Armenia Away 4th June

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 41424344>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VanBosch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2022 at 9:36pm
Home today - what did people make of Yerevan (apart from the match)? Flights were long but worked out fine thankfully, city itself was nice in parts but not a huge drinking culture.

I enjoyed it.

Edited by VanBosch - 06 Jun 2022 at 9:36pm

DublinScouse1916 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DublinScouse1916 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2022 at 10:03pm
Originally posted by VanBosch VanBosch wrote:

Home today - what did people make of Yerevan (apart from the match)? Flights were long but worked out fine thankfully, city itself was nice in parts but not a huge drinking culture.

I enjoyed it.

Yeah not a huge drinking culture bar the 3 day wine festival that was absolutely heaving 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 8:33am
Originally posted by VanBosch VanBosch wrote:

I enjoyed it.

Result aside, it was definitely one of my favourite stress-free away trips. 

The Georgians and Azeris were sound but I found the Armenians way friendlier out of all those caucuses countries.

In terms of travel I hope we don't get those countries for awhile yet as they're a pain in the hole to get to.

Out of five flights in 5 days, three of them were delayed Dead

Glad I flew back in the early hours on the Sunday as hanging around in Yerevan until Tuesday/Wednesday after a loss wouldn't be for me tbh. A bit grim especially after a bad defeat imo. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Huntacha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 8:57am

Originally posted by lukesmyth9 lukesmyth9 wrote:

Originally posted by craiglen craiglen wrote:

https://twitter.com/FBonertz/status/1532730250580348931?t=ZpjaWA81FY5F2Ghunp6zUg&s=19

What is the story with this?

He'd want to reassess the tone of tweets like that if he's going to be writing about certain other nationalities, races or segments of people.

My friend was sitting beside him on the plane, he was a w**ker �£

Who is he? Why does anyone care what some attention seeking no mark is tweeting? Twitter is such a weird place. 

I was on this flight, unfortunately stuck in the middle of them for 3 hours. It was about 20 fans (extremely loose term) who were acting the b*ll*x. There was no drink being sold on the flight so it was fairly obvious they were working away on their duty-free, which kept getting taken off them. A few of them started playing music on a speaker, which ended up getting taken off them too. 

Another one decided to stand up and go looking for the speaker just as we were landing. Felt sorry for the 3 staff working and the few families who were stuck in the middle of them. Then as we landed, anyone who was Irish, even if you hadn't been drinking on the flight, and had been sitting in the last 15 rows got held back as we left the plane for about 25 minutes to be met by the police. We were threatened with being brought to the police station but ended up just being escorted to immigration and out into arrivals.
cliffrichard View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cliffrichard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 10:16am
Tramps. Can do without those "supporters"
Touts Out!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pipkin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 10:29am
It seems to be the most affluent or westernised of the three countries in the vicinity. A good trip but wasn’t anywhere near the top and the result soured it. 

Agree with the comment on the bar culture. Most of the bars I was in were crap with table service only (if you would call it service they were that slow) which ran out of beer or were serving it warm. There didn’t seem to be an alternative although I’m sure some on here found them. The Beatles bar was awfully laid out for a crowd and didn’t spend much time there after the first night. 
Mr_T View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mr_T Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 11:14am
Originally posted by cliffrichard cliffrichard wrote:

100% 

Never understand why people jump to defend people being dicks just because they're Irish and heading to the game, or just because yet man was french and a bit judgemental.

You don't act like that on a plane.  Full stop.
irish_major View Drop Down
Bookie Slayer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irish_major Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 11:25am
Originally posted by Mr_T Mr_T wrote:

Originally posted by cliffrichard cliffrichard wrote:

100% 

Never understand why people jump to defend people being dicks just because they're Irish and heading to the game, or just because yet man was french and a bit judgemental.

You don't act like that on a plane.  Full stop.

This. 

Who the fook blares a speaker on a plane? The hell is wrong with those lads. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Huntacha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 11:59am
Originally posted by Pipkin Pipkin wrote:

It seems to be the most affluent or westernised of the three countries in the vicinity. A good trip but wasn’t anywhere near the top and the result soured it. 

