Ireland v Luxembourg Match Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 24>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Eoink21 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 1:34pm
Originally posted by Eoink21 Eoink21 wrote:

Originally posted by aviva8 aviva8 wrote:

Bazunu             
  collins,          duffy,          egan

Doherty                               Steven's 
        cullen            Hendrick              

Knight           Robinson 

Idah 

That with Coleman not able for 2 games in a few days

I like that team, except for Stevens. Thought he had a poor game and doesn't deserve to retain his place. McClean for me. 

Co-incidentally, Dan McDonnell has gone with the above as the probable line up in the Indo today with two changes- McClean for Stevens and Omobamidele for Collins. 

Strazdas View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Strazdas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 1:47pm
Luxembourg are definitely beatable. Lost to Portugal and Serbia at home and in general their home form is not great - if anything their better results and performances have come on the road.
shakeyshamrock View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shakeyshamrock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 2:50pm
is Doherty available? Seen an article earlier saying he was suspended..

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J89 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 3:04pm
Originally posted by shakeyshamrock shakeyshamrock wrote:

is Doherty available? Seen an article earlier saying he was suspended..

Yeah Doherty is available.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MayoMark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 6:07pm
"In the last matches, they played more with the style that they played for 100 years. It was more British style, this fighting spirit, more long balls, more contacts. I think Ireland are in good shape."

Jesus that's an absolutely bizarre comment 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bandwagon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 6:08pm

"In the last matches, they played more with the style that they played for 100 years. It was more British style, this fighting spirit, more long balls, more contacts. I think Ireland are in good shape."

...from who? LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hotlips_Hoolahan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 6:08pm

It's pretty much the stock comment every opposition manager makes about us.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 6:11pm

The good news is, they’ve done absolutely no analysis on us.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MayoMark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 7:12pm

...from who? LOL

Whoops sorry! Luxembourg manager! 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Banjaxed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 7:26pm

Jaysus, the Mick McCarthy and the end of O'Neill era must seem like a different sport to this guy then Confused
TooOldForThis View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooOldForThis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 7:34pm

Jaysus, the Mick McCarthy and the end of O'Neill era must seem like a different sport to this guy then Confused
He has picked up on a change of style in our last few games, we are definitely more purposeful in possession, there is more urgency, and we mix it a up a bit more which was required.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Left foot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Nov 2021 at 8:34pm
Opposition managers are fully aware that we are a very different proposition than last year. Different players, formation and style of play. There's acknowledgment that we are now a better team.

Kenny has done a fantastic job, absolutely no question about it. 

Edited by Left foot - 13 Nov 2021 at 8:34pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Huntacha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 3:58am

Originally posted by Heimatklange Heimatklange wrote:

the game is a dead rubber. give kenny his contract and let him build for the future. now is the time to start developing and blooding players for the future.

He's literally spent the whole campaign blooding players in. It's time to start delivering results. The team needs to know how to win games.

Agree. The team seems to be settled now and is in it's strongest position in terms of form, depth and quality since he took over.

They have the momentum and I've no doubt that the expectation among the management is to win the game.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 8:36am
Looking forward to this tonight, we owe them from the reverse fixture 
Jimmy Raggatip View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jimmy Raggatip Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 10:09am

Luxembourg are definitely beatable. Lost to Portugal and Serbia at home and in general their home form is not great - if anything their better results and performances have come on the road.

of course they are beatable, but we have to have a dose of realism from the lads saying this game has his job on the line, sh*t or bust

the bookies have a Luxembourg win or draw coupled at odds on, more likely that they take points off us than not. That's where we are at at the moment, they are on just as much of an improvement curve as ourselves
Stickittotheman View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stickittotheman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 10:53am
Originally posted by Jimmy Raggatip Jimmy Raggatip wrote:

of course they are beatable, but we have to have a dose of realism from the lads saying this game has his job on the line, sh*t or bust

the bookies have a Luxembourg win or draw coupled at odds on, more likely that they take points off us than not. That's where we are at at the moment, they are on just as much of an improvement curve as ourselves

If we are to see Kenny get a new contract he has to win this game otherwise it will be the Nations league campaign when the decision is made. One thing is for sure- we simply have to be beating the likes of Luxembourg if we want to qualify for any tournament. A win tonight would give a boost to us and also help convince those on the fence that Kenny has what it takes to take us to the Euros. Taking a maximum of 5 points from the bottom two seeds would be far from acceptable. The qualifying campaign should be taken on the whole. That is important.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 11:02am
Have to win tonight simple as that , hate when all that has gone before comes down to one game but this is it ,that is what football has become .
Funny i think we will win but a close game and only one goal in it .
We just cant finish 4th in this group just hope we win so much Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Nov 2021 at 11:19am
The differences between finishing third and fourth are massive. It’s vitally important to the future of Irish football. How do people not see this?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 24>