New rte documentary

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 12>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 8:41am

Any idea when Part 2 is?
Next Monday night I think it said.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 8:42am

Any idea when Part 2 is?

Wonder what happens next. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:05am

Any idea when Part 2 is?

The nation stopped holding its breath............

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daithi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:09am

Any idea when Part 2 is?

It will be cancelled because of the no gatherings rule LOL
tapfit2004 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tapfit2004 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:16am

Any idea when Part 2 is?

Bertie tried to start a 2nd peace process but that ended badly, we ended up with the genesis report and we all lived happily ever after. 
Let Christy Take It.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MC Hammered Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:24am

Great show, enjoyed watching the goals from the qualifiers for 1990 again as you don’t see them much. 

Did we ever concede a good goal in a tournament. 

Great days, they’ll never be repeated sadly 

I'm going to be pedantic and answer what was probably a rhetorical question. 

We didn't concede a decent one in 1988. 

We only conceded three in 1990 in total. Linekers was poxy. 
Gullits goal was good. Lovely one two on the edge of our area, burst of pace and neat finish. 
You could make an argument for the Italian goal being a decent flowing move but Packie's poor parry from Donadoni's shot categorizes it as a defensive error.  

Both Mexican goals in '94 were excellent finishes but the second one came from Irwin letting the ball bounce in the box so we'll rule that one out also. Hard to argue too much against the first one though. The less said the better about the Dutch goals in the last 16.

That's it for Charlton years in terms of goals against in major tournaments. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shedite Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:37am
Originally posted by Rodneytrotter Rodneytrotter wrote:

really good so far - Jesus , Kevin sheedy is twice the man now 
He's what I'd imagine Louis Walsh would have aged into without the botox

Was gas really  going to Ireland match’s in middle of day on a Wednesday 
What was the craic with games back then? I remember getting out of school and games being on, were they always Wednesday's at 3pm?
Were there a lot of half days being taken for games or did offices just close early for games?
Was it just one game per international break? Or were they just one offs sandwiched between weekends of domestic leagues?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:41am

What was the craic with games back then? I remember getting out of school and games being on, were they always Wednesday's at 3pm?
Were there a lot of half days being taken for games or did offices just close early for games?
Was it just one game per international break? Or were they just one offs sandwiched between weekends of domestic leagues?

Lansdowne didn't have floodlights  until 1993

baresi41 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote baresi41 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 9:45am

Any idea when Part 2 is?

It will be cancelled because of the no gatherings rule LOL
Mick Byrne's mush in every TV shot. Jaysus there's a man who loved attention. Poxy physio though, hot & cold was the treatment given for all injuries. If your leg was in bits, he'd be the last man I'd want attending me.

Anyone remember the Howard Johnson hotel in Orlando for the Dutch game in '94 ( I stand corrected if wrong). That's where we had to get the tickets for that game I'm sure.Well there was a certain person's father in charge of selling the tickets... the rest is historyWink 
FRANCO BARESI: Always supporting the green brigade

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gspain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 10:30am
Shocked

Games were on Wednesdays with league games the previous weekend.  We had no floodlights. People had to take leave to watch them.  away trips often required a Saturday night stay to get reasonable flights.

Tickets for home games were really scarce although Belgium selling out in April 87 was a huge shock to me and others.  Luckily for me I block booked immediately after that.  

The finals were amazing.  Fantastic atmosphere and walking on air the whole time.  Went a little sour after Orlando in 94.  The abject humiliation of losing to the Dutch.  ShockedShockedShocked

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 10:32am

Great show, enjoyed watching the goals from the qualifiers for 1990 again as you don’t see them much. 

Did we ever concede a good goal in a tournament. 

Great days, they’ll never be repeated sadly 

I'm going to be pedantic and answer what was probably a rhetorical question. 

We didn't concede a decent one in 1988. 

We only conceded three in 1990 in total. Linekers was poxy. 
Gullits goal was good. Lovely one two on the edge of our area, burst of pace and neat finish. 
You could make an argument for the Italian goal being a decent flowing move but Packie's poor parry from Donadoni's shot categorizes it as a defensive error.  

Both Mexican goals in '94 were excellent finishes but the second one came from Irwin letting the ball bounce in the box so we'll rule that one out also. Hard to argue too much against the first one though. The less said the better about the Dutch goals in the last 16.

That's it for Charlton years in terms of goals against in major tournaments. 

I was just really talking about those two championships sorry. Some poxy luck with richochets, deflections and balls taking all sorts of deviations leading to goals

Was Dunphy actually crying before the Egypt game because of how much it meant to him with the GAA men all tuning in?
Always found it funny that noise he makes when he throws the pen down after the game

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 10:36am

Shocked

Games were on Wednesdays with league games the previous weekend.  We had no floodlights. People had to take leave to watch them.  away trips often required a Saturday night stay to get reasonable flights.

Tickets for home games were really scarce although Belgium selling out in April 87 was a huge shock to me and others.  Luckily for me I block booked immediately after that.  

The finals were amazing.  Fantastic atmosphere and walking on air the whole time.  Went a little sour after Orlando in 94.  The abject humiliation of losing to the Dutch.  ShockedShockedShocked

What was the weather like against the Dutch? 

I remember the Mexico game being like being in an oven, something like 120F at pitch level.

Watched the Charlton years yesterday and a lot of people saying that he should have left after the World Cup.

We actually started decently in the 96 qualifiers too but then from June 95 onwards it just went downhill drawing with Liechtenstein and losing to Austria twice 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Devrozex Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 10:44am

We actually started decently in the 96 qualifiers too but then from June 95 onwards it just went downhill drawing with Liechtenstein and losing to Austria twice 

Yeah it all went sour very quickly really. It was very much an aging team by that point.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 11:18am
Ahhhhh Italia 90 , majic times and never to be forgotten .

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 11:43am

Yeah it all went sour very quickly really. It was very much an aging team by that point.

Aye really was, Think Aldridge was about 35 or 36 at the time of playoff.

Looking at the 94 squad we had 4 players (outfield players) under 25 
Roy Keane (22), Phil Babb (23) Gary Kelly (19) and Jason McAteer (22).

Was one the big things Mick had to deal with when he took over was the amount of players over 30

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 11:43am
Italia 90 got me hooked and USA 94 is the best tournament I’ve ever seen.
Great times. Ireland was really innocent back then.

forza trapp View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote forza trapp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 12:11pm
Great memories indeed, remember being grumpy that our game was hijacked by the likes of Pat Kenny and Gay Byrne, everyone where suddenly supporters.
Afternoon games on a sh*te pitch, magic ! They really where mad innocent times 😃

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Huntacha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2020 at 12:25pm
Mick Byrne's "We'll do them for yiz today", a timeless line Clap

I can only imagine what it was like to be in Stuttgart that day.

Also, it never fails to amaze me how bad Cascarino's peno was LOL

That's an interesting stat about the age of our player at USA '94, no wonder the collapse in the following qualifying campaign was so dramatic.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 12>