Micks first eleven.

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 2425262728 59>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2019 at 7:48pm
Originally posted by Mr. Snrub Mr. Snrub wrote:

I often have to stop and think when I hear this notion that Wes gave the ball away. The only match I can recall of him so loose in possession was Austria away in 2016. The team should have been built around him for a decade. Underrated
It wasn't so much the regularity with which he gave it away, but the areas and times he gave it away. He was a disaster for trying unnecessarily risky passes at the wrong times and places. He certainly had ability, nobody is disputing that, but he must be the most overrated player to play for Ireland,with the possible exception of Duff who was average for huge chunks of his Irish career. The difference with Wes was the less he played the better he got.

In that one match! He was excellent the previous campaign, especially at home to Ze Germans. He should be on the €20 note
In lots of matches!He had some good performances for us, but he also had plenty of flaws in his game. He had the aforementioned problem with unnecessary risk-taking,on-top of that he always seemed to struggle to play a full 90 minutes and he had a tendency to hold on to the ball too long looking for a 'key' pass. He was possibly unfortunate that some of these problems could have been corrected if he had been picked up by a 'big' club when younger, but that was the way he was.

I agree about putting him on a note though, he is the ideal size.

10 Box View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 10 Box Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2019 at 7:50pm

I often have to stop and think when I hear this notion that Wes gave the ball away. The only match I can recall of him so loose in possession was Austria away in 2016. The team should have been built around him for a decade. Underrated
It wasn't so much the regularity with which he gave it away, but the areas and times he gave it away. He was a disaster for trying unnecessarily risky passes at the wrong times and places. He certainly had ability, nobody is disputing that, but he must be the most overrated player to play for Ireland,with the possible exception of Duff who was average for huge chunks of his Irish career. The difference with Wes was the less he played the better he got.

In that one match! He was excellent the previous campaign, especially at home to Ze Germans. He should be on the €20 note

Never seen a midfielder that didn’t lose the ball
NewtNewbie View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NewtNewbie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2019 at 8:13pm

As if the Germans would allow some little Irish pixie-head nonentity on their currency.
korourke View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote korourke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2019 at 1:08pm

I would say the nucleus is really starting to form on the hottest players. We are 12 days away.
NewtNewbie View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NewtNewbie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2019 at 7:42pm
Latest in the FAI's 'Scouting Report' series. Mick seems quite taken with Judge, talking him up again. Praise for Ronan Curtis, too.

Edited by NewtNewbie - 11 Mar 2019 at 7:43pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Mar 2019 at 7:59pm
Originally posted by NewtNewbie NewtNewbie wrote:

Latest in the FAI's 'Scouting Report' series. Mick seems quite taken with Judge, talking him up again. Praise for Ronan Curtis, too.

He can take a set-piece, something we are badly lacking. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2019 at 12:54am
If Mick sneaks us through this campaign, it isn't too much short of a miracle. We are in for a class of dip/trough/fallow period in the next few years, he might be able to hold that off, but I think it's coming one way or another. 

Was looking at some Sky yoke there last week, they named 13 full England internationals still eligible for U21, most are club regulars (Alli, TAA, Sessegnon) or have at least started to make regular appearances at club level (Gray, Foden, Walker-Peters etc). Meanwhile, Loew gets rid of 3 WC winners who are 29/30. I'm not intending to compare us with England or Germany, that's futile, but our answer to boosting the squad involves bringing back Whelan, McGoldrick & McGeady, and introducing lads heading for 30 like Collins & Amond (again, realise they might not make final cut)

We have a big age gap there between the current core crew (Randolph, Westwood, Duffy, Coleman, Doherty, McClean, Brady, McCarthy, Hendrick, Clark, K. Long, S.Long, Hourihane etc)who are mainly 27-31 and the next generation of the likes of Idah, Parrott, Obafemi, who aren't out of their teens yet and not yet established. In the middle, we have O'Dowda (23) , Alan Browne (23), Maguire (24)- but there really isn't enough lads of the ages 20-25 playing at any kind of decent level for us to remain competitive for much more than 2-3 years. 

Things can change, some of those lads will soldier on well in to their 30's, and a few new faces will appear, but the pool is getting shallower all the time. Mick might be able to stave off the dip for a while & leave it as Kenny's problem, but I think the problem is coming for us one way or another in the next few years. 

Agree with PM on the set pieces, said it many times, we haven't had anyone decent at them since Liam Lawrence left  a few managers ago. Must be nearly 8 years now, while we wait for Brady to take an odd good one, when he isn't injured or suspended. I get the feeling the oul set pieces could be quite important for us this year !

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Green Devil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2019 at 1:32am

If Mick sneaks us through this campaign, it isn't too much short of a miracle. We are in for a class of dip/trough/fallow period in the next few years, he might be able to hold that off, but I think it's coming one way or another. 

