Gibraltar away General Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 44454647>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2019 at 6:32pm

What a sh*thole. Only got there at 4pm, had a pint in Ocean Village. Reminded me of being kind of trapped in a particularly unimaginative massive hotel complex, everything seemed feckin fake. Wandered up to the square after the game, a dull, grey spot that had a few pubs which all closed around midnight, actually, they might have been open til 6am for all I know, most of them were empty by the time we left around 12am. 

Back to (Jeff) Hendricks for a late one & met a few fellow stragglers there- it was just somewhere that served beer really, no more or less than that. Fecked off around 2am, hoping to never have to go back. La Linea was surprisingly lively though, and didn't seem overly dodgy despite the scare stories here & elsewhere. 

@Corkery, I either met you, or one of your crew, or someone else that had the same idea, in the bar around corner from stadium after game, he was showing me similar pictures on his phone, f**kin fair play to all of ye that did that- love the fact that lack of tickets didn't distract ye from seeing the game, and the toppest of marks to ye for resourcefulness. Emoji button not working for me, so insert multiple clapping thingys in yer own head. 

I thought it was  decent enough spot for a couple of days but not much longer , drank in the Skull on Muffs recommendation a few times him being practically a local after 3 visits

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drumcondra 69er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2019 at 7:09pm
https://afalsefirstxi.blogspot.com/2019/03/gone-with-wind.html

Blog on the Gibraltar trip, match and FAI shenanigans for anyone interested. 

Couldn't finish yesterday due to other commitments so slightly out of date! 

Will have more positive Georgia blog tomorrow.

SuperDub View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDub Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2019 at 8:49pm
Gibraltar was a big let down. We spent most of our time in La Linnea and we had no problems. We found the locals very friendly and welcoming. 
JUICEBOMB View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JUICEBOMB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2019 at 1:03am
echo what people say about Gibraltar....soulless kip.couldnt even get a kebab in the place.everwhere shut early doors and locals that are absolute w**kers(must be the inbreeding that goes on there).they seem to think there was thousands of Irish heading over for the game...one local told me you won't be able to get hear the square with the amount of people in the fan zone😳😳😳😳😳
wanderer View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wanderer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2019 at 6:25am

echo what people say about Gibraltar....soulless kip.couldnt even get a kebab in the place.everwhere shut early doors and locals that are absolute w**kers(must be the inbreeding that goes on there).they seem to think there was thousands of Irish heading over for the game...one local told me you won't be able to get hear the square with the amount of people in the fan zone😳😳😳😳😳
Sure the mayor of la linea said they were expecting 4-5k to stay there. God knows what those in Gibraltar were expecting LOL
newrynyuk View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote newrynyuk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2019 at 2:40pm

At least you met some locals, pretty much everyone I met in Gibraltar was Spanish.

Yes Gibraltar was a disappointment alright.  There was no local beer or food that was Gibraltarian.  Usually on Ireland trips I try to bring back a bottle of local wine for my sister and some local chocolate for work.  I think this was the first trip ever that I wasn't able to find either. 

Gibraltar tries so hard to be British that they have no identity or culture of its own.   Kind of make you wonder why they bother having their own national team.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drumcondra 69er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2019 at 2:54pm
Originally posted by newrynyuk newrynyuk wrote:

At least you met some locals, pretty much everyone I met in Gibraltar was Spanish.

Yes Gibraltar was a disappointment alright.  There was no local beer or food that was Gibraltarian.  Usually on Ireland trips I try to bring back a bottle of local wine for my sister and some local chocolate for work.  I think this was the first trip ever that I wasn't able to find either. 

Gibraltar tries so hard to be British that they have no identity or culture of its own.   Kind of make you wonder why they bother having their own national team.

I actually talked to a good few locals and they were sound and very independently minded. Two groups I spoke to hadn't much time for the Brits but had far less for Spain. They appreciated that the Brits had their backs and knew that Spain would roll them over without the Brits holding firm on it. Said independence was the dream but that wasn't in any way feasible. Have to understand that they spent 50 years living as a democracy in the shadow of a dictatorship when Franco ran things as well which is where attitudes became so entrenched in my opinion. There were blockades, power cuts etc on numerous occasions orchestrated by Spain to make life hard on them. Good few of the people I spoke to had a Spanish parent yet still hated the Spanish.

