Topic ClosedSong sheet for home games

Direct Link To This Post Topic: Song sheet for home games
    Posted: 01 Sep 2007 at 4:45pm
What do you think of the idea of printing off thousands of song sheets for the Germany game? I know it's been done before, or are the home support too fickle-we could hand them out with the fanzine

Cookie Monster View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Sep 2007 at 9:12am

LYA..I like the idea but I think a lot of the fans at Croker are only there to say they were there....maybe im wrong but I dont think they'd take the time to read them let alone sing. unfortunately it'll be down to the usual band of hard core fans to get the volume levels up

I used to be a schizophrenic.......and so was I
oohahhpaulmcgra View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Sep 2007 at 9:53am
Is this the FAI organizing this and what songs will there be?
L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Sep 2007 at 1:16pm
No it would be done through the fanzine-what songs depends on what people think were the best ones to use

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2007 at 3:35am
wouldnt work

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2007 at 4:17am
I think it's a bit impractical meself?  FAI DO IT?  Are you serious?  It will be the usual hard core who do their best to raise the apathy among the suits and bandwagoners. 

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2007 at 5:24am

the fai tried it in lansdowne before if i remember correctly..

To be honest do we really need a songsheet to get an atmosphere.pathetic... if someone doesnt know the words to the one road ar youllneverwalkalone or fields of athenry,,,we may just give up.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2007 at 5:53am
i predict that the people around me in the lower canal will start singin...................................oh sit down,oh sit down,sit down next to me......sit downnnnnnnn

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2007 at 6:06am

There was a great piece in the Observer Monthly Sports Mag recently (great read it is) about fans who all now stand at Prem matches, and it was good we all stood for the 90 min in Stuttgart last year, it's what we were brought up with.  Standing on the terraces or at schoolboy/Junior football games is what we do.   STAND UP FOR THE BOYS IN GREEN.

L.Y.A. View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2007 at 6:13am
As I suspected Song sheet idea out the window...I believe they are looking at the option of bringing back terraces in England, or a report or somethin

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2007 at 8:30am
My Tunes for the train

It was in the year of eighty-eight, in the lovely month of June,
When the gadflies were swarming and dogs howling at the moon,
Ah with rosary beads and sandwiches for Stuttgart we began,
Joxer packed his German phrase-book, and jump-leads for the van.

Ah well some of the lads had never been away from home before.
It was the first time Whacker put his foot outside of Inchicore.
And before we left for Europe, we knew we'd need a plan,
So we all agreed that Joxer was the man to drive the van.

In Germany the Autobahn was like the Long Mile Road
There was every make of car and van, all carrying the full load
Ford Transits and Hiaces, and an old Bedford from Tralee,
With the engine overheating from long-hauling duty free.

There were fans from Ballyfermot, Ballybough and Ballymun
On the journey of a lifetime and the craic was ninety one
Joxer met a German's daughter on the banks of the River Rhine
and he told her she'd be welcome in Ballyfermot anytime

And as soon as we found Stuttgart, we got the wagons in a ring
Sean Óg got out the banjo and Peter played the mandolin.
Oh there were fans there from everywhere, attracted by the sound
At the first Fleadh Ceól in Europe and Joxer passed the flagon round

But the session it ended when we'd finished all the stout
The air mattresses inflated and the sleeping bags rolled out
As one by one we fell asleep, Joxer had a dream
He dreamt himself and Jack Charlton sat down to pick the team

Joxer dreamt they both agreed on Packie Bonner straight away
And that Moran, Whelan and McGrath were certainly to play
Ah but tempers they began to rise, patience wearing thin
Jack wanted Cascarino, but Joxer wanted Quinn

And the dream turned into a nightmare, Joxer stuck the head on Jack
Who wanted to bring Johnny Giles and Eamonn Dunphy back
Ah well the cock crew in the morning, it crew both loud and shrill
And Joxer woke up in his sleeping bag many miles from Arbour Hill

Ah next morning none of the experts gave us the slightest chance
They said that the English team would lead us on a merry dance
Ah with their union jacks all them English fans for victory they were set
Until Ray Houghton got the ball and he stuck it in the net

What happened next is history, brought tears to many eyes
Oh that day will be the highlight of many people's lives
Well Joxer climbed right over the top and the last time he was seen
Was arm-in-arm with Jack Charlton, singing 'Revenge for Skibbereen'.

Ah now Whacker's back in Inchicore, he's living with his Mam
And Jack Charlton has been proclaimed an honorary Irishman
Listen do you remember that German's daughter on the banks of the River Rhine
Ah jeez, well didn't she show up in Ballyfermot last week ....

TWIST AND SHOUT

Well, shake it up, baby, now, (shake it up, baby)
Twist and shout. (twist and shout)
Cmon cmon, cmon, cmon, baby, now, (come on baby)
Come on and work it on out. (work it on out)

Well, work it on out, honey. (work it on out)
You know you look so good. (look so good)
You know you got me goin, now, (got me goin)
Just like I knew you would. (like I knew you would)

Cmon, cmon, cmon, cmon, baby, now, (come on baby)
Come on and work it all out. (work it all out)

You know you twist your little girl, (twist, little girl)
You know you twist so fine. (twist so fine)
Come on and twist a little closer, now, (twist a little closer)
And let me know that you're mine. (let me know youre mine)

Cmon, cmon, cmon, cmon, baby, now, (come on baby)
Come on and work it on out. (work it on out)

You know you twist your little girl, (twist, little girl)
You know you twist so fine. (twist so fine)
Come on and twist a little closer, now, (twist a little closer)
And let me know that you're mine. (let me know youre mine)

Well, shake it, shake it, shake it, baby, now. (shake it up baby)
Ahhhhhhhhhh(low) Ahhhhhhhhhh(higher) Ahhhhhhhhhh(higher) Ahhhhhhhhhhh(high)

STANS GOT THAT WINNING FEELING

You're trying hard not to show it stan 
But stan, stan I know it 

You've got that winning feeling 
Oh, that winning feeling 
You've got that winning feeling 
Now were through,through,through
Whoa-oh 

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2007 at 8:51am
Yiz might work on this lads............LYA kindly gave me the link to this track and our chorus bit starts around 3 min and 30 seconds, it's a Kaizer Chiefs number but the end bit is very catchy and I've changed the lyrics to suit us.

3mins 30 is when the good bit starts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zrL58OJ2Rms

Here's the lyrics:

KAIZER CHIEFS
We are the angry mob
We read the papers every day
We like who we like we hate who we hate
But we're all so easily swayed

My version:
We are the Irish Mob
And we love the Irish team
We sing and we cheer, drink all the beer
So come on you Boys in Green