Frexit

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 15>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SByrne24 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Frexit
    Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 7:54am
Marine Le Pen is currently leading in 7-8 polls in France.

Is the death of European Union approaching if Le Pen is elected. Britain and France leaving within a extremely short space of time would be a fatal blow, she also plans to leave NATO. 

randyrandolph View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote randyrandolph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 8:16am

Marine Le Pen is currently leading in 7-8 polls in France.

Is the death of European Union approaching if Le Pen is elected. Britain and France leaving within a extremely short space of time would be a fatal blow, she also plans to leave NATO. 

you really are a f**king clown if you think le pen winning the french election is a good thing for Europe.

surely you have something better to do with your day? perhaps a pretend emergency landing?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 8:55am
What poll would that be Topper ? Because any poll I've seen has her behind by 30% in the run off against Fillon or Marcaron if she gets there.

Edited by Denis Irwin - 16 Jan 2017 at 8:56am

SByrne24 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SByrne24 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 9:06am
She's ahead in the ones I've seen (5:6) by 2% in the first round.

I didn't make an opinion on the outcome if she wins, I was just curious to see the reaction. I'm not sold on her personally some of her points make sense, some don't.

I am doing something with my day, thanks for asking currently looking at the morning papers before I drive to London, you have a good day too x
SByrne24 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SByrne24 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 9:08am

BVA and Ifop-fiducil being the two main ones DI.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 9:19am
The ones for the 1st round polls mean f**k all.The ones for the 2nd round are the ones to look at and she's getting beaten by Fillon and Marcaron

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote randyrandolph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 9:26am

She's ahead in the ones I've seen (5:6) by 2% in the first round.

I didn't make an opinion on the outcome if she wins, I was just curious to see the reaction. I'm not sold on her personally some of her points make sense, some don't.

I am doing something with my day, thanks for asking currently looking at the morning papers before I drive to London, you have a good day too x

you advocated your support for her on another thread clown. very misguided and rather stupid so i would avoid doing that again until you read up a little.

i actually think Le Pen is going to pull this thing off and it will be a disaster for Europe. if the migrant crisis really flairs up again this summer, along with a few more bombs going off in France, then she'll have the perfect opportunity to gain support. with putin and others meddling from a far, i wouldn't be surprised with what could happen anymore. Many people want a weak europe.

if le pen gets in, it's good bye euro and the beginning of an uneasy chapter. It would be an absolute disaster for countries like ireland who rely so heavily on europe.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 9:40am
Don't feed the troll.

SByrne24 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SByrne24 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 9:47am

The ones for the 1st round polls mean f**k all.The ones for the 2nd round are the ones to look at and she's getting beaten by Fillon and Marcaron

So was Donald Trump and Brexit. Silent voters win elections.

Do you agree the European Union needs drastically reformed, Italy is also on the brink let's not forget some of the worlds oldest banks are on the brink of bankruptcy.

Edited by SByrne24 - 16 Jan 2017 at 9:48am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote randyrandolph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 9:59am

Don't feed the troll.

usually ignore him but advocating for le pen is a different level. clearly the misguided fool has no understanding of the ramifications of such a scenario. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob Hoskins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 10:12am
When is the election?

If you were ISIS you'd be making sure there's plenty of attacks to make sure Le Pen has a better chance of winning. 

Is Macron the the 39 year old lad? Was reading about him in the Guardian yesterday 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 10:23am
Yup. Fairly popular in France by all accounts

Edited by Denis Irwin - 16 Jan 2017 at 10:24am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 10:34am
Originally posted by randyrandolph randyrandolph wrote:

Don't feed the troll.

usually ignore him but advocating for le pen is a different level. clearly the misguided fool has no understanding of the ramifications of such a scenario. 
He's sitting at home laughing at people responding to him. I'm guilty myself of responding to him at times.

Bryner just goes against the common opinion on every topic on this forum and makes ridiculous posts looking to reel people in. Just look at the absolute garbage he posts about Donald Trump. I was reading something yesterday on the US election thread about a country music singer playing at Trumps ceremony on Friday that nobody has ever heard of. And as per usual, Byrner has already seen him live. What surprised me was, he claims to be a United season ticket holder but instead of pretending to be at the game, or even watching the game, he's posting videos of random American songs while United are playing their biggest rivals, a match that almost every United season ticket holder would be at. 

SByrne24 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SByrne24 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 10:38am
I did clarify, I no longer hold that ST. Moving on, American country music is my favourite genre.. hence why i post American country songs in the what I'm listening to thread LOL awh dear, oh dear. I told missed the game as I was on a flight, I was more angered at Ulster. Let's not derail the Frexit thread. 

Anywho, I seen an article yesterday and it got me curious, could she really do it. I had no doubts about Trump in places like Arkansas/Ohio it was obvious he would win, working class USA.

Were you reassured by the latest poll on the French Presidential election that showed independent young radical Emmanuel Macron is gaining momentum? Do you believe he will offer a challenge to the conservative frontrunner François Fillon and the far-right firebrand Marine Le Pen?

Well, tough luck. Here is why the leader of France’s Front National, Le Pen, is probably going to win the election this spring.

