Coronavirus - Remain Calm. Do Not Panic

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 226227228229230 839>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 8:19pm

No deaths reported Clap
No sign of The Grim Treaper then. Doomed i teii ya, doomed. Seriously though Leo photo in the phoeno with his Joe cuddys, zero new deaths, a lot of Europe opening up and yet the safetyists still calling the shots. Now it's time for the govt to get off the pot. 

Some people are beyond thick if you think that no deaths today is the result of the disease just fizzling out due to nature.  To get to this point the human race has had to ammend its behaviour in a unprecedented large scale manner.  International travel has all but ceased, shops closed for 2 months, schools and exams cancelled, socialisation coming to a stop, thousands dying before their time but yeah it was all a media overreaction.   If people hadn't done what they done for what 12 weeks or so now do you think things would have worked out ok?

Another reason to stop posting in this thread.  Dealing with absolute Dime Bars.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 8:38pm

No deaths reported Clap
No sign of The Grim Treaper then. Doomed i teii ya, doomed. Seriously though Leo photo in the phoeno with his Joe cuddys, zero new deaths, a lot of Europe opening up and yet the safetyists still calling the shots. Now it's time for the govt to get off the pot. 

Some people are beyond thick if you think that no deaths today is the result of the disease just fizzling out due to nature.  To get to this point the human race has had to ammend its behaviour in a unprecedented large scale manner.  International travel has all but ceased, shops closed for 2 months, schools and exams cancelled, socialisation coming to a stop, thousands dying before their time but yeah it was all a media overreaction.   If people hadn't done what they done for what 12 weeks or so now do you think things would have worked out ok?

Another reason to stop posting in this thread.  Dealing with absolute Dime Bars.

Sorry kid, nothing I said disagrees with your assessment for today's zero number. Nothing. Do you not understand that after 12 weeks of self disciplined some of us would like to see some sort of dividend for following orders especially when we see most other countries making statements about opening up lockdowns.
Everything here is No because this "could" or "might" happen. This really comes down to how you see things.

Edited by Cabra Hoop - 25 May 2020 at 8:42pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 8:41pm
Monday numbers are always lowest

It’s a good sign all the same

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 8:51pm

No deaths reported Clap

Sorry kid, nothing I said disagrees with your assessment for today's zero number. Nothing. Do you not understand that after 12 weeks of self disciplined some of us would like to see some sort of dividend for following orders especially when we see most other countries making statements about opening up lockdowns.
Everything here is No because this "could" or "might" happen. This really comes down to his you see things.

It's irrelevant whether you feel you deserve a reward for 12 weeks of a lockdown.  Lockdowns should be lifted when its safe to do so and not just because some other countries are doing it or because you now feel tired from it.

What do you mean could or might happen?  If we went back to usual tomorrow its a guarantee the virus will spread wildly again and then another extended lockdown will be put in place.  If people think this is over just because there were no reported deaths today you are sadly mistaken.  Its declining in prevalence due to hard work on everyone's part.  We could be back to square 1 in weeks if people stop caring.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 9:02pm

No deaths reported Clap

Everything here is No because this "could" or "might" happen. This really comes down to his you see things.

It's irrelevant whether you feel you deserve a reward for 12 weeks of a lockdown.  Lockdowns should be lifted when its safe to do so and not just because some other countries are doing it or because you now feel tired from it.

What do you mean could or might happen?  If we went back to usual tomorrow its a guarantee the virus will spread wildly again and then another extended lockdown will be put in place.  If people think this is over just because there were no reported deaths today you are sadly mistaken.  Its declining in prevalence due to hard work on everyone's part.  We could be back to square 1 in weeks if people stop caring.
You've reinforced my point -  people see the pace at which lockdown eases differently. Some are a bit more eager to a faster easing others, some of whom might too carefree in their attitude. Others are too cautious perhaps even slightly paranoid. My opinion is that id like to see lockdown eased a little quicker but not a free for all. I think the decision makers are too cautious and not proactive.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 9:12pm
You only have to look at the UK and America at Governments who didn't take the threat of this seriously. 
Better to be over cautious than under cautious.  If international travel resumes to normal things will be disastrous come next winter. Could you imagine thousands of yanks coming in with the virus or Paddies coming home from Spain and Ibiza with it.  

Edited by Trap junior - 25 May 2020 at 9:15pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote coyne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 9:24pm
Could be an absolute coincidence but the madman Trump made a theory that the virus would ease off when the warmer weather comes.

It sounds outrageous but the timings now that Europe is going out of lockdown does reinforce his theory.