Agree with the comment on the bar culture. Most of the bars I was in were crap with table service only (if you would call it service they were that slow) which ran out of beer or were serving it warm. There didn’t seem to be an alternative although I’m sure some on here found them. The Beatles bar was awfully laid out for a crowd and didn’t spend much time there after the first night. 

It was great craic and the staff were bang on but they were woefully under prepared for the crowds they got. Whenever we got rounds, there was a new type of beer each time and half of the bottles were warm.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 12:12pm

Originally posted by Pipkin Pipkin wrote:

It was great craic and the staff were bang on but they were woefully under prepared for the crowds they got. Whenever we got rounds, there was a new type of beer each time and half of the bottles were warm.

Yah I told your one when ordering, I wanted three lagers and they gave me that poxy craft beer in the yellow bottle. Dargett I think it was called. The red one was the pilsner/lager one I think. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Donegalman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 4:28pm
Still on the way home, sitting in Geneva airport after spending lastnight in Antalya so doing it the long way around. Good enough trip but the result put a serious dampener on it. A good few have already mentioned it on here that the people were very friendly and to be fair didn’t come across as many chancers trying to rip people off. Every second taxi man in Georgia and Azerbaijan did but paid 1400 drams to the airport yesterday morning all of €2.80 or so. Some very nice places in the city particularly up along that pedestrian street.
lukesmyth9 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lukesmyth9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 10:02pm
Did anybody else get stung on beer prices? they were widely varying everytime i went up. People saying 2500 per beer in the beatles where other places was 1500+. Was this just irish tax? 
EireDub View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote EireDub Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 10:04pm
Originally posted by lukesmyth9 lukesmyth9 wrote:

Did anybody else get stung on beer prices? they were widely varying everytime i went up. People saying 2500 per beer in the beatles where other places was 1500+. Was this just irish tax? 

Massive difference in price in Beatles when it was quiet on Thursday to Friday night when it was packed 
lukesmyth9 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lukesmyth9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jun 2022 at 10:06pm
Yeah thought that, we went to a place across the road called seeds bar on the Friday and it was grand, just the 4 of us but we fair took over, one lad even got the hop Smile
CC1984 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote CC1984 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jun 2022 at 12:34pm
Good trip and very nice city particularly around the Cascade area. Felt very safe and didn't have the police presence Baku had, there seemed to be police on every corner there. Hopefully won't get drawn in that part of the world for awhile, 3 flights home starting with a 2:45 am check in was torture.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Deane Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jun 2022 at 2:33pm
Taxi men didn't have a word of English so I decided to communicate via hand gestures. Wanted him to bring me to a strip club. Was saying girls and showing hand signals of boobs. He brought me to a street that had street prostitutes everywhere. They were all stinking, overweight and ugly, I proceeding to offer to pay for him to get a girl, worked out at about a tenner so thought f**k it this will be entertaining, he drove up and down the road a good 20 times before he found one suitable. I gave him the money. At the same time 4 russian lads took me out of the taxi and I went with them in the car, they said girls too ugly here so they drove around with IRA music blasting, I thought I was being robbed and kidnapped so started to panic a bit. Then asked where I was staying, I just said republic square. They took me there, let me out and said nice to meet you, added me on instagram. I was thinking thank f**k for that hahaha. Was a surreal experience. LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colmoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jun 2022 at 2:37pm
tapfit2004 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tapfit2004 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Jun 2022 at 4:18pm

Taxi men didn't have a word of English so I decided to communicate via hand gestures. Wanted him to bring me to a strip club. Was saying girls and showing hand signals of boobs. He brought me to a street that had street prostitutes everywhere. They were all stinking, overweight and ugly, I proceeding to offer to pay for him to get a girl, worked out at about a tenner so thought f**k it this will be entertaining, he drove up and down the road a good 20 times before he found one suitable. I gave him the money. At the same time 4 russian lads took me out of the taxi and I went with them in the car, they said girls too ugly here so they drove around with IRA music blasting, I thought I was being robbed and kidnapped so started to panic a bit. Then asked where I was staying, I just said republic square. They took me there, let me out and said nice to meet you, added me on instagram. I was thinking thank f**k for that hahaha. Was a surreal experience. LOL

Think I met you outside the beatles bar on Sunday. If its the same lad you badly needed some sleep. 🤣
Let Christy Take It.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 41424344>