Dermot Bannon

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Dermot Bannon
    Posted: 18 Oct 2020 at 10:33pm
Anyone ever see his architecture programme on RTE? 

The sh*te designs he fawns overConfused  Pure pretentious, over intellectualised rubbish.

Any of the stuff he designs looks like a shipping container.   And he brings people to houses he thinks are nice and they are shocking.

Episode 3, Moate | Room To Improve, Series 10 — COCO Content

Private Dwelling Moate - Crannog Roofing

Look at this kitchen.  Looks like a staff kitchen that nurses would use in a hospital to make a cup of Bovril in

Dermot Bannon: we need to talk about storage

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Donegalman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2020 at 10:43pm
The boarded floor looks like it was pulled up from the local parish hall in the 1960s.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2020 at 10:46pm
He was orgasming over that gaff with the auditorium, as he does for most of these so called homes he visits.

These places aren’t homes. Hollow, soulless buildings that give me the creeps. The type of place Patrick Bateman would reside. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2020 at 11:09pm

He was orgasming over that gaff with the auditorium, as he does for most of these so called homes he visits.

These places aren’t homes. Hollow, soulless buildings that give me the creeps. The type of place Patrick Bateman would reside. 

The state of them.  Sterile boxes.  See the state of that bathroom with the lime green? Like something out of The Shining FFS and him w**king over it.

I remember seeing one episode about a year ago.  Some couple hired him to re-do their gaff.  Yer wan hated what he was coming up with and wouldn't go along with itLOL

There's a gaff just built not far from me in a housing estate. Sticks out like a sore thumb from all the rest which are homogenous design.  A shipping container stuck on the roof of a converted garage. Like something he'd come up with.  Yes lets turn your semi detached run of the mill estate house into a freak show.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2020 at 11:12pm

Do you mean Norman Bates?LOL

Mother!

The Villa Bella has more warmth and character than these houses

Edited by Trap junior - 18 Oct 2020 at 11:13pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 8:03am

Do you mean Norman Bates?LOL

Mother!

The Villa Bella has more warmth and character than these houses

No LOL

Patrick Bateman from American Psycho 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 8:35am
Is that a Lidl?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lenny82 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 8:45am

Is that a Lidl?

It actually does look like the Lidl in Cabra.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 8:52am
what does it matter what your house looks like from the outside.  You live inside the house so whatever design that allows you to have a house that suits your needs is the correct one. 

All of his stuff is the same really.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 9:02am

what does it matter what your house looks like from the outside.  You live inside the house so whatever design that allows you to have a house that suits your needs is the correct one. 

But we are commenting houses of people that have chosen to put them on display, so of course there will be a critique - inside or out. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 9:07am

But we are commenting houses of people that have chosen to put them on display, so of course there will be a critique - inside or out. 

Fair enough but the rebuttal to that is that the function of the house is what Bannon is after not what it looks like outside.   Often these two things are in competition with each other.  A nice looking house from the outside means it doesn’t work inside 

Edited by Baldrick - 19 Oct 2020 at 9:08am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 9:14am

Fair enough but the rebuttal to that is that the function of the house is what Bannon is after not what it looks like outside.   Often these two things are in competition with each other.  A nice looking house from the outside means it doesn’t work inside 

I disagree. I dont forensically watch the show but those that i have viewed, i've seen him agonise over both internal and external aesthetics and functionality. Pantone of bricks and how to allow as much light in etc. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 9:18am

I disagree. I dont forensically watch the show but those that i have viewed, i've seen him agonise over both internal and external aesthetics and functionality. Pantone of bricks and how to allow as much light in etc. 

Yes getting the light in is key but in order to do that it means many of the houses look the same and would be considered ugly by trap junior and others. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 9:27am
Bannon's houses tend to be cold and clinical inside and hideous on the outside

The inside of them looks a bit like the Industrial Zone in the Crystal Maze

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 9:30am
Sorry, the Futuristic Zone in the Crystal Maze, not the Industrial Zone

It's been a while

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 9:35am

Yourself and trap must have similar Architectural backgrounds

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 9:37am
This is the Futuristic Zone from "The Crystal Maze Live Experience" in Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Might as well be the inside of a Dermot Bannon house

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2020 at 9:42am

Yourself and trap must have similar Architectural backgrounds
I like my architecture to be of the Ye Olde British Colonial type 

Though I am also a fan of Brutalism in the right context

Brutalism is actually the only major contribution to aesthetically pleasing architecture since Art Deco

It's the only non-brutal genre of modern architecture, which is a bit ironic

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>