Ireland v Latvia match thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 45678 15>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote E2016 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:44pm

First goal for Latvia was class. We tend to concede screamers against sh*te teams

And just concede normal goals against everyone else.

Our defensive record is a joke, and we have some of the most dangerous attackers in world football rolling into town in a few days to fill their boots.

The Ham View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Ham Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:45pm
2 nil up against one of the worst sides in Europe and we go in at 2-2. There's no real organisation, no structure and passing is poor in their half. We're playing 3 in midfield but smallbone and browne are way too wide when we're in possession. Usual laziness from Doherty, bit of naivety amongst the back 3 and an overly rash molumby. Needs to finish 5-2 for Kenny to come out of this with anything other than a hammering. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Deane Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:45pm

Smallbone looks excellent 

Have to agree. Best player on the pitch perhaps

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Banjaxed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:47pm
Old habits Die Hard...

Same mistakes and same issues remain. This performance would end in a massacre on Monday.

Something just isn't clicking regarding certain, crucial aspects of our game. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The O'Shea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:47pm
Smallbone and Doherty have linked up very well. O'Dowda has played well. Molumby has initiated both both and been generally good. Ferguson and Obafemi look a good pairing. Lots of positives but they need to go out and win this second half well.
xRedmanLFCx View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xRedmanLFCx Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:47pm
Originally posted by SeaSharp SeaSharp wrote:

Originally posted by Jimmy Raggatip Jimmy Raggatip wrote:

Hate to be a pessimist, but.. what are we learning from this? This lot might the worst side I've seen us play since Oman. They run Gibraltar very close.

a confidence boost is always welcome
Absolutely but when the other team is so uncompetitive it can only count for so much 
ConfusedEmbarrassed
"We will be galvanised and motivated, and we will bring thousands to this tournament." - MON

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Wheelo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:48pm
Bar the 2 goals we let in (which I’d read nothing into as kelleher wont be playing Monday), there are positives.

Ferguson and smallbone should’ve cemented places into team on Monday. O’Dowda very good too. Bazunu will be back also, etc,

Won’t read anything into result tonight, conceding 2 goals like we did might give us a much needed kick up the hole for Monday. I’m positive for Monday 👍

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fozz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:48pm

Smallbone looks excellent 

Have to agree. Best player on the pitch perhaps

Yep, on this performace so far, should start Monday.
Maybe instead of Obafemi and then have Cullen and Knight also in the team.
Browne needs to go.
Strazdas View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Strazdas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:48pm

Are we a bit cursed? That's 4/5 goals we've conceded under SK that would be very very low percentage chances.

A good team just wouldn't concede them. You'd have to be a bit worried about how we always seem to look defensively brittle at home.
Thats my logic, it can't just be a coincidence. There's serious concerns at the back.

Yes, we conceded six goals in our last four games before tonight - we can't keep putting this down to bad luck (and strangely, we look more dodgy at the Aviva than away from home).
SeaSharp View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SeaSharp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:48pm
Originally posted by xRedmanLFCx xRedmanLFCx wrote:

Originally posted by Jimmy Raggatip Jimmy Raggatip wrote:

Hate to be a pessimist, but.. what are we learning from this? This lot might the worst side I've seen us play since Oman. They run Gibraltar very close.

a confidence boost is always welcome
Absolutely but when the other team is so uncompetitive it can only count for so much 
ConfusedEmbarrassed
Typical Ireland eh.. this lot are absolutely abysmal and we've let them back into it.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote doherty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:48pm
That's the typenof game we shud be going on to win 5 or 6 nil after our start. Instead yet again we concede goals. Doherty gives away for the 1st goal and a shambles at the back for the 2nd. All the good is taken out of the game now assuming we go on and win. Even thats not certain anymore. France wont be shaking in their boots.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Banjaxed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:49pm
Originally posted by Wheelo Wheelo wrote:

Bar the 2 goals we let in (which I’d read nothing into as kelleher wont be playing Monday), there are positives.

Ferguson and smallbone should’ve cemented places into team on Monday. O’Dowda very good too. Bazunu will be back also, etc,

Won’t read anything into result tonight, conceding 2 goals like we did might give us a much needed kick up the hole for Monday. I’m positive for Monday 👍

Jaysus. Conceding two more shots...AGAIN. How are you not worried?
Nialler View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Nialler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:49pm

Old habits Die Hard...

Same mistakes and same issues remain. This performance would end in a massacre on Monday.

Something just isn't clicking regarding certain, crucial aspects of our game. 
Browne and Molumby should never be a combo
xRedmanLFCx View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xRedmanLFCx Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:49pm

Kelleher has been beaten a lot of times for us since he made his debut - too many for my liking.
That shot was deflected. 
"We will be galvanised and motivated, and we will bring thousands to this tournament." - MON
Fitz View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fitz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:49pm

I see what you’re saying, but if we defend like that on Monday we’ll be spanked. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Het-field Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:50pm

I admire the glass half full view, and agree that there are positives, but this is just another minnow, in a long line of minnows that we cant keep scoreless. And, another home 2-0 advantage lost to a lower ranked team.
TheNumber6 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TheNumber6 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:51pm
Kelleher having a stinker. Smallbone the huge positive.
SeaSharp View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SeaSharp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Mar 2023 at 8:53pm
What's Collins doing running for the goal line there? Confused he's playing himself out of the team
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 45678 15>