Should we give up football?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 3132333435>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The O'Shea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 12:03am

The truth is we don't punch above our weight in any sports that are globally accessible and played by millions / billions.

Rugby is played by posh schoolboys from British colonies + France, and if it were ever to be taken seriously by big countries we'd shoot down the rankings. Bearing in mind our best players in recent years have been residency-rulers.

I'm sure someone will mention a sailor or rower from the Olympics as an argument, but neither are global sports that anyone can just pick up. These are elitest sports.

We produce the odd boxer, that's about it.

Norway, Belarus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, New Zealand, Bulgaria, Romania, Finland, Switzerland are just some examples of countries ahead of us in the Olympic medal table.

But don't worry, my parish bet your parish in the bog ball last weekend.

Seanachie View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Seanachie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 7:50am
Originally posted by razzmatazaz razzmatazaz wrote:

Originally posted by Mr. Snrub Mr. Snrub wrote:

Ireland punches above it's weight in so many field's

We are the biggest nation of moaners and begrudgers. 

Yes we get a lot wrong but we get a hell of a lot right. Not bad for a tiny island nation

What sports do we punch above our weight in?

Rugby Union
Golf
Boxing

This island has produced some of the current greatest golfers and boxers on the planet. 

If you're referring to Barry McGuigan, didn't that gobsh*te consider himself British?

McGuigan didn't consider himself British but held dual citizenship for sporting expediency, so he could represent Northern Ireland in the Commonwealth Games and compete in the British Championships. He never went around saying he was British though and it's no different from thousands of other Irish people who hold British passports, largely through birth.
nice triangles View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nice triangles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 9:28am
Originally posted by greenshoots greenshoots wrote:

Of the list of countries you provided, Ireland has a lower population than them all expect for New Zealand (we are ranked 120th, and New Zealand are 121st for population) and Croatia who are 128th. So your logic makes no sense.

And why bring a bog ball reference into this? GAA is a huge part of Irish sport and culture. The lads playing Inter county football and hurling are serious, almost professional, athletes.

Young lads and girls playing  gaelic fotball, hurling, camogie etc. At times to the detriment of other sports such as soccer. It's a fact of life in this country. For those of us in hurling and football dominated counties, it's a fact of life!
No they are not, in most cases they are miles off it - its one of the weirdest 'sacred cows' of modern Ireland, we must all agree that inter county GAA players are nearly as fit and strong as professional athletes, and they are the most committed athletes in the country. This is not true. Anyone who believes this has never been involved in professional sport.
They all have jobs outside of their commitment to they club / county - they do not have the time to get anywhere near the level of professional athletes - its not possible.
One inter county football manager, of a relatively decent county, was on tv two weeks ago complaining that his panel may have to play 5 weekends in a row - and train 3 times a week. This is the level they are at, this is basic amateur level commitment, nothing over the top - yet this guy thought it was "too much". Sorry, rant over.

Edited by nice triangles - 12 Apr 2024 at 9:28am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 9:31am
You put these lads up against the Aussies and it's men against boys.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nice triangles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 9:39am

100%....even when Australia send over a development / young team they generally clean house. That is using a round ball as well, which is a massive advantage to the Irish lads. This should be expected though. Its literally the job of the Australians to be fit and strong - they do it every day - like loads here going into the office or wherever you work. Its on a different planet to amateur sports people.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The O'Shea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 10:08am
Originally posted by nice triangles nice triangles wrote:

Of the list of countries you provided, Ireland has a lower population than them all expect for New Zealand (we are ranked 120th, and New Zealand are 121st for population) and Croatia who are 128th. So your logic makes no sense.

And why bring a bog ball reference into this? GAA is a huge part of Irish sport and culture. The lads playing Inter county football and hurling are serious, almost professional, athletes.

Young lads and girls playing  gaelic fotball, hurling, camogie etc. At times to the detriment of other sports such as soccer. It's a fact of life in this country. For those of us in hurling and football dominated counties, it's a fact of life!
No they are not, in most cases they are miles off it - its one of the weirdest 'sacred cows' of modern Ireland, we must all agree that inter county GAA players are nearly as fit and strong as professional athletes, and they are the most committed athletes in the country. This is not true. Anyone who believes this has never been involved in professional sport.
They all have jobs outside of their commitment to they club / county - they do not have the time to get anywhere near the level of professional athletes - its not possible.
One inter county football manager, of a relatively decent county, was on tv two weeks ago complaining that his panel may have to play 5 weekends in a row - and train 3 times a week. This is the level they are at, this is basic amateur level commitment, nothing over the top - yet this guy thought it was "too much". Sorry, rant over.

