Jimmy Dunne

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 1314151617 18>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote savo01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2021 at 1:50pm
He can play right back too, can't he?  Might be his best chance with Ireland for the future.  
Jackie Charlton, Eoin Hand
Johnny Giles. Ireland
Mick McCarthy, Stephen Staunton
Cascarino
Tony Galvin, Niall Quinn
Packie doesn't let em in
North of Ireland
South of Ireland
Only one can go

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Left foot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2021 at 2:16pm
Originally posted by savo01 savo01 wrote:

He can play right back too, can't he?  Might be his best chance with Ireland for the future.  

I wouldn't worry too much at the moment about the Left/right back positions. We still have Coleman and Doherty. Manning and McLean etc 

I appreciate they are not getting younger but players like Omobamidele just flew in under the radar and has been a great addition. Players can just pop up all of a sudden. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevin100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2021 at 3:37pm

I wouldn't worry too much at the moment about the Left/right back positions. We still have Coleman and Doherty. Manning and McLean etc 

I appreciate they are not getting younger but players like Omobamidele just flew in under the radar and has been a great addition. Players can just pop up all of a sudden. 

Coleman Doherty Stevens will all be good until 2024 certainly.  We have McNamara Kioso both 22yo and Ebosele just turned 19 all playing at a decent level and all 3 look tailor made for that RWB role. LWB is more wafer thin alright. Manning is still young enough Scales utterly frustrating he won't get given a run at Celtic. Bagan is also a welcome addition in that position only 19yo but looks promising. 

Players could easily pop up too. I wouldn't worry about the RWB position we are fine there LWB little less certain but better then it was.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Nice Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2021 at 3:46pm

Coleman Doherty Stevens will all be good until 2024 certainly.  We have McNamara Kioso both 22yo and Ebosele just turned 19 all playing at a decent level and all 3 look tailor made for that RWB role. LWB is more wafer thin alright. Manning is still young enough Scales utterly frustrating he won't get given a run at Celtic. Bagan is also a welcome addition in that position only 19yo but looks promising. 

Players could easily pop up too. I wouldn't worry about the RWB position we are fine there LWB little less certain but better then it was.

I dont necessarily agree re Coleman being good until 2024. He will be 35, pushing 36 when the 2024 Euros kick off and wing back is a very demanding position physically. He looks like he'll retain his ft position at Everton this season, but next season 22/23 he will be pushing 34 when the campaign starts and he has had a series of niggly injuries ever since the broken leg, so I'm not sure Everton wont look to bring in another right back. Obviousy I hope he is still performing at a high level but I dont think it's a given at all, particularly for the 2023/24 season, which is when the bulk of the actual Euro 24 qualifiers take place. Doherty should be fine, 32 then, but Stevens at 34 might also need phasing out. If they were CBs or CDMs they'd likely be fine, but 34/35yo wing backs are rare enough.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevin100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2021 at 8:18pm

I dont necessarily agree re Coleman being good until 2024. He will be 35, pushing 36 when the 2024 Euros kick off and wing back is a very demanding position physically. He looks like he'll retain his ft position at Everton this season, but next season 22/23 he will be pushing 34 when the campaign starts and he has had a series of niggly injuries ever since the broken leg, so I'm not sure Everton wont look to bring in another right back. Obviousy I hope he is still performing at a high level but I dont think it's a given at all, particularly for the 2023/24 season, which is when the bulk of the actual Euro 24 qualifiers take place. Doherty should be fine, 32 then, but Stevens at 34 might also need phasing out. If they were CBs or CDMs they'd likely be fine, but 34/35yo wing backs are rare enough.

Fair on Coleman. He's extremely fit for his age mind if we were playing 38 games a season no we play 2/3 games every month or so at most I think we can incorporate him. Doherty will be fine and Stevens likwise is a late bloomer and fit as a flea. 
I'm not worried about RWB at all Mcnamara Kioso and Ebosele give us 3 sound young options. All have the potential to continue to develop hopefully into top flight full backs. 