I thought it was a weird place but was interesting to visit. Wouldn't be rushing back all the same. Was glad I stayed there instead of over the border. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevincronin2000 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2019 at 2:56pm
My final twopence on the trip stayed in the ohtel campo in la Linea which was fine, bar service on the Friday night in the ivy was terrible and unorganised I thought and Γ“ Reillys not much better, headed to some nightclub then but have little recollection of that. Matchday we asked a taxi driver to take us to the cable car station but he told us it was closed because of the winds, so then we asked him to drive us up and said he couldn't we found out later the cable cars were not closed (t**ser) . We had a few decent steaks in O'Reillys lunchtime on Saturday, again food was fine but service was terrible. Few pints either side of the game in hendricks and tbf the staff there seemed to be more organised. Yeah the people in Gibraltar seemed to lack identity mainly due to the place full of English ex pats. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2019 at 5:11pm

I actually talked to a good few locals and they were sound and very independently minded. Two groups I spoke to hadn't much time for the Brits but had far less for Spain. They appreciated that the Brits had their backs and knew that Spain would roll them over without the Brits holding firm on it. Said independence was the dream but that wasn't in any way feasible. Have to understand that they spent 50 years living as a democracy in the shadow of a dictatorship when Franco ran things as well which is where attitudes became so entrenched in my opinion. There were blockades, power cuts etc on numerous occasions orchestrated by Spain to make life hard on them. Good few of the people I spoke to had a Spanish parent yet still hated the Spanish.

I thought it was a weird place but was interesting to visit. Wouldn't be rushing back all the same. Was glad I stayed there instead of over the border. 
That's what I took from my few visits there too. As a small outpost that was cut off from the world for years, t isi undoubtedly unique. I didn't like it, but was fascinated by the contradictions there all the same. A group of local lads tried to start a fight with me there because they thought I was in the British forces, yet they want to stay British! The major reason for the latter is financial, although there are many others! Also,  if you ask a lot of the Andalusians over the border for an honest answer, they want it to stay British too. Brexit could be an absolute nightmare for all of them.
It is the sort of place that will never really be understood as they don't really understand themselves. Did anyone come across the bizarre bilingual conversations that are a bizarre hybrid of English, Spanish and their own Llanito (which is an even more bizarre mix of the two) thrown in? To think, we get confused if some lad has an English father and Irish mother!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drumcondra 69er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2019 at 5:24pm

That's what I took from my few visits there too. As a small outpost that was cut off from the world for years, t isi undoubtedly unique. I didn't like it, but was fascinated by the contradictions there all the same. A group of local lads tried to start a fight with me there because they thought I was in the British forces, yet they want to stay British! The major reason for the latter is financial, although there are many others! Also,  if you ask a lot of the Andalusians over the border for an honest answer, they want it to stay British too. Brexit could be an absolute nightmare for all of them.
It is the sort of place that will never really be understood as they don't really understand themselves. Did anyone come across the bizarre bilingual conversations that are a bizarre hybrid of English, Spanish and their own Llanito (which is an even more bizarre mix of the two) thrown in? To think, we get confused if some lad has an English father and Irish mother!

We were drinking with 4 local lads in their 20s after the game. Nice lads, desperate to swap shirts although I didn't want to give up my YBIG 12th man original as not sure if there's any left since the new one came out!

Anyway, one of them was showing me their WhatsApp group chat as I was asking about the lingo, Total mix of Spanish and English, looked totally gibberish but they were obviously comfortable with it. It's like when we throw a cΓΊpla focail into an English sentence only multiplied tenfold. Mad stuff.

They were sating that Friday night was the big night out in Gib and everyone would go over to La Lineia on the Saturday and vice versa so both sides were happy socialising in the other.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2019 at 5:34pm
Funny that you mention 'gibberish', one of the theories for the origins of the term is as a derivative of Gibraltar.
TBWRA View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TBWRA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2019 at 9:01pm
Anyone know if they accept the Gib money on the mainland ?, shed load of gib coins here Confused

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2019 at 9:04pm
Originally posted by TBWRA TBWRA wrote:

Anyone know if they accept the Gib money on the mainland ?, shed load of gib coins here Confused

Mainland  ? Confused

Edited by Denis Irwin - 28 Mar 2019 at 9:04pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2019 at 9:23pm

Mainland...that was a great episode.
Missy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Missy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Mar 2019 at 10:23pm

We only went in to Gibraltar before the game had a few drinks but headed back to La Linea after the game. La Linea was great craic and we had 2 great nights in Vogg bar and the karaoke in Danny’s bar Saturday will go down in history πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Great craic in there pal. 
All opinions are my own and have f**k all to do with Mullingar RISSC CRISC Ticket Office or the FAI
Charlton's Child View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Charlton's Child Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 7:08am

Yea I got rid of most of mine in London in the way back 
craiglen View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote craiglen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 10:51am
Nowhere in Birmingham would take that sh*te. Not even the fruit machines!
Fan's game record: 5 Caps, 1 goal, 2 assists, 140 km covered

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2019 at 10:56am
Originally posted by Charlton's Child Charlton's Child wrote:

Yea I got rid of most of mine in London in the way back 
You got lucky. The banks won’t even touch them! 
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 44454647>