Gardening thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 7>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 10:07am

Been growing a big batch of Ghost peppers,Cayene peppers and Carolina Reapers,(love Indian and spicy food).

Side of the house is a bit muddy ,going to put some grass seed down on Monday as we are heading for a week of 20 degrees here,don't know much about lawns,any tips lads ? (apart from Baldy )
Lilly
Have you grown peppers before ?

Most of them love the sun and lots of water too , now if you are growing them outside make sure they are well covered as any kind of a frost will kill them all stone dead .
Yiksheemash View Drop Down

I don't have a penis.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Yiksheemash Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 10:12am

If my neighbour got a fake astro turf lawn I'd take a sh*te on it every night too

i've watched all the Harry Potter movies and i've never seen him sh*t in the neighbours garden 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 10:42am
Originally posted by irish_major irish_major wrote:

Some good garden furniture in Aldi today!
I didn’t even know they had a garden.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Salzburglilly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 12:19pm

Been growing a big batch of Ghost peppers,Cayene peppers and Carolina Reapers,(love Indian and spicy food).

Side of the house is a bit muddy ,going to put some grass seed down on Monday as we are heading for a week of 20 degrees here,don't know much about lawns,any tips lads ? (apart from Baldy )

Depends on what is on the patch. 

Clear it off of any weeds etc, spike it, get some top soil and spread a decent amount of seed 👍 if it's a very wet patch you could do a top soil/sand mix but make sure it's a fairly coarse sand

Cheers Marko, there is some grass already there , i have the seed and top soil,no sand unfortunately , hardware shops shut here ,so water once /twice  daily ?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Salzburglilly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 12:22pm

Lilly

Most of them love the sun and lots of water too , now if you are growing them outside make sure they are well covered as any kind of a frost will kill them all stone dead .

I tried and failed last year,better prepared this year,i've been growing them inside by the window since lockdown started 17 days ago,got a greenhouse from Lidl so i plan on moving them out there once it  gets warmer at night.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 2:05pm

Lilly

I tried and failed last year,better prepared this year,i've been growing them inside by the window since lockdown started 17 days ago,got a greenhouse from Lidl so i plan on moving them out there once it  gets warmer at night.
Super took me a couple of years before i got the hang of it then i blew out last year as not sure what happened .
The main thing is when they start to flower much later in the year , next is that they will need to be pollenated with our good friends the bees , so leave the door open during the day the bees will do the rest Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MayoMark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 2:35pm
You need to make sure the seed doesn't dry out so water accordingly but don't overdo it, depending on the weather ye are having. Good luck with it, post up results Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MayoMark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 2:36pm
Also if there is any dead grass or moss on the soil, rake it up first before putting down seed, the seed needs to have good contact with the soil! 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 2:42pm
Have a good grasp of the avocado tree growth process now.

Seeing as it's all about gardening, here are some of the stages

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 2:42pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 2:43pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 2:45pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 3:16pm
What are those above?

Planted some courgette and green bean seeds the other day. I've a feeling the magpies have eaten the seeds, so planted more today.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 3:30pm
Avocado tree Horse

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 3:33pm

Edited by horsebox - 02 Apr 2020 at 3:33pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 3:34pm
Well yeah. The pip (seed) then the plant at the forefront of each photo is the same pip/seed a few months on.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 3:48pm
Impressive. Going to give that a try and I eat a lot of avocados.
Are you just growing them in your kitchen?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Apr 2020 at 3:55pm
Yeah in the kitchen. It's a long enough process but it's a bitta craic. Take the seed from the avocado, with the pointy side up, stick 3 toothpicks into it as use them as a bridge to suspend the seed in a glass of water. Make sure the point is above water so it can dry out and crack. Eventually the whole thing will begin to crack and you should see a root begin to protrude after a while. 

Leave it in the water until its about 12 inches in height from the stem. Then plant it in a big pot. 

Ps, try a few seeds at a time as not all of them germinate.

Pps, unless we get unseasonable weather it's unlikely it will bear fruit and i think i read that the tree needs to be 7 years before it does. So i dont think you will be munching on your own avocados Horsey. Makes for a nice plant though LOL

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 7>