Irish Politics Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 199>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2020 at 8:14pm
Ffs no wonder you didnt get it. . My post was a direct reply to his. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Het-field Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2020 at 8:18pm

Ffs no wonder you didnt get it. . My post was a direct reply to his. 

I got what I got from what I read. Simple as that.
ErsatzThistle View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ErsatzThistle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2020 at 10:41pm

we get what we deserve. It will be the same old rhetoric from so many people... my dad voted Fine Gael and so did his dad before him, so ill vote FG... or this is a FF family so I'm voting FF... Then as you allude to, same people will moan but wont bother their arse voting as their vote wont make a difference. 
At this stage id take a coalition of anyone except FF/FG/Lab just to see what happens. Be nice to get screwed over by someone new

Until recently, we had that problem in Scotland for decades with people blindly voting Labour - "I dunno anything about politics mate but I'll probably just vote fir Labour cos ma Maw and Da always vote for them and so did ma Granny and Granda ..." which consequently resulted in meatheads like Ian Davidson, Brian Donohoe, Anas Sarwar and John Robertson among many others getting elected. It was feckin depressing. 

I hope you lads don't mind but as an outsider I have a few questions about the upcoming election which interest me. 

What parties tend to appeal most to voters who may be say for example - a small business owner, a teacher, a farmer or a nurse ?

Are there any Eurosceptics in FF or FG or the other parties ? I realise of course that the "Irexit" movement in Ireland is very weak.

Are the Healy-Rae's likely to be re-elected ? (I saw that video of them having a screaming contest with MacSharry in the Dáil LOL)

I wish you all well for your election Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2020 at 10:51pm
first question  fianna fail mainly for the small business and public servants 

No.euro sceptics as far as I know. Fine gael are very pro eu.  Sinn fein would be eu critical. 

Healy raes will be re elected and could probably get a 3rd seat.  

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Het-field Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2020 at 10:57pm

first question  fianna fail mainly for the small business and public servants 

No.euro sceptics as far as I know. Fine gael are very pro eu.  Sinn fein would be eu critical. 

Healy raes will be re elected and could probably get a 3rd seat.  

SF have tried to portray a reformed side for the EU. That’s based on Brexit, so total Johnny Come Lately to any sort of pro-eu rhetoric.

They’ve opposed everything that involved Irish integration within the EU. I’d be interested to know what the Shinner approach would have been had it been a “Lexit” led approach. The vast majority of the Irish left, apart from Labour would be Eurosceptic.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2020 at 11:07pm
Have Labour moved back to the left? That’s great, first time in thirty odd years. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2020 at 11:12pm

And then, after FF have been found out to be corrupt, self-serving bastards it will be FG’s turn again...
depressing isnt it. 

Very.

Saw Emmet Kirwan on Twitter saying that the number of people who didn't vote in the last election was greater than the number who voted for FG. Now that is depressing.
we get what we deserve. It will be the same old rhetoric from so many people... my dad voted Fine Gael and so did his dad before him, so ill vote FG... or this is a FF family so I'm voting FF... Then as you allude to, same people will moan but wont bother their arse voting as their vote wont make a difference. 

At this stage id take a coalition of anyone except FF/FG/Lab just to see what happens. Be nice to get screwed over by someone new

Up until recently ff and fg got 80 % of the vote. They now get about 50%.   That's a huge reduction. 

A coalition of anyone but ff and fg and lab is extremely unlikely as those.3 parties will get about 60%
Ah Baldy I know its pie in the sky wishful thinking at least for another generation but a man is allowed dream...ultimately when people put a number in the box, too many do so based on the ‘brand’ and the picture and who their oul lad voted for. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2020 at 11:15pm
Originally posted by ErsatzThistle ErsatzThistle wrote:

I hope you lads don't mind but as an outsider I have a few questions about the upcoming election which interest me. 

What parties tend to appeal most to voters who may be say for example - a small business owner, a teacher, a farmer or a nurse ?

Are there any Eurosceptics in FF or FG or the other parties ? I realise of course that the "Irexit" movement in Ireland is very weak.

Are the Healy-Rae's likely to be re-elected ? (I saw that video of them having a screaming contest with MacSharry in the Dáil LOL)

I wish you all well for your election Thumbs Up

FF always pushed itself as the party of small businesspeople (usually men). After multiple electoral successes from the mid/late 90's to middle of the 2000's, they forgot about those lads and went after the big businesspeople, who of course, have fcuk all affiliation to anything or anyone bar their bank balances when it comes down to it. They got on famously for a long time, and ordinary Joes didn't really mind as FF were cute enough to give a bit back to them too. This was more by accident than design. Then they managed to ruin the entire country for decades when it all went belly up. 

