Should we give up football?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 1819202122 35>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote doherty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2021 at 7:44pm

I think kenny completely messed up today but I think the players let us down badly too.

Set piece specialist hourihane was again poor in all aspects of the game.

Molumby and connolly haven't been playing football for months but we're thrown in.

Mcclean is a tryer but clearly technically poor. His crossing today couldn't even beat the first Azerbaijani. Truly pathetic.

I've Kenny is sacked you have to say fair enough at this point. My only fear is we get a mercenary like allardyce and results don't improve... then what? 

The same as the past 15 years people will say fook sake can we not even pass the ball to each other. What else.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shedite Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2021 at 8:03pm
Two inevitabilities about Ireland....

1. Good performance away from home, brave defeat, will boost optimism and be followed by a shocking home performance.

2. Subs will come on, look impressive for 20mns, then regress to the starting XI standard when included from the start next time.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote You Tell Me Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2021 at 8:14pm

I think kenny completely messed up today but I think the players let us down badly too.

Molumby and connolly haven't been playing football for months but we're thrown in.

Mcclean is a tryer but clearly technically poor. His crossing today couldn't even beat the first Azerbaijani. Truly pathetic.

Was that their fault or the man that put them there's fault though? For each player you've mentioned there there was an alternative available and a justifiable reason to select them.

Omobamidele, Manning, McGrath, Hendrick even based on the last night, Robinson from the start, Parrott in his natural position.

I don't think you can blame the players here, most did exactly what you'd expect them to do in the positions they were picked in.

Edited by You Tell Me - 04 Sep 2021 at 8:16pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Left foot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2021 at 8:18pm

Was that their fault or the man that out them there's fault though? For each player you've mentioned there there was a alternative available and a justifiable reason to select them.

Omobamidele, Manning, McGrath, Robinson from the start, Parrott in his natural position.

I don't think you can blame the players here, most did exactly what you'd expect them to do in the positions they were picked in.

I think that's fair, players did there best when selected. I think kennys selection and tactics were very poor today. He clearly got it wrong and made changes to make up for his gaff. 

Molumby coming off was long overdue. I have no idea what the formation was towards the end.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shedite Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2021 at 10:01pm
Originally posted by Left foo<b>t Left foot wrote:

I have no idea what the formation was towards the end.
it was a mess. last 10 mns Coleman was playing RW with Horgan behind him. f**k knows how that made sense. Looked like Coleman just went wild and figured he had to be the hero and Horgan was clued in enough to realise someone had to track back. Only other thing that makes sense was that Coleman was goosed and didn’t have the energy to get back. Either way it looked like a decision the players made than the manager

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2021 at 1:31am
Paddy played with fire and it has burned him.  Paddy can't play football.  Paddy does crosses and sticks it in the mixer for the big man.  We only score headers.  We should abandon all hope of ever playing football and just indulge in pure caveman football at its finest.  Think Wimbledon bully boys meet Martin O'Neill 2018.

Edited by Trap junior - 05 Sep 2021 at 1:32am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2021 at 2:30am
Lets see how it goes Tuesday. We tried hard tonight and it just didn't work out. We were getting close but just not to be. I was watching the game tonight thinking to myself "they are trying here, it's almost there, just not clinical enough.....imagine Robbie Keane was there". And that just reminded me that one thing this team misses is an out and out star, leader, hero like Robbie or Duff. It would have made all the difference this campaign I would feel
Landsdowne90 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Landsdowne90 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2021 at 11:36am

Lets see how it goes Tuesday. We tried hard tonight and it just didn't work out. We were getting close but just not to be. I was watching the game tonight thinking to myself "they are trying here, it's almost there, just not clinical enough.....imagine Robbie Keane was there". And that just reminded me that one thing this team misses is an out and out star, leader, hero like Robbie or Duff. It would have made all the difference this campaign I would feel

Yesterday panned out just like the Portugal game in reverse, as they threw everything at us in the 2nd half. Ultimately the difference was a world class player (dubious refereeing decisions aside) in the end so there is some truth in what you’re saying I think
uibhfaillian View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote uibhfaillian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2021 at 2:17pm

Jack Charlton himself said that the way his teams played suited the Irish temperament because it was the sort of game the Irish expected from their own Gaelic players

He was right

As a sporting nation the "get in amongst them" mentality has always been ingrained into us, or if you like, "put 'em under pressure"

It's why the image of Packie Bonner grimacing and gritting his teeth before hoofing it down the pitch before Sheedy's goal against England is so iconic

It's shown in the way the crowd roared on the big days and nights at Lansdowne Road, whether it was to unsettle the "soft Spanish fancy dans" in '89, to greet Roy Keane's tackle on Overmars in '01 or to put it right up the Germans with route one in 2015, it's why James McClean and Shane Duffy are the personification of modern day Irish football

And to deny otherwise is sort of to erase history 

Some awful nonsense in this thread, awful trolling and weird chat about GAA, this one takes the biscuit.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2022 at 12:04pm
This football aint for us lads. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2022 at 2:28pm
It's so painful it's almost funny. 

When your man was taking an age to unravel the paper to reveal us in group B you could kind of see the 'R' and the 'd'.....it was just like in me head "JESUS NO ITS US, ITS f**kING US. WE ARE CURSED".

Let's maybe stick to the GAA. Or the rugby Bandwagon is starting to accelerate so could hop on that maybe. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote You Tell Me Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2022 at 2:33pm
The worst thing is that we have such a long country name that you can always tell when it is and isn't us as soon as they start unrolling the paper. There were no other long named teams in Pot 3 (like Bosnia and Herzegovina or Northern Ireland) so you could tell instantly it was us.
TooOldForThis View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooOldForThis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2022 at 2:39pm
We should ditch Republic of Ireland and use our actual name of Ireland.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 7:32pm
I think this soccer lark isn't for us. Let's stick to the stick wars.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 7:36pm
But what do we do in our spare time? What do we rant against?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 7:37pm

But what do we do in our spare time? What do we rant against?

The failures of the rugby team

Terzino View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Terzino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 10:06pm
We've parasitised off the English game for a long time, and it's not working any more.

The FAI and the League of Ireland have to build structures that will produce good players, that can improve the league, and eventually these players will progress to the national side.

Obviously need the government on board too. But we have reached crisis point at this stage.

If we are not prepared to do that then we might as well call it a day.

Edited by Terzino - 20 Nov 2022 at 10:06pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MayoMark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2022 at 10:09pm
Originally posted by Terzino Terzino wrote:

We've parasitised off the English game for a long time, and it's not working any more.

The FAI and the League of Ireland have to build structures that will produce good players, that can improve the league, and eventually these players will progress to the national side.

Obviously need the government on board too. But we have reached crisis point at this stage.

If we are not prepared to do that then we might as well call it a day.

To be fair the new national league at 13/14, 15s, 17s and 19s aims to do that. I feel like grassroots has been somewhat left behind as a result. There are a lot of decent coaches in Ireland working at grassroots. There has to be a starting point there somewhere. But you're right, a long way to go
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 1819202122 35>