Wales v Ireland - 6 Sept 2018

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 55>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luis Amor Rodriguez Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Wales v Ireland - 6 Sept 2018
    Posted: 06 Jun 2018 at 6:13pm
Nations League kicks off for us in Cardiff in three months.

Ryan Giggs’ first competitive game for Wales and could be a very different story to last time.  They'll be looking for revenge after we knocked them out of World Cup qualification in Cardiff last time out. Wales likely to have Bale back and might even be able to keep Joe Allen on the pitch this time. 

Aside from Declan Rice and arguably Scott Hogan and Sean Maguire, we’ve not really moved on hugely.  And no Wes Cry

Hopefully Ashley Williams might be back from his current medical issues to gift us a few opportunities... 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2018 at 6:16pm
We are sh*t but not sure Wales will be much better with the Welsh Steve Staunton in charge.  Hopefully no one will steal any corner flags

shanemuc View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shanemuc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2018 at 9:15pm
I actually think we will put up a half decent defensive performance but start of with a defeat. Think we all know that the players don't have 100% faith in Martin or Roy and are more than aware of the tone in the media and the (lack of) tactics situation and the flirtation with a few Premier League jobs. I do believe we have some exciting young(ish) players in Rice, Maguire, Browne, Lenihan,Hogan, Doherty, Horgan and maybe Burke. Really think he needs to cast the met wider to get in the likes of Bamford and get Liam Kelly back in the set up. Hope the nations thing is not a total wreck but I feel it will be. I wouldn't mind a few bad results if it was a true re-building period but we all know it won't be. No creative player and Walters, McClean and maybe Whelan used way too much. 
Luis Amor Rodriguez View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luis Amor Rodriguez Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Aug 2018 at 5:00pm
This match is coming around the bend now.  Would like to see us take a leaf from Wales' book and pick a few younger, highly promising players in a developmental capacity in the squad.  

For example, as I've said elsewhere, would love to see the young fella Ryan Johansen fast-tracked and invited to train - he's just done pre-season with the Bayern first team and played senior matches against the likes of Man City and Juventus.  Cullen from West Ham would be another good shout. 

In addition to their headliners (Bale, Ramsey, Allen etc), Wales have some seriously exciting, very young, talent coming through in Ampadu, Woodburn, Brooks and Wilson.  All of whom have been kept involved in their senior squad from a young age.  

These were all dual/tri nationality players, but now strongly committed to Wales and looks likely to help them some level of competitiveness for the future. 

It's an old row on here, but it's frustrating that we didn't do the same with our very promising dual-eligibility players such as Grealish, Michael Keane and the above mentioned Ampadu (who has serious promise) - get them involved at a senior level early and keep them involved.  

Ironically, Ampadu may be competitively capped and tied-down to Wales in the match against Ireland (Da from Dublin, played for Belvo and Ireland up to U21).  Meanwhile we spent the Summer friendlies capping thirty-something journeymen from Millwall and Bradford...

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Aug 2018 at 8:09pm
Well, if we invite the likes of Cullen, Nolan and Johansson to train with the squad, is there not a risk of that putting them off? Surely we should just call them up 48 hours before the match, make no subs, then bring them on in the 85th minute, just to tie them down, before they realise what they've signed up to.
Ciaranc1991 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ciaranc1991 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Aug 2018 at 9:45pm
would be good to see callum robinson getting some game time 

Edited by Ciaranc1991 - 08 Aug 2018 at 10:11pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Green Devil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Aug 2018 at 11:37pm
Originally posted by Luis Amor Rodriguez Luis Amor Rodriguez wrote:

This match is coming around the bend now.  Would like to see us take a leaf from Wales' book and pick a few younger, highly promising players in a developmental capacity in the squad.  

For example, as I've said elsewhere, would love to see the young fella Ryan Johansen fast-tracked and invited to train - he's just done pre-season with the Bayern first team and played senior matches against the likes of Man City and Juventus.  Cullen from West Ham would be another good shout. 

In addition to their headliners (Bale, Ramsey, Allen etc), Wales have some seriously exciting, very young, talent coming through in Ampadu, Woodburn, Brooks and Wilson.  All of whom have been kept involved in their senior squad from a young age.  

These were all dual/tri nationality players, but now strongly committed to Wales and looks likely to help them some level of competitiveness for the future. 

It's an old row on here, but it's frustrating that we didn't do the same with our very promising dual-eligibility players such as Grealish, Michael Keane and the above mentioned Ampadu (who has serious promise) - get them involved at a senior level early and keep them involved.  

Ironically, Ampadu may be competitively capped and tied-down to Wales in the match against Ireland (Da from Dublin, played for Belvo and Ireland up to U21).  Meanwhile we spent the Summer friendlies capping thirty-something journeymen from Millwall and Bradford...

Yet again, you bring up the same old repetitive posts on dual nationality players.... Sleepy

Move on and build a bridge ffs....