Firstly, as we saw countless times in 2016, the polls can get it outrageous wrong. Two weeks before the US election, the odds of a Donald Trump victory were between 3 and 10 percent, and look how that turned out. We know anti-establishment populism is on the rise in Europe and that it is hard to measure until it is too late. Le Pen represents a chance to stick it to the EU elites and give a voice to those feeling disregarded and disgruntled by the march of globalisation and multiculturalism. 

But the French election is about more than faulty polling techniques. Given the other contenders, Le Pen has the chance to redefine herself and her party, not as anti-EU fascists, but as the only option that is well and truly French.

Consider her main rival, François Fillon. A self-defined French Thatcherite, Fillon wants a “radical shock” for France. Corporate tax breaks, €100bn of government spending cuts, 500,000 public service jobs slashed and an end to France’s hallowed 35-hour working week - does this sound like the France we know? Whether Fillon’s reforms are necessary is an open question, but deep down in the French psyche, they amount to nothing short of sacrilege. 

Usually a candidate from the left would provide an antidote, but this year the Socialists will be nothing more than a footnote. It is almost certain that the final round presidential run-off will feature Fillon against Le Pen, with no left-wingers in sight. So what choice is there for the traditional French left and the powerful trade unions? Can Le Pen promise them something that Fillon can’t?

Yes: the French status quo. Fillon diagnoses an unemployment rate of 10 percent, youth unemployment at 24.7 percent, a stagnating economy and out-of-control debt, and prescribes a free-market revolution. Le Pen sees the same problems, but argues they can be cured by nationalism, protectionism, and a curb on immigration.

If you were a traditionally left-wing French voter, would you really choose the bitter medicine of Fillon’s Thatcherite reforms over Le Pen’s siren song that things can stay exactly as they are, if only the immigrants are expelled? 

Le Pen knows Fillon’s candidacy has given her real shot, and she is doing all she can to extricate herself from the toxic legacy of her father and disassociate herself from accusations of xenophobia and fascism. She is even softening her uncompromising EU-hatred. Most French voters, especially those who have investments and pensions, don’t want France to face the instability of leaving the Euro. So in her first interview of the new year, Le Pen backed away from outright withdrawal, and promised compromise. She also reframed a question about whether she supported France leaving the EU into a call for a renegotiation and referendum - a sharp about-turn for the leader of a party that has opposed the EU since its creation. Her target is no longer just the EU, but the multicultural elites whose tolerance, liberalism and relaxed immigration policies have put the fundamentals of French society at risk.

This is the rhetoric of Trump, with one key difference: Le Pen actually believes what she says. Trump promised a wall to keep out immigrants and a ban Muslim

Edited by SByrne24 - 16 Jan 2017 at 10:40am

alihau41 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote alihau41 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 10:44am
le pen and fillon will go through to the run-off and fillon will get the presidency. French are very different from the brits and yanks, the average voter actually has a decent understanding of politics, with the main basis of that understanding being 'anyone but a le pen'. sure the socialist party pulled candidates from the lille and nice regions in local elections in order for their votes to go to the republicans rather than the national front. both le pen and her niece were leading in those regions but eventually lost out. socialists and republicans tend to work together in order for one to have more than the NF.

the fact is that fillon is far-right is all aspects with le pen even further so. once fillon gets the second nomination to the run-off then the socialists will flock to him as he's less extreme than le pen.
the aspect of silent voter doesn't work to the same effect in run-off elections because there is a second round. so the shock of brexit and trump coming top won't happen.

macron used to be in government under hollande but quit back in 2016 in order to distance himself from the poor ratings that hollande's presidency has received. he's running as an independent rather than in the socialist primaries and attempting to gain votes from both left and right sides. le pen hammered him in the press last week because he did one of his rallies in English.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 12:15pm
Originally posted by alihau41 alihau41 wrote:

le pen and fillon will go through to the run-off and fillon will get the presidency. French are very different from the brits and yanks, the average voter actually has a decent understanding of politics, with the main basis of that understanding being 'anyone but a le pen'. sure the socialist party pulled candidates from the lille and nice regions in local elections in order for their votes to go to the republicans rather than the national front. both le pen and her niece were leading in those regions but eventually lost out. socialists and republicans tend to work together in order for one to have more than the NF.

the fact is that fillon is far-right is all aspects with le pen even further so. once fillon gets the second nomination to the run-off then the socialists will flock to him as he's less extreme than le pen.
the aspect of silent voter doesn't work to the same effect in run-off elections because there is a second round. so the shock of brexit and trump coming top won't happen.

macron used to be in government under hollande but quit back in 2016 in order to distance himself from the poor ratings that hollande's presidency has received. he's running as an independent rather than in the socialist primaries and attempting to gain votes from both left and right sides. le pen hammered him in the press last week because he did one of his rallies in English.

Good points. She will make it to the final round but tactical voting will keep her out.

And the big difference between LePen and Trump, she is a born politician. She wont get the massive wave of anti-establishment vote. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HuntysCousin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 12:17pm
Don't write off Le Pen lads
alihau41 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote alihau41 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Jan 2017 at 12:24pm

Don't write off Le Pen lads

not writing her off, just giving you a bit more of an understanding of the politics over here. she'll be in the running until the very end, not doubting that for a second. but there's a default setting in French people not to give their 2nd round vote to a Le Pen. happened with her aul fella, will be the same again this time around. the thing is, marine hasn't hit 50 yet, so she'll be involved in many more presidential elections.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 15>