Gambling problem

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 28>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ringerbell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Mar 2014 at 2:10pm

Fair play ringer, all the best. Seeing you have a problem and seeking help is a great start for ya anyway. I know a couple of lads at home who could do with seeking help also but they can't see it themselves

It's a big issue up here but a lot of people don't think it's a problem and I used to be like that, used to love when my college grant came in would blow the lot in the bookies by end of the weekend and think nothing off it

Determined to beat it this time though. Was a little worried about today that I would slip back to what I was like putting on numerous accumulators and few bets on the gaa but haven't felt the need to and won't do it. I have told myself that the money I save from not betting will go towards doing things I enjoy and also will give some of it to charity at the end of the year

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thebronze14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Mar 2014 at 2:50pm

Fair play ringer, all the best. Seeing you have a problem and seeking help is a great start for ya anyway. I know a couple of lads at home who could do with seeking help also but they can't see it themselves

It's a big issue up here but a lot of people don't think it's a problem and I used to be like that, used to love when my college grant came in would blow the lot in the bookies by end of the weekend and think nothing off it

Determined to beat it this time though. Was a little worried about today that I would slip back to what I was like putting on numerous accumulators and few bets on the gaa but haven't felt the need to and won't do it. I have told myself that the money I save from not betting will go towards doing things I enjoy and also will give some of it to charity at the end of the year
Yeah totally agree gambling addiction is a major problem amongst young males in Donegal, most cases I know being people who can't really afford to lose it as well. Not as easily spotted as it's not an addiction that is readily visible to the eye compared to alcohol or drugs as people are not staggering around or looking as though though they have taken something. The money saved will come in handy for the Ireland trips in the autumn as well as Donegal's march to Croke Park!Smile

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ringerbell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2014 at 3:27pm
Well today is day 3 since put this up here. Had the urge to put bet on the gaa this weekend but stopped myself. The parents returned home from their weekend away and as expected this news wasnt received to well. Have agreed to support me through it again as long as I go get support this time. Have looked up my local GA meetings and will be attending these this week

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colmoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2014 at 3:31pm

Well today is day 3 since put this up here. Had the urge to put bet on the gaa this weekend but stopped myself. The parents returned home from their weekend away and as expected this news wasnt received to well. Have agreed to support me through it again as long as I go get support this time. Have looked up my local GA meetings and will be attending these this week
fair play ringer early days but your on the road now at least

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREEWHEELER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2014 at 5:38pm
Besta luck man, fair play on facing it

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RogerMilla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2014 at 5:47pm
Ringer you are a big sports fan and it is very hard because it is tied in with sport, cancel all accounts and keep the temptation away avoid the bookies and lads who you know are gamblers, enjoy the sport for what it is a competition between top players and avoid looking at it with a gambling mindset,

Good on you chief, hope it all works out.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2014 at 6:09pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daithi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2014 at 6:30pm
Good lad is Ringer, very best of luck with this Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2014 at 9:21pm

Your parents love you, remember that. It was obviously tough to tell them but you're doing brilliantly. The first few days are always really tough.

You have to try not to look at sporting events as potential bets and also not beat yourself up if something you thought of betting on wins - you need to realise that you'll only remember the winners you didn't back rather than the losers you didn't. It's a tough road but you're going the right way.

SuperDub View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDub Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2014 at 9:35pm

Well done ringer for getting support just take it one step at a time.
JUICEBOMB View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JUICEBOMB Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Mar 2014 at 10:54pm
8/11 ringerbell to fall of the wagon.........6/4 to stay on it.....c'mon people who's betting????
Joe Stalin View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Joe Stalin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2014 at 1:27am
I was on the fringes of severe gambling problems not so long ago. The low point was when I persuaded my missus that a night out in a casino wold be good way to spend our anniversary....and I then proceeded to lose 2k (well more than a month's wages at the time). There were other wknds like that too. She stuck with me thanks be to god, took control of the finances and we turned things around.

Stick with it buddy, like me it sounds like you're catching it before it becomes too late (and I've met those guys and heard their stories). You'll pull through and feel free to PM me if you want. 

It always infuriates me just how easy the gambling industry has - all of the opportunity and none of the responsibilities. I'd regulate it to within an inch of its life. Sky has ads for every sort of online casino -  I'm just glad online gambling wasn't as prevalent in my day. Bookies offices are sad places at the end of the day. 

Best of luck.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colmoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2014 at 4:28am

8/11 ringerbell to fall of the wagon.........6/4 to stay on it.....c'mon people who's betting????
you are one sad individual

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rossieman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2014 at 4:29am

f**k off .places on here to act the bollix and this ain't one.
eire32 View Drop Down
xHamster's Free Porn Videos

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eire32 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2014 at 6:40am

Show a bit of respect for the lad

Edited by eire32 - 17 Mar 2014 at 6:41am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ringerbell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2014 at 2:21pm

It's people like you and comments like this that stops people from talking about this addition. Tell you what if you so sure I won't succeed in this why don't you donate that money to a charity when I prove you wrong

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PanteirA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2014 at 3:23pm

you are some gobsh*te
Flanno7hi View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Flanno7hi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2014 at 3:31pm

Don't need ****'s like this on this kind of thread. Judge the thread before you make stupid f**king comments.

You are like the thick f**kers that tell alcoholics that "ah sure it's only one drink"

Fair play RB for coming on here and highlighting the problem.

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 28>