Troy Parrott

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 152153154155156 251>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote doherty Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 2021 at 9:48pm
The Krays

50%lesssugar&salt View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 50%lesssugar&salt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 2021 at 11:34pm

The Krays

AbuAbu View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AbuAbu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2021 at 2:41pm
Originally posted by Eoink21 Eoink21 wrote:

Whatever about whom he is pictured, surely somebody has advised him not to be pictured with these lads. Yet he's pictured with them anyway. That concerns me a little bit with regards to his ability to learn from his mistakes, particularly when he probably made plenty mistakes in his first full season of senior football. 

On the basis that we need him I'll give him a pass on this one! To be fair if the local hoods turn up on ur hols and ask u for a picture it probable wouldn't be wise to say no, particularly for ur family in Dublin!! Now if he actually went on holiday with them that's a different story!!
It's not me it's you:-)
Scissors Kick View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Scissors Kick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2021 at 2:50pm
Originally posted by AbuAbu AbuAbu wrote:

Whatever about whom he is pictured, surely somebody has advised him not to be pictured with these lads. Yet he's pictured with them anyway. That concerns me a little bit with regards to his ability to learn from his mistakes, particularly when he probably made plenty mistakes in his first full season of senior football. 

On the basis that we need him I'll give him a pass on this one! To be fair if the local hoods turn up on ur hols and ask u for a picture it probable wouldn't be wise to say no, particularly for ur family in Dublin!! Now if he actually went on holiday with them that's a different story!!

Hasn't he been on mini breaks with them  ?  Yachts etc   
Strazdas View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Strazdas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2021 at 4:31pm

He's clearly hanging out and socialising with these guys though. If he just posed on the street or beside a pitch for a selfie with one of them, it would be no big deal (he could say he hardly even knew the person in the pic).
DublinScouse1916 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DublinScouse1916 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2021 at 4:46pm
I see on Instagram that this gangster he was photographed with is also followed by Adam Idag, Jack Byrne, Aaron Connolly and Danny Grant. Shame. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Territorial Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2021 at 4:59pm
Isn't the whole point about Parrott (and the company he's keeping from back home) that for most others in his situation, football offers a chance to escape the ghetto?

I remember Jimmy Nicholl expressing his gratitude for what football did in keeping him out of trouble as a youngster. Can't find the exact reference now, but this gives a flavour:

[Nicholl's] prowess with the ball at his feet as a teenager was the entire family’s ticket out of Northern Ireland at the height of the Troubles.

Before they moved lock, stock and barrel over to Manchester, Nicholl was making trips back to Rathcoole, on the northern outskirts of Belfast. Even these journeys home were hairy enough.

“On the last Saturday of every month we were allowed to go home,” he recalls. “I was just 16, playing every Saturday morning, watching the first team in the afternoon if they were at home. After the game I’d get a train to Liverpool to get the overnight boat to Belfast, then bus to Rathcoole.

“Then, on Monday night, I would get the boat back overnight. And I was doing this from 15! That is why I am short with kids now, they don’t know how good they have it! I was seeing Man United and Liverpool fans fighting on the boat going over, people getting thrown overboard!”

All this was before he even made it to Belfast, where Manchester United were alert to the worsening situation. “If football’s done nothing else for me, it got my family out of Northern Ireland,” says Nicholl. “And that’s nothing to do with where I was brought up – I loved Rathcoole, still do. I still go back there now but it was getting a bit naughty in 1971.”

On one of those trips home to Rathcoole, Tommy Docherty, the United manager, phoned a neighbour (the Nicholls did not have a phone) with a message: plane tickets were booked for Jimmy and his family to head to Manchester the following day. “We flew to Manchester and they told us they were taking us straight to this house in Sale, Cheshire, with three bedrooms and a garage. It was in ‘a cul de sac’! What’s a cul de sac?!”

The Nicholls arrived to find the groundsman from Old Trafford cutting the lawn while a woman from the club office was standing with a book of wallpaper samples. This agreeable scene only made the young Nicholl more determined to make the breakthrough at the club.

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/interview-jimmy-nicholl-hungry-return-management-1467659

That last line is especially telling imo.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2021 at 5:34pm
A very heart-warming piece from Up Yours Nicholl. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevin100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2021 at 6:13pm

He's clearly hanging out and socialising with these guys though. If he just posed on the street or beside a pitch for a selfie with one of them, it would be no big deal (he could say he hardly even knew the person in the pic).