I’m not defending him, just thinking outside the box

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Het-field Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 9:33pm
I wouldn’t say it’s a specifically Trump theory, but it has certainly been ventured by people in line with people generally being healthier from ailments similar to that during the summer months, and flu season coinciding with the winter months. I’ve often heard it mentioned as helpful in combatting the virus in New Zealand.

I’m not sure if it makes an difference.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 9:57pm

You only have to look at the UK and America at Governments who didn't take the threat of this seriously. 
Better to be over cautious than under cautious.  If international travel resumes to normal things will be disastrous come next winter. Could you imagine thousands of yanks coming in with the virus or Paddies coming home from Spain and Ibiza with it.  

Don't think it's beneficial to compare ourselves to any other country be it the US or New Zealand. Mentioning that other countries are being more proactive to easing the lockdown is a different matter. Through the discipline of the people here we have successfully managed to flatten the curve which I thought was the objective in order to keep the hospitals from being overrun. We will never be able to eradicate C19 so we must live to live with it. Being extra cautious in easing of the lockdown delays us from learning to live with it. You might suggest that we've flattened the curve for now which is true but any whataboutery is purely speculative and overly cautious in my opinion. We seem to be hamstrung by inertia and cannot make a decision for ourselves without having someone to blame if it goes wrong.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote coyne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 10:11pm

I wouldn’t say it’s a specifically Trump theory, but it has certainly been ventured by people in line with people generally being healthier from ailments similar to that during the summer months, and flu season coinciding with the winter months. I’ve often heard it mentioned as helpful in combatting the virus in New Zealand.

I’m not sure if it makes an difference.

I googled ‘Can heat kill Coronavirus’ and the top link was from the WHO website where they found SARS could be killed at 52 degrees.

Even the mad bastard in Belarus may of had a point about saunas are the cure. I’m unsure what to make of it tbh.

Again, it sounds outrageous but there does appear to be evidence which is the scary part LOL

TJ is probably having a stroke reading this
Dalymount79 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dalymount79 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 10:15pm

Could be an absolute coincidence but the madman Trump made a theory that the virus would ease off when the warmer weather comes.

It sounds outrageous but the timings now that Europe is going out of lockdown does reinforce his theory.

European counties are very slowly exiting Lockdown due to the actions of the citizens and subsequent flattening the curve.

A theory being discussed at the moment which I heard on radio here this morning was that there are a higher number of superspreaders of the virus than ordinary spreaders when compared to the annual flu.

So a super spreader at a super spreader event (gyms, gigs, etc.) can trigger a cluster. choir practice was called out as clusters can traced back to them. Meat factories is a super spreader event as it’s noisy - workers shout when speaking to each other passing the aerosols.
So this fits into the recent events here to a degree with the meat factories. Some super spreaders working at nursing homes.

So a variable in the Lockdown successfully flattening the curve worked as practically no super spreader events except where necessary.

That’s puts coppers business model at risk for a while and will I ever get a pint in the Dawson lounge :( again.

Edit: heat may well be a variable or maybe just more time outdoors. It’s not helping the folk in the Amazon though.

Edited by Dalymount79 - 25 May 2020 at 10:17pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 10:18pm

Don't think it's beneficial to compare ourselves to any other country be it the US or New Zealand. Mentioning that other countries are being more proactive to easing the lockdown is a different matter. Through the discipline of the people here we have successfully managed to flatten the curve which I thought was the objective in order to keep the hospitals from being overrun. We will never be able to eradicate C19 so we must live to live with it. Being extra cautious in easing of the lockdown delays us from learning to live with it. You might suggest that we've flattened the curve for now which is true but any whataboutery is purely speculative and overly cautious in my opinion. We seem to be hamstrung by inertia and cannot make a decision for ourselves without having someone to blame if it goes wrong.

I agree that Varadkar is not proactive but reactive and imo didn't have the balls to impart a lockdown and introduce legislation in time and had to wait until other countries started to do it before he acted and yet the media thought he had great leadership. For example the nursing home debacle, the open border policy, the legislation that was only passed last week about ordering 14 day quarantine on incoming people into the country. A complete joke. Overall I'd give him a C-. 

As far as ''living with the virus'' goes.  Yes we do have to 'live with it' but the impression I get from people is that their interpretation of this phrase is that we go back to normality, open the pubs and book foreign holidays and let a certain percentage of people get sick and another percentage die from it.   That's not what living with the virus means.  It's not going back to things the way they were but opening up business and services to get the economy going but maintaining a new normality in which crowds are avoided in order to keep the virus at a manageable level.  It means going to work with strict hygiene rules, or working from home, opening shops but again with strict regulations and going about life with limited social interactions. 

