Should we give up football?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 3031323334 35>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote uibhfaillian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2024 at 3:36pm
We could be like Kilkenny and just play hurling for men and camogie for the women and play nothing else. We'd be the best in the world at hurling.

Terzino View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Terzino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2024 at 3:37pm
Duff put in one of the all time attacking Irish performances when he terrorised the Spanish back in 2002. However, Shels are a standard, functional LOI team - nothing like the old Duff.

Rugby doesn't have to be skill free. France, Fiji, Japan or Portugal can play a risky type of game that Ireland never would.

Hurling hasn't been destroyed, like Gaelic Football, because mass defence is a useless tactic. It's probably not an accident that this game is ancient - it's creation predates the national fear of being creative or taking a risk.

And if you are creative then you directed towards the arts. Ireland produces writers and actors, not ball players.

We are cleaning up at the Oscars, but we don't have a midfield - it can't be a coincidence!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2024 at 3:41pm
I cant understand how in what 140 odd years we have produced the sum total of 4 half decent goalscorers

Don Givens
Frank Stapleton
Niall Quinn
Robert Keane

Terzino View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Terzino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2024 at 3:49pm
John Aldridge scored, something like, 7 goals in 5 games against Barcelona for Real Sociedad, but at Italia 90 he didn't score and never looked like scoring.

There's something going on here!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote King_Kenny Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Apr 2024 at 4:27pm
Originally posted by Terzino Terzino wrote:

John Aldridge scored, something like, 7 goals in 5 games against Barcelona for Real Sociedad, but at Italia 90 he didn't score and never looked like scoring.

There's something going on here!
The Irish striker runs after defenders. The rest of the world strikers runs away from them.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 2:55pm
I think Irish people have a deep rooted small man mentality/inferiority complex that holds us back on achieving our full potential.  We are happy to stick with the status quo rather than taking risks and aiming for better things.

"Sure we'd never be able to develop the next Messi, pick the big fella instead who can whack the ball up the pitch away from the goal to make sure we don't get beat". 

"Metro system for Dublin? ah that's a pipe dream we'd never be able to build something like that here, or we need to hear from everyone first and get their buy-in so we dont upset anyone" (30 years later still talking looking to appease everyone)

"Build a new city in middle of ireland and build a high-speed train system linking the regional cities, ah no that's a bit sophisticated for little old Ireland, leave that to the Germany's and France's of this world."

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mr. Snrub Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 3:40pm
Ireland punches above it's weight in so many field's. 

We are the biggest nation of moaners and begrudgers. 

Yes we get a lot wrong but we get a hell of a lot right. Not bad for a tiny island nation
nice triangles View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nice triangles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 4:20pm
Originally posted by Mr. Snrub Mr. Snrub wrote:

Yes we get a lot wrong but we get a hell of a lot right. Not bad for a tiny island nation
We are not a tiny island nation .....roughly 11th largest island on the planet. We are also a very wealthy country, 3rd wealthiest in the world - GDP Per Person. Admittedly its a terrible measure, but by any reasonable measure we are a wealthy country. We should be doing a lot better. 
The lack of a league with 10-15 full time professional squads with academies attached is a major drawback. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mr. Snrub Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 4:37pm
Originally posted by nice triangles nice triangles wrote:

We are not a tiny island nation .....roughly 11th largest island on the planet. We are also a very wealthy country, 3rd wealthiest in the world - GDP Per Person. Admittedly its a terrible measure, but by any reasonable measure we are a wealthy country. We should be doing a lot better. 
The lack of a league with 10-15 full time professional squads with academies attached is a major drawback. 

We were a poverty stricken country for most of the 20th century so we should be proud of being one of the wealthiest countries today.

I completely agree, the lack of investment in football is not good enough. Was more commenting on the general state of the nation

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maccatacca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 4:51pm

Ireland punches above it's weight in so many field's

What sports do we punch above our weight in?
Landsdowne90 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Landsdowne90 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 4:57pm

Rugby… played seriously in about 5 countries. I can’t think of much else. Boxing, maybe?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 5:00pm
Originally posted by Landsdowne90 Landsdowne90 wrote:

Rugby… played seriously in about 5 countries. I can’t think of much else. Boxing, maybe?
Virtue Signalling - World Champions at that.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irelandfan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 5:06pm

Don't come on here and dare question the best team in the world.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maccatacca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 5:48pm
The truth is we don't punch above our weight in any sports that are globally accessible and played by millions / billions.

Rugby is played by posh schoolboys from British colonies + France, and if it were ever to be taken seriously by big countries we'd shoot down the rankings. Bearing in mind our best players in recent years have been residency-rulers.

I'm sure someone will mention a sailor or rower from the Olympics as an argument, but neither are global sports that anyone can just pick up. These are elitest sports.

We produce the odd boxer, that's about it.

Norway, Belarus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, New Zealand, Bulgaria, Romania, Finland, Switzerland are just some examples of countries ahead of us in the Olympic medal table.

But don't worry, my parish bet your parish in the bog ball last weekend.

Edited by Maccatacca - 11 Apr 2024 at 5:53pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 6:00pm

I dont think they are punchign above their weight in rugby.  Never got past the quarter finals in their history.  Serious failure.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mr. Snrub Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 8:56pm

Rugby Union
Golf
Boxing

This island has produced some of the current greatest golfers and boxers on the planet. 
razzmatazaz View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote razzmatazaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 9:09pm

Rugby Union
Golf
Boxing

This island has produced some of the current greatest golfers and boxers on the planet. 

If you're referring to Barry McGuigan, didn't that gobsh*te consider himself British?
greenshoots View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenshoots Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2024 at 11:56pm
Of the list of countries you provided, Ireland has a lower population than them all expect for New Zealand (we are ranked 120th, and New Zealand are 121st for population) and Croatia who are 128th. So your logic makes no sense.

And why bring a bog ball reference into this? GAA is a huge part of Irish sport and culture. The lads playing Inter county football and hurling are serious, almost professional, athletes.

Young lads and girls playing  gaelic fotball, hurling, camogie etc. At times to the detriment of other sports such as soccer. It's a fact of life in this country. For those of us in hurling and football dominated counties, it's a fact of life!
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 3031323334 35>