YBIG, old and new.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>