Any widespread complacency that we are over this and we will be back in the sh*te very quickly.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote coyne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 10:27pm
Originally posted by Dalymount79 Dalymount79 wrote:

European counties are very slowly exiting Lockdown due to the actions of the citizens and subsequent flattening the curve.

So a super spreader at a super spreader event (gyms, gigs, etc.) can trigger a cluster. choir practice was called out as clusters can traced back to them. 

This is fair. And I understand why nightclubs and gyms are absolute rock bottom of the list of places to open, but if Governments were so worried about superspreaders then why did they allow Security Guards such as myself to continue to work.

It was even found my profession was the most likely to catch it - https://news.sky.com/story/coronavirus-male-security-guards-chefs-and-taxi-drivers-among-those-most-likely-to-die-with-covid-19-says-ons-11986382

If they were that bothered about it then surely it would of been forbidden.

Being a gym-goer, nightclubber and Security Guard I must of been the ultimate asymptomatic superspreader but I wasn't shielded, I was given a letter from the Government to the tell Police to craic on if they tried to stop me in uniform. I'm not even joking.

Edited by coyne - 25 May 2020 at 10:28pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 10:44pm

I agree that Varadkar is not proactive but reactive and imo didn't have the balls to impart a lockdown and introduce legislation in time and had to wait until other countries started to do it before he acted and yet the media thought he had great leadership. For example the nursing home debacle, the open border policy, the legislation that was only passed last week about ordering 14 day quarantine on incoming people into the country. A complete joke. Overall I'd give him a C-. 

As far as ''living with the virus'' goes.  Yes we do have to 'live with it' but the impression I get from people is that their interpretation of this phrase is that we go back to normality, open the pubs and book foreign holidays and let a certain percentage of people get sick and another percentage die from it.   That's not what living with the virus means.  It's not going back to things the way they were but opening up business and services to get the economy going but maintaining a new normality in which crowds are avoided in order to keep the virus at a manageable level.  It means going to work with strict hygiene rules, or working from home, opening shops but again with strict regulations and going about life with limited social interactions. 

Any widespread complacency that we are over this and we will be back in the sh*te very quickly.

I don't get the same impression of people's perception of "living with it" as yourself. Any one I now takes it to mean good hygiene, social distancing is the norm and accepting queuing being mandatory. Can't believe you think people actually believe "living with it" means people will die if we want a sense of the new norm. Think the word "living" is a hint...Smile

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 11:04pm

I don't get the same impression of people's perception of "living with it" as yourself. Any one I now takes it to mean good hygiene, social distancing is the norm and accepting queuing being mandatory. Can't believe you think people actually believe "living with it" means people will die if we want a sense of the new norm. Think the word "living" is a hint...Smile

But what do you expect will happen if we open things up?  It's only natural there will be more transmission and more death as more people interact.

What I have learned from this is that at least a sizeable portion of the population couldn't give a sh*te who dies as long as they have their creature comforts.  As long as they aren't directly affected they couldn't give a sh*t.  When they are directly affected they start giving out and it's someone else's fault.  I've seen people coughing loudly into the air not making any attempt to cover it yards from myself.  I've seen people spitting on the ground.  Clowns. 

I've also learned that a lot of people are not the brightest.  Not that I think I am particularly bright but when you see people wearing gloves in the supermarket and scratching their face and answering their phones with the gloves and they think that's being hygienicConfused 
A lad I know went to a Supermac's drive thru (no chance I'd go) and they were only accepting card payments apparently.  A car full of travellers ahead of him insisted on paying cash the assistant under pressure took the cash off them with his gloved hands before the manager made him give it back and ended up giving them the meal for free because they were kicking up a huge fuss.  The assistant continues to handle bags of food for countless people after with the same gloves.  Didn't occur to him to change them.

As for people getting ice cream from ice cream vansConfused 

Edit:  Actually just saw on the BBC news at Whitley Bay they interviewed an ice cream parlour owner who was serving people.  The footage showed him holding the cone in his left hand and putting flakes into it with his ungloved right hand and then handing it directly to customers.  He's probably handling cash too. Facepalm!  If he is an asymptomatic carrier he could infect hundreds in a few hours.

Edited by Trap junior - 25 May 2020 at 11:18pm

tetsujin1979 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tetsujin1979 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 11:14pm
All goals, red & yellow cards posted on mastodon and facebook

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2020 at 11:20pm
Originally posted by tetsujin1979 tetsujin1979 wrote:

100% LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 May 2020 at 1:13am

One word: Brazil. 
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 226227228229230 839>