Was looking at some Sky yoke there last week, they named 13 full England internationals still eligible for U21, most are club regulars (Alli, TAA, Sessegnon) or have at least started to make regular appearances at club level (Gray, Foden, Walker-Peters etc). Meanwhile, Loew gets rid of 3 WC winners who are 29/30. I'm not intending to compare us with England or Germany, that's futile, but our answer to boosting the squad involves bringing back Whelan, McGoldrick & McGeady, and introducing lads heading for 30 like Collins & Amond (again, realise they might not make final cut)

We have a big age gap there between the current core crew (Randolph, Westwood, Duffy, Coleman, Doherty, McClean, Brady, McCarthy, Hendrick, Clark, K. Long, S.Long, Hourihane etc)who are mainly 27-31 and the next generation of the likes of Idah, Parrott, Obafemi, who aren't out of their teens yet and not yet established. In the middle, we have O'Dowda (23) , Alan Browne (23), Maguire (24)- but there really isn't enough lads of the ages 20-25 playing at any kind of decent level for us to remain competitive for much more than 2-3 years. 

Things can change, some of those lads will soldier on well in to their 30's, and a few new faces will appear, but the pool is getting shallower all the time. Mick might be able to stave off the dip for a while & leave it as Kenny's problem, but I think the problem is coming for us one way or another in the next few years. 

Agree with PM on the set pieces, said it many times, we haven't had anyone decent at them since Liam Lawrence left  a few managers ago. Must be nearly 8 years now, while we wait for Brady to take an odd good one, when he isn't injured or suspended. I get the feeling the oul set pieces could be quite important for us this year !

I suppose that is where "the granny rule" will probably need to be used to it's absolute maximum and genuine efforts are made to unearth more players like Callum Robinson and snare the likes of Patrick Bamford.

At the same time do we go out and give players like Grant Hall (QPR) and Brandon O'Neill (Syndey FC) a chance in a friendly, just to increase our playing pool or are we happy enough with our lot by having perennial squad members like Alex Pearce, McShane etc in an around the squad as back up. 

Again, I'm not saying Hall would look like Nesta in his prime compared to Pearce but if we have a raft of injuries or were playing a few end of seasons friendlies would we better off having the extra bodies (from dual national players getting capped) or do we go without. 

We're very lucky that Irish players have this unwavering commitment to stay playing international football for as long as possible. A quick glance over to Scotland, it seems to be the opposite as you would regularly see players retiring at 29,30,31. 
Gerry Geary View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gerry Geary Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2019 at 2:35am
Dudes we've got some players to try them on. I think Tommy MacNamara is a player with clever passing range. sandy Walsh playing in Europe. 

macmanaman and Mahoney as well
Sullivinho View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sullivinho Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2019 at 3:04am

A genuine set piece specialist picking out Shane Duffy on corners and free kicks would be some weapon. Atm, we'd be as well drawing straws as letting Brady take them.

Does anyone know if Crowley takes set pieces for Willem II?

Edited by Sullivinho - 12 Mar 2019 at 3:04am
amccarten313 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amccarten313 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2019 at 2:51pm
hourihane seems to be a good set piece taker for villa this year..
daveyc View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daveyc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2019 at 2:58pm
Originally posted by amccarten313 amccarten313 wrote:

Always a good set piece taker just doubt he start too many games for us - more likely to be a last 15/20min sub especially when we need a goal.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Green Devil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2019 at 3:10pm
Originally posted by daveyc daveyc wrote:

Always a good set piece taker just doubt he start too many games for us - more likely to be a last 15/20min sub especially when we need a goal.

Hourihane would be fine in a 3 man midfield imo.

Perhaps with McCarthy/Arter behind him.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2019 at 4:00pm

Originally posted by daveyc daveyc wrote:

Hourihane would be fine in a 3 man midfield imo.

Perhaps with McCarthy/Arter behind him.
Who does this McCarthy lad  play for?
Icy Bread People View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Icy Bread People Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2019 at 4:51pm

We are in for a class of dip/trough/fallow period in the next few years, he might be able to hold that off, but I think it's coming one way or another. 

I feel like we've had 17 years of a fallow period already

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Banjaxed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Mar 2019 at 10:50pm
Callum O'Dowda seems to have gone off the boil again. His inconsistency is his undoing. literally it could be another 2 months before you hear him doing anything good again. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrendanD88 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2019 at 7:37am

Callum O'Dowda seems to have gone off the boil again. His inconsistency is his undoing. literally it could be another 2 months before you hear him doing anything good again. 

Based on what exactly?

He has played a lot of matches this year and I'm pretty sure City thought it would be a decent time to rest him in  a home game against Ipswich. Brought on straight after the Ipswich equaliser too.
grannyrule View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote grannyrule Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Mar 2019 at 8:17pm
Alan Browne gone off after 20 mins tonight v Middlesbrough
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 2425262728 59>