GAA Hurling 2015

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 62>
It's OUR year

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jackthelad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: GAA Hurling 2015
    Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 9:32pm
From a Clare perspective tonight's was a great draw. The year 2014 is best forgotten for reasons on and off the field.
Surely a Munster championship where we'l need to beat Limerick, Tipp and probably Cork (which would be the ultimate for us) will focus the minds properly now and we can get back on track.
Dublin and Galway an interesting 1 also.
ParkLife View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ParkLife Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 9:34pm
Originally posted by Jackthelad Jackthelad wrote:

From a Clare perspective tonight's was a great draw. The year 2014 is best forgotten for reasons on and off the field.
Surely a Munster championship where we'l need to beat Limerick, Tipp and probably Cork (which would be the ultimate for us) will focus the minds properly now and we can get back on track.

Stick up the draws there will ya.
Jackthelad View Drop Down
It's OUR year

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jackthelad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 9:37pm
All-Ireland champions Kilkenny must wait to see who they face in the Leinster semi-final, while Limerick and Clare is the stand-out tie in Munster.
Munster

Clare and Limerick will have to do battle for the right to face beaten All-Ireland finalists Tipperary in the Munster Hurling Championship semi-final.
The 2013 champions, led by TJ Ryan, were drawn against Davy Fitzgerald’s 2013 All-Ireland winners in the quarter-final.
Elsewhere, Waterford and Cork, for whom manager Jimmy Barry-Murphy will take charge of for a further two-year term, will meet in the other semi-final.
Leinster

All-Ireland champions Kilkenny, meanwhile, will face the winner of the quarter-final between Wexford and the runner-up from the qualifying group that includes Laois, Antrim, Carlow and Westmeath in the Leinster semi-final.
Dublin, who appointed Ger Cunningham as new boss yesterday, will play 2012 All-Ireland finalists Galway in the quarter-finals.
The winners of that game will face either Offaly or the winners of the qualifying group, as they meet in the quarter-finals.
ParkLife View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ParkLife Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 9:41pm
Agree with you on the Clare draw. 
Keeps them focused from the start. Hopefully a better year in 2015.

It's OUR year

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jackthelad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 9:43pm
Yep, just my opinion. We're the opposite of limerick - struggle in Munster but can do it in Croker.
Wouldn't swap thou

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AntrimMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 9:44pm
I'm a fan of this Leinster Qualifying draw. Prolongs our year by 4 games.
ParkLife View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ParkLife Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 9:44pm
In fairness, any team would struggle in Munster.
Strongest hurling province by a mile.

It's OUR year

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jackthelad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 9:48pm
I'd like a Munster championship. I really would. We haven't even gone close in recent memory.
Roll on the league, it comes around so quick.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:15pm

Mind me asking how exactly ya make that one out Jack ? I know Familyguy doesn't concur with that analysis, to put it mildly. The last team to win an AI straight out (as in all victories from that stage forward) from entering at Munster QFs ??? Clare, all the way back in 1997. 

That isn't to say ye can't win, or go through qualifiers & win etc, ye certainly have the talent to win it, but talking about Munster & AI titles in the same year is nearly fantasy stuff, the last Munster winners to win the AI in same year was Cork in 2005 I think, before that, Tipp in 2001. Cork did it in 99 as well, but that was when Waterford were only getting their act together, Limerick were on the slide since 96,  and Clare were starting a gradual downward curve at that time. The last (losing) Munster finalists to win an AI were Cork in 2004 (and not 2005, as I originally said LOL). Basically, winning, or even getting to a Munster final in recent years is actually a bad thing for anyone attempting to win the AI. 

I think it is the toughest draw ye could possibly have got, happy enough with our lot, although serious improvement needed if we are to be even serious contenders for Munster. Still, one good game V Cork and a final awaits, so wouldn't be too bad if we can manage that. 

Edited by deise316 - 09 Oct 2014 at 11:37pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote reddladd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:37pm
Grand draw for Laois. Don't like the qualifier concept but should we come out on top it's a game against the Biffo's for the right to meet Dublin or Galway in the semi final.

Would agree about Munster championship. The provincial winners haven't faired so well in the AI semi final. Qualifier teams seem to have the greater momentum. Kilkenny were very close to a fall against Limerick last year while Cork got a bit of a lesson from Tipp.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AntrimMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:42pm

Grand draw for Laois. Don't like the qualifier concept but should we come out on top it's a game against the Biffo's for the right to meet Dublin or Galway in the semi final.

Would agree about Munster championship. The provincial winners haven't faired so well in the AI semi final. Qualifier teams seem to have the greater momentum. Kilkenny were very close to a fall against Limerick last year while Cork got a bit of a lesson from Tipp.

Naw? I think it's a decent concept. Likes of ourselves,  Laois,  Carlow,  WM and too a lesser extent Offaly and Wexford are all of a level that is somewhere between Christy Ring and actually being competitive at the top table. It beats one decent game a year then see yis next summer. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Clonbhoy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:47pm
Interesting deise316, Cork beat Cork in the 05 Munster Final?
It's OUR year

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jackthelad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:48pm
I already explained why its a good draw for clare and I stand by that
Also you mention the recent record of goin from a munster qf to an AI, also should be noted the greatest sustained stranglehold over the liam mc carthy cup has been in this time courtesy of the greatest bunch of KK hurlers ever.
Id imagine il be in the majority happy with it when I meet lads tomorrow.
familyguy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote familyguy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 10:53pm
To win the Munster championship we will have to beat Limerick,Tipp and in all likelihood Cork (sorry Deise316). That's a next to impossible assignment - the draw simply couldn't have been any more difficult. Im failing to see how this deemed a good let alone great draw for us. The sooner Tony Kelly starts procreating the better
It's OUR year

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jackthelad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 11:00pm
How in gods name is that next to impossible? How can you say that?
We may as well do squad rotation till the qualifiers then?
I guarantee you players and management are happy with this tonight.
Were they really at home looking for the handiest 1, perhaps waterford in a semi? f**k that.
Bring em on, if we're good enough we're good enough. No excuses.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AntrimMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 11:02pm
And without Podge Collins I understand. 
familyguy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote familyguy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 11:12pm

How in gods name is that next to impossible? How can you say that?
We may as well do squad rotation till the qualifiers then?
I guarantee you players and management are happy with this tonight.
Were they really at home looking for the handiest 1, perhaps waterford in a semi? f**k that.
Bring em on, if we're good enough we're good enough. No excuses.

If we win the Munster Championship minus Podge i'll be extremely surprised, we have limitations which I don't think we can overcome next year - Id love to be proven wrong but I have my doubts
eire32 View Drop Down
xHamster's Free Porn Videos

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eire32 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2014 at 11:24pm
Happy enough with our draw
Probably be laois or Antrim, would prefer getting laois, Antrim are a tricky side to beat, should of beating us last june.

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 62>