Gambling problem

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 28>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ringerbell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Gambling problem
    Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 2:54pm
As some of yous might know I decided back at end of last year to stop gambling. This was because I realised I was betting money I couldn't really afford to lose and this was affecting those around me. I didn't seek any outside help for this and just cancelled accounts etc and wasnt finding it as hard as I expected it to be.

That was until this week. With the hype around Cheltenham I found myself setting up new accounts etc and have been betting away with no real thought on what else I could do with the money. That was until today when I spent money I owed my sister and now I feel really bad about everything and realise I might need to get some help on this issue after I see how easy I slipped right back into it. Wondering if anyone has any info on people who deal with this type of addition

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 2:57pm
gamblers anonymous, professional help from people who know is your best option IMO

very brave off you to admit it and it's probably the most important thing to admit that you have a problem.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShayGivensBum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 2:59pm
Ringerbell fair play for coming on here and seeking some help with this. 

This is a very big problem in Ireland esp with young men and it is very much swept under the carpet. 

Firstly have you self excluded yourself from all online bookies you had accounts with? If not do that. You can also self exclude from the shops. Just go in and let them know.

Secondly I would recommend you contact Gamcare (They offer a chat service there's the link -   http://www.gamcare.org.uk/chat2/) They will give you tips and advice. 

Good luck with giving it up again Clap
Richmond Ultra View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Richmond Ultra Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:02pm
On accounts like paddy power,they give a list of organizations to contact.
Omnia Causa Fiunt
eire32 View Drop Down
xHamster's Free Porn Videos

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eire32 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:04pm
Very hard time of the year.
Best of luck
Stillhuntinghenry View Drop Down

useless at posting links

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stillhuntinghenry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:06pm
Dont know how close you are to Derry rb but there are GA meetings up here weekly. I had a family member who lost everything to gambling and I mean everything. I wish it had a happy ending but it isn't, he never managed to turn things around and is still gambling abd destitute. But it's up to how hard you want to turn things around
"Not one cent" - RTID on Mark Quigley's pay-off from Shamrock
Stillhuntinghenry View Drop Down

useless at posting links

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stillhuntinghenry Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:08pm
Here you go pal, best of luck

http://mindingyourhead.info/service/gamblers-anonymous-lderry
"Not one cent" - RTID on Mark Quigley's pay-off from Shamrock
irish_major View Drop Down
Bookie Slayer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irish_major Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:08pm
Good man ringerbell. Keep the head up, i can only imagine how tough it is. Ive had some good days and some bad days, i wouldnt say im addicted but can see how people get really roped in. Avoid the tips thread and threads like cheltenham for starters, just completely ignore them. Dont be too upset, im sure your sister will understand. Take it one day at a time and you'll be grand. 
At the end of the day its only money

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob Hoskins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:12pm
A friend of mine had to do 6 weeks in the Rutland clinic, he was a lose everything and was terrible. Best thing he has ever done

Your situation doesn't sound that bad but it could go that way, if not checked properly.

As you have already given it up for a good while, it shows you can.

Best of luckThumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob Hoskins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:14pm
He also met Paul McGrath at the Rutland too, which was an added bonus.

He put some serious time into playing chess as there was a lot of time on the addicts hands, so his chess game improved a lot  - these are the unseen benefits you don't hear about.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:16pm
Originally posted by irish_major irish_major wrote:

Good man ringerbell. Keep the head up, i can only imagine how tough it is. Ive had some good days and some bad days, i wouldnt say im addicted but can see how people get really roped in. Avoid the tips thread and threads like cheltenham for starters, just completely ignore them. Dont be too upset, im sure your sister will understand. Take it one day at a time and you'll be grand. 
At the end of the day its only money

At the end of the day it's his life, not only money, addicts can and have lost homes, businesses, families etc.

A very brave move to post the issue here, or anywhere publically and he will need plenty of support.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ringerbell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:16pm
Cheers everyone good to see people willing to help me. I feel so bad about it that this time I'm determined to give it up for good. Will keep yous updated on how it going

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:24pm

Cheers everyone good to see people willing to help me. I feel so bad about it that this time I'm determined to give it up for good. Will keep yous updated on how it going
Fair play really , hard to come out and say these things but at least you now you have a problem and you need to act on it sooner than later . Great advice from others also Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:25pm
Sound skin is Ringerbell. Good luck with it pal Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ringerbell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:37pm

Secondly I would recommend you contact Gamcare (They offer a chat service there's the link -   http://www.gamcare.org.uk/chat2/) They will give you tips and advice. 

Good luck with giving it up again Clap

Just signed up to this site so that's the 1st step. Last year I didn't feel the need to tell anyone or look for help as thought I could do this by myself but knw now its easier to beat with help from others

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:39pm
Ringerbell

Give 01 8721133 a ring and have a little chat. You'll get the help you need.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:44pm
Can only echo what's been said before best of luck and hope you get sorted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2014 at 3:50pm
I'd say I bet on a horse about 5 times a year, just not into it so have no idea what it takes to give it up. Best of luck with itThumbs Up
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 28>