The new mental health thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 3031323334>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Feb 2023 at 4:18pm
Originally posted by notpropaganda73 notpropaganda73 wrote:

cheers for the replies folks, much appreciated Thumbs Up

How are you getting on now prop?
notpropaganda73 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote notpropaganda73 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2023 at 4:41am

Originally posted by notpropaganda73 notpropaganda73 wrote:

cheers for the replies folks, much appreciated Thumbs Up

How are you getting on now prop?

doing ok cheers for checking in Gaz 

had my assessment with the mental health nurse via my private insurance there on Monday and they've scheduled me a call with the counsellor next Monday. Would rather not be a phone but massive wait list for face-to-face appointments even through private apparently. 

Partner is having her first session this morning through the same insurance thank god. she's really struggling so I'm hoping it helps her cope a little. She'll be doing ok but little things will just send her over the edge (90% of the time work-related). She spoke with her boss on Monday about reducing her hours which was a big step, they're looking into how to make the rota work

We're off to Donegal then this afternoon for a long weekend, staying in Redcastle a couple nights and then driving in home on Saturday morning. We're gonna climb Errigal if the weather is alright as well. bringing my wetsuit so regardless of weather I'll be jumping into the sea which always helps clear my head.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2023 at 2:24pm
Fair play for being proactive on it prop. From personal circumstances, just doing something to try and help yourself has a positive snowball affect (i.e. booking in with counsellors, planning a trip away etc). 

I hope the counselling helps both of you and always feel free to offload on here 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote oldbilly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2023 at 7:49pm
well done prop and the missus, very proactive and positive thinking, best wishes to you both.
Great to see so many lads on here reply too, lovely to see folk recognise the reality of mental health struggles, hats off to you all.
Mind yourselves.
No Pasaran!
notpropaganda73 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote notpropaganda73 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 2023 at 10:32am
Thanks both, really do appreciate the replies here and got a couple of PMs as well Thumbs Up
SeaSharp View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SeaSharp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 2023 at 2:02pm
Fairly impromptu company meeting this morning, found out that one of my colleagues committed suicide earlier in the week. He was a nice bloke, a specialist in his field and fiercely intelligent. Not quite sure how to process it, but I can't stop thinking about why he chose to end it all. I hope he's found peace now anyway.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Badgersboys9 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 2023 at 2:08pm
Poor man. Sorry to hear that SeaSharp, that's awful news. It's very difficult for anyone to process that sort of thing and try to understand it. Hope you are OK. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ringerbell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2023 at 10:46am
Christ lads Mental health is the most f**ked up thing. I should be living my best life at the minute in a good job, engaged to the best person you could meet and looking forward to a holiday of a lifetime to Orlando with her in march yet I'm in the worst form I've been in for ages literally feel like I'm present in body only my head is gone literally sitting here ready for work and can't be arsed

Can't understand how to beat the f**king thing I've done the counselling, I've done the meds etc and when I think I'm doing alright it comes back at me worse than ever 🤷‍♂️

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gaz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2023 at 11:36am
Sorry to hear RB and good man for bringing it up Thumbs Up

I know of SAD being a thing (Seasonal Affective Disorder) - could you link it to that? Personally, I got an awful bout of what you're saying this time last year. It seemed to work itself out in the New Year without me doing anything in particular to help myself.  

Funnily enough, I went off the booze and feeling great for a few months in the build up to Xmas but then just felt dreadful throughout December. Down in the dumps, crippled with anxiety every day and constant sick feeling in the stomach. Still can't explain it. The head is a funny oul thing and hard to find any logic at times when you get a bout of this. 

Good to hear you've tried the counselling and meds etc. Not much else you can do except keep being proactive like you have been doing and always talk about it. You've gotten through it before and will get through it again. Always remember that 

Edited by Gaz - 11 Dec 2023 at 11:59am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Double Maxim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2023 at 12:01pm

Sorry to hear about your problems RB & Gaz.

I hate this time of the year dread Christmas the feeling of loneliness and can't wait for it to be over.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2023 at 12:15pm
Mind yourself lads and don’t be afraid to talk to people you love and trust and prioritise things you enjoy.  This too will pass.  

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2023 at 12:20pm
Lads, hope the darkness lifts for you. Read somewhere recently that early December is a very difficult time for people with mental health issues, so hopefully things will be better soon enough.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Borussia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2023 at 12:22pm
Can imagine this time of year is tricky for a look of people.
RB, you've come out of this before and you will again. Take care mate.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shedite Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Dec 2023 at 12:10pm
It's definitely one of the tougher times of year I find. Everywhere ya look it looks like everyone is having great nights out, lvoely family time, the reality is very different fr more people.

Add to that then the crap weather and extra hangovers and it's not easy.

Only thing I'd say is to make Christmas what you like, not what people think you are supposed to do. My brother in law decided his perfect day is a day in with his family so literally 3 of them sit in on Christmas for the day and do nothing. Doesn't like turkey so just has a roast chicken isntead. Seems odd, but he's doingwhat he enjoys, never feel any pressure to follow the herd

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Dec 2023 at 12:35pm

Christ lads Mental health is the most f**ked up thing. I should be living my best life at the minute in a good job, engaged to the best person you could meet and looking forward to a holiday of a lifetime to Orlando with her in march yet I'm in the worst form I've been in for ages literally feel like I'm present in body only my head is gone literally sitting here ready for work and can't be arsed

Can't understand how to beat the f**king thing I've done the counselling, I've done the meds etc and when I think I'm doing alright it comes back at me worse than ever 🤷‍♂️

sorry to hear RB , hopefully you are out the other end of it  - plenty to look forward to 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Double Maxim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 2023 at 6:35pm
Being lonely at Christmas feckin horrible.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 2023 at 8:11pm
Mind yourself DM.  

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ringerbell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 2023 at 10:49pm
These next couple weeks can't go quick enough for me normally really look forward to christmas but this year I can't be arsed with any of it.

Being surrounded by people but feeling as if you are all alone is one of the worst feelings have ever experienced. Not even bothered wrapping presents or anything feel like I've given up at the minute but stubbornness keeps me going 
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 3031323334>