They train more often than some professional LOI teams - there's nothing about it that's sacred, it's an observable fact. Simply being paid to do something doesn't mean you're going to be automatically better at it. Roscommon, for example, were training 5+ times a week from November to March this year. Dublin famously trained about 40 days in a row under Ger Gilroy back when he was manager, and that has since become something that's not entirely unusual. There are certain strength and fitness metrics GAA players would blow football players out of the water, and vice versa. That's the nature of high level sports, each is going to have it's areas of focus.
ripbomb View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ripbomb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 10:14am

Ireland punches above it's weight in so many field's

We are the biggest nation of moaners and begrudgers. 

Yes we get a lot wrong but we get a hell of a lot right. Not bad for a tiny island nation

What sports do we punch above our weight in?

Rugby Union
Golf
Boxing

This island has produced some of the current greatest golfers and boxers on the planet. 

Athletics and rowing are the only two sports were we punch above our weight 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The O'Shea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 10:15am

100%....even when Australia send over a development / young team they generally clean house. That is using a round ball as well, which is a massive advantage to the Irish lads. This should be expected though. Its literally the job of the Australians to be fit and strong - they do it every day - like loads here going into the office or wherever you work. Its on a different planet to amateur sports people.

That's peculiar, generally when you use the term "cleaning house" it suggests that one side is vastly dominant over the other - in this case, though  there have been 42 official "International Rules" test matches, of which Ireland have won 21 and the Aussies have won 19. This must be the first ever case of a side who has lost more than they have won "cleaning house" Embarrassed

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 10:21am

They train more often than some professional LOI teams - there's nothing about it that's sacred, it's an observable fact. Simply being paid to do something doesn't mean you're going to be automatically better at it. Roscommon, for example, were training 5+ times a week from November to March this year. Dublin famously trained about 40 days in a row under Ger Gilroy back when he was manager, and that has since become something that's not entirely unusual. There are certain strength and fitness metrics GAA players would blow football players out of the water, and vice versa. That's the nature of high level sports, each is going to have it's areas of focus.

This just shows how amateurish it is. Your body needs to recover. All this will do is fatigue the players and make them more prone to injury.

I don't really believe it anyway.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nice triangles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 10:27am

Simply being paid to do something doesn't mean you're going to be automatically better at it. -  Its not about being paid to do it, its your job, its all you need to worry about when you get up in the morning, you are paid to train and rest properly, and all of your coaches are also professional.
 Roscommon, for example, were training 5+ times a week from November to March this year. Anyone involved in any kind of serious rowing squad or athletics training group would be doing this year in, year out, this is not ground breaking - this is decent level amateur commitment.
Dublin famously trained about 40 days in a row under Ger Gilroy back when he was manager, and that has since become something that's not entirely unusual. This is a classic amateur approach to training, like cramming for an exam. It all depends what they were doing in training but any decent measurement and feedback part of that programme would have reported diminishing returns to any fitness or strength metrics from day 15 to around day 20. Just because training 5 days in a row is good, training 40 days in a row is not 8 times as good. 
There are certain strength and fitness metrics GAA players would blow football players out of the water.  If you mean professional football players, there is no dataset that exists to back that up.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The O'Shea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 10:28am

This just shows how amateurish it is. Your body needs to recover. All this will do is fatigue the players and make them more prone to injury.

If you hate something so much that you can't acknowledge how incredible it is, then there's no point in arguing with you. The fact that you think the word "amateur" is an insult only lays bare your pettiness - for GAA players to achieve the level of performance they do without renumeration is astounding, it's probably the only example in the world of a team sport played to such as high level without the sport being professionalised.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nice triangles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 10:31am

If you hate something so much that you can't acknowledge how incredible it is, then there's no point in arguing with you. The fact that you think the word "amateur" is an insult only lays bare your pettiness - for GAA players to achieve the level of performance they do without renumeration is astounding, it's probably the only example in the world of a team sport played to such as high level without the sport being professionalised.
....And there is the sacred cow, if people simply believe it to be true - then it must be true. It is not true.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 10:38am
It is outstanding the commitment that the inter county player put in.  It’s also true that they are not as fit as professional players.  One of the reasons for this is lack of rest time.  I spoke to
A physio who played inter county hurling for Dublin and he said a professional footballer will generally train in the morning and then go home and rest and possibly sleep for a few hours.   Many inter county players either have morning sessions and then go to work and could be driving a lot or sitting at their desk or they train in the evening and they may face a long drive home or are doing it after a days work.  This point was also made by Stephen Hunt.  

The issue is that every so often the fitness think and manly thing is used to big up the GAA and have a pop at football/soccer when it’s not true.  It doesn’t mean GAA lads are not fit, they are but the lack of recovery and rest time holds them back simply because it is an amateur sport.  Unless you dedicate every waking hour to it that’s going to be the case and everybody needs an income stream so that’s not going to happen.  