Teachers, feck knows what they think about anything, but they'll be definite about it, even in the face of overwhelming conflicting evidence. Very dogmatic individuals. It's probably an even enough split to be honest.

FG was traditionally the party of farmers, especially the bigger ones. Actually, that's after reminding me of something, Apres Match did a whole show on Election 1982, with real footage interspersed with their dubbing of political figures of the day, and political commentators now. There's one excellent line in it (inserted by Barry Murphy & Risteard Cooper as spoof political commentators) explaining the difference between FG & FF. 

''FF were fellas from the farm who put on suits and went into the city looking for votes, FG were lads from the city who went out into the country wearing suits looking for votes'' There's more than a grain of truth in it. Worth a watch aside from any election. https://youtu.be/ZuH_rZFGFXo

That aside, near enough any farmer who isn't FG is FF, it is more or less that simple. 

Eurosceptics in main parties yes, I'd imagine there are, but they tend to keep the head down generally. If something or other happened that they thought euroscepticsm was something they could exploit to their advantage, they'd do it tomorrow. Generally, Irish politicians don't really believe in anything much though, the main parties are all essentially centre-ish, and they'll move a little right or left depending on the prevailing mood of the electorate without any great difficulty and how the all important numbers stack up in the Dáil. 

Not too many far right candidates thankfully, I used to think until quite recently that a far right party would never achieve any great success here due to us being ruled by possibly the largest far right party in the world for decades, up until quite recently (albeit not necessarily from the Dáil) , but with the sheer amount of binary positions on fcukin everything been taken on social meeja, and the recent experiences of our neighbours, the Tans, ya couldn't rule it out completely in the future.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2020 at 11:21pm
Ah come on Deise! Even I wouldn’t call the GAA the largest far-right party in Europe, although they must be up there on membership.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2020 at 11:25pm
The real Holy Trinity PM, the Church/FF/GAA (basically one and the same thing for about 70 years)

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2020 at 11:28pm

The real Holy Trinity PM, the Church/FF/GAA (basically one and the same thing for about 70 years)

Well aware of it! The worst thing the Brits ever did was push the church underground, we will be ripping the roots out for generations while the other two keep planting them. Gombeen ****s.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jan 2020 at 7:53am

Have Labour moved back to the left? That’s great, first time in thirty odd years. 

No they are still centre left in the classic European social democratic mode.  

It's a crowded field with greens and the Social Democrats there and parts of FF wanting to be in that space and Sinn Fein. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jan 2020 at 8:20am
They haven’t been there for a long time. They are what I would describe as Liberal. They disowned their traditions a long, long time ago. Just because many other European ‘socialist’ parties have taken the same shift, with disastrous results, doesn’t change that.

And no parts of FF have ever been within a country mile of it! The broadchurch nationalism if SF is a mixture of all from left to right and there isn’t much I could agree with the SDs on. The Overton window has shifted so far right that it confuses people as to what the centre-left actually is. When you have people throwing out ‘Trots’ as an insult in 2020 you know there is a problem.

Edited by pre Madonna - 15 Jan 2020 at 8:27am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jan 2020 at 8:24am
I wouldnt and didn’t describe them as socialist.  

I would say centre left in the classic social democratic model. They are in opposition so probably a little more left than they were in gov but that’s really nuance. 

There isn’t really a socialist party in Ireland that wants to go into government  

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jan 2020 at 8:34am

I wouldnt and didn’t describe them as socialist.  

I would say centre left in the classic social democratic model. They are in opposition so probably a little more left than they were in gov but that’s really nuance. 

There isn’t really a socialist party in Ireland that wants to go into government  

The classic social democratic model is socialism. The classic parties have, mostly, moved away from it in Europe.

Edited by pre Madonna - 15 Jan 2020 at 8:39am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jan 2020 at 8:42am
I don’t agree.  It’s the intervention of the state to promote both economic and social policies within the classic capitalist system. I believe socialism is far more state orientated especially with regards to the means of production.  

We can agree that’s Labour are not socialists and are a centre left party and not a left wing party. I don’t believe SF are either.   The centre left is a crowded field and it comes down culture and trust rather than policy really.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jan 2020 at 8:49am
I think you are confusing communism with socialism. I also think the centre-left is completely bare.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Deane Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jan 2020 at 8:50am
Where does one register to vote? Online I only see a form for 2018/2019
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 199>