It's the Stephen Kenny Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 420421422423424 735>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 12:42am

Originally posted by Eoink21 Eoink21 wrote:

Not only has Kenny got us playing an attractive style of football, but he has been excellent in his selection / recruitment of certain players.

For instance, on paper Ogbene and McGrath shouldn't be in our squad, never mind starting. Kenny clearly did his homework on both and has found a way to integrate these guys into a system that works. This is what the likes of Iceland, Northern Ireland etc. have been doing for years.

You can't 'sign' new players in International football but you can cast the net out wider and take a sensible punt - MON and McCarthy never found new players from lower divisions, the likes of O'Dowda and Curtis who have more impressive records at club level than the above two players but have been quite poor when given the chance by MON / Mick.

Kenny clearly knows what type of player he needs to improve the team and has rarely got it wrong in this regard. Yes Daryl Horgan's selection can be frustrating, and yes Adam Idah has been poor over the past few games but the point still stands - Kenny's recruitment / capping of players has been excellent so far.

Mick/MON would still be picking West Hams 3rd choice keeper over Bazunu.

Great point re McGrath and Ogbene. Ogbene wouldn't have given a compelling reason to be picked through club form. He absolutely pestered PSG's Danilo against Portugal and was very impactful tonight. He could have had an assist or two in the first half if his crossing were better so there are areas for significant improvement but he's a fitting into the system better than most could have expected and in a positive manner.

Hes reminds me of James McClean when he first burst onto the scene at Sunderland and there was clamour to get him into the Irish team under Trap.

Both have a limited skill set but have/had that pace to burn and big physicality to their game, tormenting and out muscling defenders at ease for 90 minutes. Big work man attitude too always looking to put in a shift. 

Did he "burst onto the scene"?  Very few lads from Derry burst onto the scene.

Edited by Trap junior - 15 Nov 2021 at 12:43am

TooOldForThis View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooOldForThis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 8:46am
We finished 3rd in the group, achieved our seeding. On that basis alone, SK should be offered an extension to his contract. We are, 9 points off the pace for second spot? Let's hope that was a fluke
and next time out we will be in a position to at least challenge for 2nd spot.

I didn't want SK to be manager, I saw nothing in his CV that warranted that. Up until the last 4 matches
we were abysmal. Up until the last 20 minutes we were no great shakes last night either. But if we can
carry over the form in our last few matches into the NL that would be great. It's a pity there is gap until the start of the NL.
TooOldForThis View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooOldForThis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 8:50am
Originally posted by Mr Brick Mr Brick wrote:

Right as you know i never wanted Kenny as the manager as i see this contected to JD and the past which i never want to see the like again .

What has that got to do with Stephen Kenny? "connected to the past" embarassing rationale for not wanting a man in charge. It's not like he was a JD stooge. This is a man that only became associated with the FAI in late 2018. It's not like he has a long standing association with JD and that regime. 

I am not anti Dublin or LOI i just think he " was " not the man for the job .

Who would you have been happy with? You're in a privileged position now as you can change any names you may have had in yer head back in April 2020. 

World Cup started off very bad and got better towards the end .

Correct and lets hope for more this evening. 

What ever happens tonight i do not think the board need to act right away . i think Kenny should still be the manager until July as they don't need to sack him we will play like for like sides in NL games and we have to get results .
Come July the board can sit down and see where we are only then they can decide to stick or twist .

You're contradicting yourself here. You didnt want him, you dont believe he is the man for the job, yet you think he should maintain his position? Surely that goes against your common sense? If a man isnt fit for the job then why would you perservere? 

Honestly, it's hard to respect the drivel posted by you Murph. You set out your stall early doors and can't seem to swallow your pride and acknowledge that the management team, given the circumstances, have performed well.

It's also convenient how you almost mirror Liam Brady and his views on contracts etc. convenient material for your assertions. 

Not going to reply to any of your trash talk after this post .Thumbs Down

Nah Murph. You just can’t offer any more insight because your argument is utter scutter. 

Two wins (against minnows) in 15 competitive games - how could Murph have got it so wrong?  
Murph you seem to be very triggering for some SK fanatics on here. But I notice you never respond in kind to their juvenile name calling! Fair play!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 9:13am
Groups are based on points and you need the points on the board to qualify but if you look at our head to heads based on an aggregate score over the two games then it looks like this:
Serbia - Lost 4-3
Portugal - Lost 2-1
Luxembourg - Bettered 3-1
Azerbaijan - Better 4-1

The campaign was a disappointment that we didn't qualify and especially we didn't hit the ground running and recover from Serbia game to beat Lux at home like we really should have but given the complete change in style and personnel, the fact that we are really only a goal off Serbia and Portugal while being better than the other two, it's perfectly acceptable for me and I don't even call this campaign a write off. We have learned so much and think we are in a good state ahead of next year. 

Edited by t_rAndy - 15 Nov 2021 at 9:15am
Given's zimmerframe View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Given's zimmerframe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 9:16am
you could argue that we were unlucky not to take 6 points from Portugal 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 9:17am
There was a passage of play last night where we passed it around for a few minutes in the opposition half. Nothing came of it but it was wonderful to see. The players can pass the ball and looked comfortable.