You make a great point on the phasing out it's why I was dissapointed to see Christie picked over one of the 3 lads mentioned above. Bring one of them in and give them a go. Christie is a hopelessly limited footballer and if we are relying on him long term without the 2 main RBs then your in cuckoo land if you think we are qualfiying. Ebosele and Mcnamara were only back from injury which is fair. 

LWB Scales Manning and Bagan a welcome addition. Players just appear out the blue too. I think we have at least another 2 years if not 3 before the older guard Coleman Stevens McClean start finishing up yet.
JoxerDaly View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JoxerDaly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2021 at 8:21pm
Scales is a centre half, will never play wing back for Ireland imo, Manning and young James Furlong looks like a cracking prospect at Brighton are the best prospects at the moment .

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kevin100 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2021 at 8:30pm
Originally posted by JoxerDaly JoxerDaly wrote:

Scales is a centre half, will never play wing back for Ireland imo, Manning and young James Furlong looks like a cracking prospect at Brighton are the best prospects at the moment .

I'd be keen to see will Furlong be loaned out next year if not in Jan. Looks a nice prospect. Adaramola at Palace is another LB very highly rated.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Nice Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2021 at 7:53pm
Back in the team tonight

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hotlips_Hoolahan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2021 at 8:01pm

Back in the team tonight

Nicely Dunne.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gufct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2021 at 9:47pm
great game tonight Warburton made a mistake dropping him at the weekend.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bandwagon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2021 at 10:21pm

It was 1-1 when he brought on after 60 mins on the weekend and it finished 4-1. Now I didnt see it and have no idea how he done but it cant have been too good.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gufct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2021 at 10:56pm

It was 1-1 when he brought on after 60 mins on the weekend and it finished 4-1. Now I didnt see it and have no idea how he done but it cant have been too good.

How can you rate a players performance without actually seeing the game ???

Dunne had been brilliant in the previous 5 games and shouldn’t have been dropped on Saturday and warburton knew it and changed the back five tonight.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kearney304 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Oct 2021 at 12:04am

Dunne had been brilliant in the previous 5 games and shouldn’t have been dropped on Saturday and warburton knew it and changed the back five tonight.

Is that not what all our fans do no? 
Eoink21 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Eoink21 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Oct 2021 at 3:59am

You'd be surprised what some posters can deduce from LiveScore on this forum. It's frustrating.
E2016 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote E2016 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Oct 2021 at 6:47pm

I was in Craven Cottage for the Fulham QPR game so let there be no confusion, he was dreadful when he came on.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gufct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2021 at 8:28am
 QPR moved up to 5th in the Championship after their 1-0 win over Blackburn. At the heart of the defence was Dundalk's Jimmy Dunne, just turned 24, and his 100 passes last night was the most by any R's player all season. Not bad for a centre-half! Well done Jimmy and happy birthday. 🇮🇪 #ybig

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Nice Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2021 at 9:41am

QPR moved up to 5th in the Championship after their 1-0 win over Blackburn. At the heart of the defence was Dundalk's Jimmy Dunne, just turned 24, and his 100 passes last night was the most by any R's player all season. Not bad for a centre-half! Well done Jimmy and happy birthday. 🇮🇪 #ybig

A clean sheet too after being left out at the weekend. We are pretty stacked at CB currently, but the lad looks like he is on his way to establishing himself as first choice at a decent Championship level club. That would have been his first goal, now he needs to hold on to that spot and if he continues to play regularly then he will get a chance to make future squads. Just turned 24, so plenty of time for him and its always good to have options playing at a decent level.
ProudAndLoud View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ProudAndLoud Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2021 at 12:28pm
Fair Play to the lad. He was one of the better players at his age group up to 15s and then went United but seemed to regress and wasn't in international squads between then n 21s.
I'd say he must be very strong mentally and good belief in his ability.
Comes from strong GAA background in Blackrock Louth. 
He will have or is having a good career but how high a standard that will be ?? 
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 1314151617 18>