GAA Football

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 6667686970 106>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote E2016 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2023 at 10:37am
The Provincials didnt matter because anybody decent was already assured of their spot in these groups, and in some cases (Mayo) it was beneficial to lose as quickly as possible.

These groups dont matter either because you beat the worst team in your group and you are through. All these games just to eliminate 4 teams is a piss take. Every team playing 3 games just to eliminate the likes of Louth and Clare. Complete waste of time.

Get rid of the provisional QF, have only 1st and 2nd qualify for a QF. They are so worried about having 1 dead rubber game in a group that they have set it up so every game is a pointless waste of time.

Edited by E2016 - 06 Jun 2023 at 10:41am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Het-field Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2023 at 10:43am

You couldn't have lads training 4/5 times a week for 6+ months and only getting one game. 

Argument for me is that there is the league, and the likes of the O'Byrne cup. I accept that the Championship sits at a higher level, but that was no reason to expand it. Getting a second game hardly makes it any more worthwhile.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2023 at 10:45am
Advocates for the new system are arguing that in the likes of the Superbowl or the Premier league, or the Champions League that you play a lot of games, some are foregone conclusions or mundane, in order to arrive at the winner. 
They don't play 3 or 4 games a year in their biggest competitions and once they lose they're out. 

Personally i've been disappointed in this season so far. Memorable games have been at a premium. Is this what the likes of Joe Brolly argued for for years? I agree with a two tiered system but think there is a better format than four groups of four with only one team exiting after the group stage. 

The football itself is pretty boring too

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2023 at 10:46am

You couldn't have lads training 4/5 times a week for 6+ months and only getting one game. 

Argument for me is that there is the league, and the likes of the O'Byrne cup. I accept that the Championship sits at a higher level, but that was no reason to expand it. Getting a second game hardly makes it any more worthwhile.

The League was better than this All Ireland series, so far. 

It'll no doubt liven up in the coming weeks and teams will start getting knocked out on a weekly basis soon

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eireland Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2023 at 2:43pm
It will linen up of course but it has to be 2 out of the group. Only 1 team eliminated takes away excitement. 

Imagine the Munster hurling where 4 team's qualified. The fact a big team (this year cork) is guaranteed to exit despite playing well brings a knockout feel to every game. 

As for the provincials they're going to remain sh*te as long as Kerry and Dublin win them every year. 
notpropaganda73 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote notpropaganda73 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2023 at 5:47pm
the only thing wrong with the format is 3 teams going through from a group of 4 imo. the spread of games around the country and plenty to choose from has been great imo even if the quality hasn't been very good. like in terms of attendance, why should I drive from Belfast to Ballybofey to watch us lose to Derry when we're already through to the next round because we've beaten Clare? Call it fair weather if you want but it's a big cost for a game that means nothing in the grand scheme. 

there's bigger questions about the direction the game is going in and potential rule changes to bring back those 50/50 contests around the pitch that many people miss but if the GAA can be trusted to do one thing, it's to pick the wrong f**king rules to change or introduce 

Edited by notpropaganda73 - 06 Jun 2023 at 5:49pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ringerbell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2023 at 3:40pm
Christ everyone in donegal was delighted to win yesterday to get the 2nd place in the group and a win game next week. Not sure it's as big a positive now when we see roscommon and mayo finishing 3rd in the group and most likely the other team will be Tyrone or armagh Dead

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colmoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2023 at 7:55pm

Christ everyone in donegal was delighted to win yesterday to get the 2nd place in the group and a win game next week. Not sure it's as big a positive now when we see roscommon and mayo finishing 3rd in the group and most likely the other team will be Tyrone or armagh Dead

We predicted this would happen ringer so went handy on yousTongue

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ringerbell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2023 at 8:14pm

You just can predict we will get Tyrone in draw tomorrow 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Salzburglilly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2023 at 10:26pm
Gutsy performance from Kildare today and a balls of steel kick from Feely at the end.

Finally the team showed up!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2023 at 10:33pm
Bad day for the Connacht teams 

Only Mayo could play Cork needing to avoid losing by 3 points or more and lose by 3 points 

Tyrone should have had a penalty shocking decision under the new rule when Kilpatrick was through on goal and taken out 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colmoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 2023 at 8:47am

You just can predict we will get Tyrone in draw tomorrow 

There you goLOL

Thank f**k we are sh*te and couldn’t beat yous on sat. Couldn’t look at going to omagh again
notpropaganda73 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote notpropaganda73 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 2023 at 9:28am
absolute guarantee we'd get Tyrone, bored to death playing Ulster teams and what's the betting whoever comes out of that draw will play Armagh or Derry in the quarters!

thought we were very good in patches against Monaghan, some of the same old failings that Monaghan didn't punish though and I thought the ref was sh*te for both teams. Patton would give you heart palpitations at times when he's on the ball/with his short kickouts but when he's on it, he's probably our most important player at the minute which is mad. Great to see McBrearty back on the pitch, Jamie Brennan getting a few scores and looking a little more like his old self and Gallen getting a run of games now. 

Hopefully we've Jason McGee back for the weekend as may struggle against the Tyrone midfield 

Glad they turned a bit of a corner in the group stage it was shaping up to be a god awful year, hopefully they give it a good rattle now at the weekend everything is a bonus from here on out imo

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrendanD88 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 2023 at 9:57am
Mayo v Galway! Brilliant.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 2023 at 10:25am

Galway at home

Bye bye bottlers for another year

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ringerbell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 2023 at 10:59am
Early indications are 3 games to be played on Saturday with Galway vs mayo meant to be Sunday (assume to avoid a clash with Galway hurlers on Saturday). Kildare will play their home game in tullamore 

None of these games were pencilled in to be shown free to air with 2 games apparently going to be on GAA Go on Saturday 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrendanD88 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 2023 at 11:16am

Galway at home

Bye bye bottlers for another year

Galway were poor against Armagh yesterday!

You for Croker next week?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jun 2023 at 11:23am
Yes should be there

Down will be hard to stop now in the Tailtean!
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 6667686970 106>