Anybody have the passing stats for last night?
UEFA will post them up next sometime next week. 

Kenny deserves a shot at the Euro’s based on the current form. It’s a pity he couldn’t have got a big win over Portugal. 

aviva8 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote aviva8 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 9:38am
To think we had managers like trap, o neill etc.. saying we don't have the players to pass the ball around.A joke really when you consider we had probably stronger squads and better players back then

Edited by aviva8 - 15 Nov 2021 at 9:38am
djhegzy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote djhegzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 9:39am

There was a passage of play last night where we passed it around for a few minutes in the opposition half. Nothing came of it but it was wonderful to see. The players can pass the ball and looked comfortable.

Kenny deserves a shot at the Euro’s based on the current form. It’s a pity he couldn’t have got a big win over Portugal. 

We made 458 passes to 373, and we had a passing accuracy of 83%, compared to their 77%

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hotlips_Hoolahan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 9:43am
Originally posted by aviva8 aviva8 wrote:

To think we had managers like trap, o neill etc.. saying we don't have the players to pass the ball around.A joke really when you consider we had probably stronger squads and better players back then

Trap was one lazy coont. All indications are that MON and Keane weren't much better either.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 10:03am

And both of them actually qualified for the Euro's.

You forget to mention Charlton as well considering he was the hoof ball maestro. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Nice Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 10:12am

You forget to mention Charlton as well considering he was the hoof ball maestro. 

Twould be nice if we could just stop the sniping now and get behind the management team and the players. Kenny has done well to recover from a poor start to his tenure and things are definitely improving apace. Some may retain a degree of scepticism and thats fair enough, but it's time to give him the benefit of the doubt and get behind him imo.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 10:17am

Twould be nice if we could just stop the sniping now and get behind the management team and the players. Kenny has done well to recover from a poor start to his tenure and things are definitely improving apace. Some may retain a degree of scepticism and thats fair enough, but it's time to give him the benefit of the doubt and get behind him imo.

I'm fully behind Kenny, I don't understand the constant comparison to other managers who actually qualified for tournaments. It's just bizarre. Trap and O'Neill did it their way, it had relative success. Definitely not easy in the eye.

tetsujin1979 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote tetsujin1979 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 10:18am

Completed 378 of 453 passes(83.44%)
All goals, red & yellow cards posted on mastodon and facebook

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 10:35am
Originally posted by tetsujin1979 tetsujin1979 wrote:

UEFA will post them up sometime next week. 

Good man, now following you on Twitter.

I still have nightmares of our games v Georgia a few years ago when we couldn’t string 3 passes together in the opposition half.

I feel like we have missed a lot of chances but still scored 20 goals in 12 games. The future looks bright. 

Edited by Zinedine Kilbane 110 - 15 Nov 2021 at 10:43am

tetsujin1979 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tetsujin1979 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 11:02am

Originally posted by tetsujin1979 tetsujin1979 wrote:

UEFA will post them up sometime next week. 

Good man, now following you on Twitter.

I still have nightmares of our games v Georgia a few years ago when we couldn’t string 3 passes together in the opposition half.

I feel like we have missed a lot of chances but still scored 20 goals in 12 games. The future looks bright. 
Cheers, I was wondering if that was you alright
All goals, red & yellow cards posted on mastodon and facebook
planning View Drop Down

Football version of Comical Ali.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote planning Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 3:56pm

If we finish 3rd, the naysayers will say "yeah but we were out of it x games early, at least previous managers brought it to the last game ".
It's an argument but it that's the only argument then it's a poor one. I would rather think you have to look at where you are in the here and now and ask yourself are we in a good state? No point to punish the manager with the sack because of failures made earlier in the group if things are good now. 

Anyway it's a non matter, he is getting another contract 

It's not even a poor argument. Whether you're Ireland or San Marino, if you're not qualifying, it doesn't make the slightest difference what game you brought it to. Nobody remembers losers, and losing is what we've specialised in, for the past 20 years. 

It's been an awful campaign by any stretch for all sorts of reasons, hopefully a short term sacrifice for long term gain. Thank God it's over with now, let the rest of them get by without us, with the hassle of a winter World Cup that nobody wants, and we can now focus on getting ready for the next campaign.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 4:55pm
anyone think Kenny needs to go and do some
Communications classes now and learn how to speak properly.  😀😀😀

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Het-field Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Nov 2021 at 5:13pm
He has actually show himself to be very brave when you think about it. He didn’t go begging to David McGoldrick, or kept picking McCarthy hoping for availability, or bring McGeady and Westwood back when perhaps form and need may have suggested it was a good idea. He could have continued to separate Coleman and Doherty, but works them in consort. He could have focussed on Shane Long and Scott Hogan, rather than new and young lads.

There is a lot to suggest that the road he has travelled is the right one, when there were obvious, safer alternatives. The trouble was, the same results with the safer options would have made his case harder to make. Instead he can point to result improvement, player growth and managerial coordination.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 420421422423424 735>