Yes reading the situation he knows these lads a while back. One of the lads he’s photographed with has been retweeting Troy Parrott content since 2017/2018 so they are clearly childhood mates. They come from the same area and are high profile too hence likely to cross paths.  

It is what it is I don’t lend too much weight to it and I don’t get the shock every now and then when an updated pic of them together emerges by it Little or young Byrne. 

Most people were confused by Mourinhos damning “needs help on and off the field” comments a few years ago it was very clear what he was talking about. Sponsorship issues may well arise for Parrott down the line. 

As for Jack Byrne same social circle. However we haven’t been getting sob stories about how poor Troy is missing home and his mammy like we did with Byrne. That narrative nearly made me sick the last few years maybe he did suffer from home sickness as a kid sure but the rest of it was nauseating.

Parrott seems far more likeable to me in interviews and comes across as hard working most coaches speak well of him too and reading between the lines it maps. 

Edited by kevin100 - 22 Jun 2021 at 6:15pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sausy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2021 at 9:43am

As for Jack Byrne same social circle. However we haven’t been getting sob stories about how poor Troy is missing home and his mammy like we did with Byrne. That narrative nearly made me sick the last few years maybe he did suffer from home sickness as a kid sure but the rest of it was nauseating.

WTF? Are you actually giving out someone who lost their father at 11, then moving to England as a teenager coming out saying they are very close to their mother and wanting to be close to them?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2021 at 10:45am

WTF? Are you actually giving out someone who lost their father at 11, then moving to England as a teenager coming out saying they are very close to their mother and wanting to be close to them?

Spot on. I don't know how anyone could find Byrne's genuine comments about his mother from that interview as nauseating. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Banjaxed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2021 at 12:16pm

Spot on. I don't know how anyone could find Byrne's genuine comments about his mother from that interview as nauseating. 

Yeah, weird comment. Jack Byrne has always come across as a very thoughtful character in interviews I've seen. Are we going to bash people for being open about their feelings now? 

And like Byrne (which could be said for a good few players), one's past actions don't define their future. People can change believe it or not. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevin100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2021 at 12:29pm

Yeah, weird comment. Jack Byrne has always come across as a very thoughtful character in interviews I've seen. Are we going to bash people for being open about their feelings now? 

And like Byrne (which could be said for a good few players), one's past actions don't define their future. People can change believe it or not. 

When did I ever mention his father? You brought that into this not me. I have no issue with him sharing his feelings of course I don’t I was talking about the media coverage/narrative of it. He quite literally hangs around with the exact same social circle as Parrott btw the guys that are generating controversy on here? I’m geussing that’s clear.

Interesting going by the responses here one is wasting his potential while the other it’s a different narrative I can imagine what would be said about Parrott if he’s back playing in the LOI at 23/24. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2021 at 3:17pm

When did I ever mention his father? You brought that into this not me. I have no issue with him sharing his feelings of course I don’t I was talking about the media coverage/narrative of it. He quite literally hangs around with the exact same social circle as Parrott btw the guys that are generating controversy on here? I’m geussing that’s clear.

Interesting going by the responses here one is wasting his potential while the other it’s a different narrative I can imagine what would be said about Parrott if he’s back playing in the LOI at 23/24. 

Like who?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevin100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2021 at 3:56pm

Like who?

Little and Lee Byrne? He has been snapped with them the same way Parrott has been? 
TheNumber6 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TheNumber6 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2021 at 7:47pm
Heimatklange View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Heimatklange Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2021 at 12:23pm
Parrott going out on loan again, short term deal with a championship club on the cards. He should be looking at broadening his horizons and going abroad imho. A good dutch or belgian team would suit best.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Borussia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2021 at 12:26pm
Originally posted by Heimatklange Heimatklange wrote:

Parrott going out on loan again, short term deal with a championship club on the cards. He should be looking at broadening his horizons and going abroad imho. A good dutch or belgian team would suit best.

It's one thing saying he should go somewhere (and I do agree it would be good to see our players broaden their horizons) but that relies on there being interest from teams in those countries.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 152153154155156 251>