Go to GAA matches myself so have no axe to
Grind. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The O'Shea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 10:45am

Simply being paid to do something doesn't mean you're going to be automatically better at it. -  Its not about being paid to do it, its your job, its all you need to worry about when you get up in the morning, you are paid to train and rest properly, and all of your coaches are also professional.
 Roscommon, for example, were training 5+ times a week from November to March this year. Anyone involved in any kind of serious rowing squad or athletics training group would be doing this year in, year out, this is not ground breaking - this is decent level amateur commitment.
Dublin famously trained about 40 days in a row under Ger Gilroy back when he was manager, and that has since become something that's not entirely unusual. This is a classic amateur approach to training, like cramming for an exam. It all depends what they were doing in training but any decent measurement and feedback part of that programme would have reported diminishing returns to any fitness or strength metrics from day 15 to around day 20. Just because training 5 days in a row is good, training 40 days in a row is not 8 times as good. 
There are certain strength and fitness metrics GAA players would blow football players out of the water.  If you mean professional football players, there is no dataset that exists to back that up.

Again, something being your job does not mean you are going to do it better - in many cases it leads to complete apathy, which has been and is a massive issue in football. Players being paid exorbitant wages who simply don't care about playing for the team they're at, because either way they're picking up their wage packet. To do something as taxing as inter county GAA without being paid requires you actually want to be there, you can't do it without complete commitment.

Right, so you're acknowledging that GAA is at a minimum on a par with the training for two high level Olympic sports, good man LOL

Training 40 days in a row was a drastic tactic in response to a drastically malfunctioning team, and it worked. Dublin went on to win their first all Ireland in 16 years after it. The 40 days in a row obviously included recovery sessions, the point is that the squad were getting together every day, sometimes more than once a day, for 40 days in a row. That displays a level of commitment (amd ability to train) beyond what is found in most professionalised sports. Again, you try to use the word "amateur" as an insult here, clearly misunderstanding the meaning of the word.

Like many Irish soccer fans, you can't acknowledge the brilliance of the GAA because for whatever reason you think that denigrates the brilliance of soccer, it doesn't, they're completely mutually exclusive. The small mindedness that exists in Irish sports is a sad thing.

Edited by The O'Shea - 12 Apr 2024 at 10:47am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The O'Shea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 10:47am

....And there is the sacred cow, if people simply believe it to be true - then it must be true. It is not true.

Go on then, give an example of another team sport in the world that is played to such a high level without players being renumerated? 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nice triangles Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 10:53am

Again, something being your job does not mean you are going to do it better - in many cases it leads to complete apathy, which has been and is a massive issue in football. Players being paid exorbitant wages who simply don't care about playing for the team they're at, because either way they're picking up their wage packet. To do something as taxing as inter county GAA without being paid requires you actually want to be there, you can't do it without complete commitment.

Right, so you're acknowledging that GAA is at a minimum on a par with the training for two high level Olympic sports, good man LOL

Training 40 days in a row was a drastic tactic to response to a drastically malfunctioning team, and it worked. Dublin went on to win their first all Ireland in 16 years after it. The 40 days in a row obviously included recovery sessions, the point is that the squad were getting together every day, sometimes more than once a day, for 40 days in a row. That displays a level of commitment (amd ability to train) beyond what is found in most professionalised sports. Again, you tey to use the word "amateur" as an insult here, clearly misunderstanding the meaning of the word.

Like many Irish soccer fans, you can't acknowledge the brilliance of the GAA because for whatever reason you think that denigrates the brilliance of soccer, it doesn't, they're completely mutually exclusive. The small mindedness that exists in Irish sports is a sad thing.

Right, so you're acknowledging that GAA is at a minimum on a par with the training for two high level Olympic sports, good man LOL - I'm afraid not my good man. I was comparing to club rowers, not carded athletes. For those never involved in professional sport that means the ones who are funded by Sport Ireland, as in they are professional athletes for a fixed term - length of funding. GAA players are no where near these people.

I agree with a lot of what Baldrick said above. Its not possible for GAA players to be at the same level as professional athletes for all the reasons he outlined. If you can't understand this I ca't explain any further.
Also, the idea that inter county GAA players are somehow fitter and stronger  than other committed amateurs (athletics, AIL Rugby, Boxing, Rowing etc etc) is simply not true.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 10:59am

I don't hate the GAA and the GAA is an amateur sport, as in, it's not a professional sport, yet you confirm this in your own post.

Bizarre.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Apr 2024 at 11:01am
That TV show The Toughest showed up the athleticism of GAA players compared to other sports.
Aidan O'Shea went over to do the NFL fitness and athleticism trials and was badly shown up.

Jumping heights, sprinting, reaction times etc..

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 3132333435>