Forum Home Forum Home : Get your nicks and socks on! : The Coaches Room

Topic ClosedCoaching, Schoolboy and Youth Football

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 34567 77>

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 2009 at 4:56pm
seen as tho this thread has been brought back up,St Joseph's Boys will be holding their annual presentation tomorrow and the one and only Giovanni Trapattoni is the special guest!!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 2009 at 5:06pm
Who?
The Boy Z View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Aug 2009 at 5:09pm
Some auld lad in his last job before retiring!!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Aug 2009 at 10:27am
Heading Down to that tonight, Wonder will Mr Hickey be thereAngry

herbie View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Aug 2009 at 10:37am
Bring the hat
"its the best trip iv ever been on"

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Aug 2009 at 10:38am
Originally posted by herbie herbie wrote:

Bring the hat

Havent got it Herbie

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2011 at 10:24pm
BUMP

How's everyone getting on??

Brianie? You still doing a bit? Mafi? BSM? BoyZ?

I propose we use this thread to share info and drills/practices
Mafi Mushkila View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2011 at 4:32pm
Not been doing any coaching since moving to London as don't have the time over here but I have been promoted to Head Coach for this summers soccer schools Thumbs Up

I know you have the coaching bug and a really useful course I did a while back was an SAQ course with SAQ Ireland would highly recommend it Thumbs Up

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2011 at 5:35pm
Nice one Mafi I'll get right on that!! Gonna research it tonight.

Fairly spread out here at the moment. Won again tonight and one win away from winning the Under 17 Mayo League. Strictly following a passing game. No over the top nonsense And it's no bother because the lads love it anyways!

Under 16 girls national cup v Salthill next Saturday. Big game against a quality side! Here's hoping Also applied for Summer Soccer school and waiting on Garda Clearance to get the go ahead!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2011 at 5:36pm
Anyone on here manage an under 17 or 18 boys team???
The Boy Z View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2011 at 5:47pm

BUMP

My under 9s are in a playoff for the league on Sunday Clap

And we were doing a 'build the prefect player' exercise with them a few weeks back and we asked each one who their favourite player is,we got Rooney,Messi etc and one kid said Ross.Get in there Clap

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2011 at 5:50pm

BUMP

My under 9s are in a playoff for the league on Sunday Clap

And we were doing a 'build the prefect player' exercise with them a few weeks back and we asked each one who their favourite player is,we got Rooney,Messi etc and one kid said Ross.Get in there Clap

Haha, confidence boost I'm sure

Good stuff Z, never coached anyone that young but I'm looking forward to getting a group of lads at that age and following through the ranks. By the time they're under 18 they'll be an unstoppable posession team Clap

Second half tonight our GK got 4 touches of the ball. About 7 million passes and 90% posession! It's extremely satisfying when a plan comes together
The Boy Z View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2011 at 6:01pm
Ah yeah,its a nice feeling when you work on things in training and they replicate them on a match day.Obviously at under 9s they can be inconsistent in training and matches but once their attitude is right you can accept that.

Our girls won the Leinster U16 Cup the other night too and the U14 boys won the All Ireland yesterday.

How do the older lads react to you Mark?I wouldn't fancy coaching older than 14s.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2011 at 6:19pm
To be honest they're grand. This is my third season so I've kinda cemebnted myself there. We play the football they love playing so they have good time for me and Mick. They know if they f**k about, don't try or turn up at training, then they don't play. End of story. They're a great bunch of lads, very talented and I can't wait to start the FAI in September!

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2011 at 6:20pm
17s Continue Imressive Run

The Under 17 A team continued their impressive form with a comprehensive 11-0 win over Kilmurry last Monday. Celtic dominated the first half with a large amount of posession, and Kilmurry found it hard to keep Celtic at bay. Adam Chambers in goal was confident throughout and his distribution was excellent. This gave Celtic a great edge as it provided width and a very quick attack which Kilmurry found hard to deal with. Noe Baba, playing at left back, scored his first of the day after some terrific link up play with Colm Nevin, who sent Baba through on goal who made no mistake slotting it past the 'keeper. 2 similar goals were to follow from the left, ourtesy of Cian Brennan and Baba's second. The half time score was a well deserved 3-0. The movement, passing and work rate in this team is improving every week and it was clear to see after a superb first half display.

The second half started with a bang with top scorer Jordan Loftus letting fly from 30 yards and struck a beauty into the top right corner. Jamie Ivers tried to go one better with a bullet from 35 yards that went straight into the top left corner. Ivers was quick to dismiss any "nonsensical and outrageous" bull-toe rumours. Patrick Boyle chipped in with a wonderful finish after beating the high Kilmurry line. He was sent through by Colm Nevin and then Boyle, staying calm and composed, chipped the ball beyond the 'keeper's reach to grab his 5th of the season. Noe Baba completed his hat-trick, Jordan Loftus and Cian Brennan added to their tally, and substitutes Gary Walsh and Matthew Ruane chipped in with a goal each.

The management were, yet again, delighted with the performance. "We've been delighted with the progress of this squad and they've just been improving with every game they play. The lads are enjoying their football and that's what counts at the end of the day."

Celtic's next game is at home to Ballyheane, date to be confirmed.

Celtic: Adam Chambers; Michael Hall, Steve Walsh (c), Jamie Ivers (Smyth, 70), Noe Baba; Gerry Hunt (McDermott, 58), Colm Nevin (Ruane, 55), Keith Mulchrone (Walsh, 55), Cian Brennan; Jordan Loftus, Patrick Boyle.

Subs: Kenneth McDermott, Alex Smyth, Gary Walsh, Matthew Ruane

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2011 at 6:28pm

Thanks again to the lads for a cracking set of jersies
tribalarmy View Drop Down

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2011 at 3:36pm
Baba for Ireland.

Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2011 at 3:42pm

BUMP

1 game left on Sat,win that+we get 3rd with my daughter being the top scorerClap
also BSM jr,age6,played his 1st ever game tonight,playing on the "A" team a year older then his age group,did very well
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 34567 77>