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Aug 2018 at 11:42pm

Well, if we invite the likes of Cullen, Nolan and Johansson to train with the squad, is there not a risk of that putting them off? Surely we should just call them up 48 hours before the match, make no subs, then bring them on in the 85th minute, just to tie them down, before they realise what they've signed up to.
Don't tell them at all. Blindfold them, put them in the back of a Renault Megane and release them onto the pitch before they know where they are.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Aug 2018 at 11:46pm
The Ybig battle between those who want to call up every single Irishman (and a few Englishmen) who can kick a ball and those that insist these quasi-qualifiers are actually more important than the World Cup itself because seedings/pots/rankings reasons,  will be far more entertaining than the actual football. 

Actually on second thoughts, it won't, whatsoever.

Welcome back everyone to fantasy football, where some other manager who isn't Martin O'Neill is in charge. Please fill your squad with lads from reserve teams, lads that sat on the bench of a championship club once or twice, lads no older than 17 and a half, and remember 3 granny rule lads is mandatory. Best of luck. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The O'Shea Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Aug 2018 at 11:49pm
Yes, lets just pick exactly the same squad for every match until they slowly drop away into retirement.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2018 at 12:24am

Yes, lets just pick exactly the same squad for every match until they slowly drop away into retirement.

This campaign is going to be used to give more experience to the likes of Hourihane, Doherty, Maguire, Browne,  Hogan, Rice & lads like that, all of whom have already been in squads. Its a good environment to give them these games as they are some way competitive, without the potential of being knocked out of qualification if we lose or someone makes a mistake. 

Browne & Hourihane, to name 2, have been decent club players in the Championship but struggled so far in our jersey, in fact if they weren't making their early international appearances and weren't being judged somewhat softly, you could even argue they were downright awful.  MON has repeatedly said they need more experience at this level, and he will use this campaign to do just that. 

You have seen as many MON 50 man squads as I have and no matter what anyone thinks, thinking the likes of Obafemi or a 17 year old 5th choice keeper, or a chap playing second division in Holland or whoever else ye lads can come up with, simply isn't going to be getting in the squad under this manager unless the player has shown something on a regular basis that they can perform at a certain level and sustain it. Another manager might take a punt on one of those fellas, MON won't unless he is reasonably certain they can do something for him.  

Luis Amor Rodriguez View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Luis Amor Rodriguez Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2018 at 2:59am
Jaysus, the vitriol on here. 

We've lost out significantly in the past by not concentrating on the future in the way that Wales, and say the US, and even England and Scotland have, not to mention Switzerland, France, Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria, even Albania, Kosovo etc. etc.   Until that changes, our chances of doing anything at international level, bar a freak player or three like Roy or Robbie Keane, McGrath etc coming along, are poor.

We, like Wales, need to spread the net as wide as we can. We're doing that successfully at underage, but not at senior.  Put it this way, if Grealish was Welsh-eligible, he'd be involved with the senior training squads at 16, capped in a friendly at 17 (when playing out his skin at L1 level like Ampadu was) and playing competitively at 18.   He'd also have played in a European semi final by now and be a favourite to qualify for the next Euros.  We're far from that. 

They've a good team and a positive future and, as much as some of that is down to the presence of a "once in a 100 years" player like Bale, much of it is down to good legacy planning.  Where we're lacking at the moment unfortunately.  The only serious player we have coming through is Rice, having let at least three other PL players slip away in recent years.  You can't say that about the young players coming through at Wales. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maccatacca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2018 at 7:32am

We've lost out significantly in the past by not concentrating on the future in the way that Wales, and say the US, and even England and Scotland have, not to mention Switzerland, France, Morocco, Tunisia, Algeria, even Albania, Kosovo etc. etc.   Until that changes, our chances of doing anything at international level, bar a freak player or three like Roy or Robbie Keane, McGrath etc coming along, are poor.

We, like Wales, need to spread the net as wide as we can. We're doing that successfully at underage, but not at senior.  Put it this way, if Grealish was Welsh-eligible, he'd be involved with the senior training squads at 16, capped in a friendly at 17 (when playing out his skin at L1 level like Ampadu was) and playing competitively at 18.   He'd also have played in a European semi final by now and be a favourite to qualify for the next Euros.  We're far from that. 

They've a good team and a positive future and, as much as some of that is down to the presence of a "once in a 100 years" player like Bale, much of it is down to good legacy planning.  Where we're lacking at the moment unfortunately.  The only serious player we have coming through is Rice, having let at least three other PL players slip away in recent years.  You can't say that about the young players coming through at Wales. 

Wales isn’t even a f**king country. Embarrassing that they can create more of a feel good factor around their football team than we can. 

I suppose it might not bother a few young English lads to play in Cardiff every once in a while, they wouldn’t even be leaving the boundaries of the Premier League in doing so. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2018 at 8:18am

Wales isn’t even a f**king country. Embarrassing that they can create more of a feel good factor around their football team than we can. 

I suppose it might not bother a few young English lads to play in Cardiff every once in a while, they wouldn’t even be leaving the boundaries of the Premier League in doing so. 
Relax there chief. They've qualified for one tournament in the last 60 years.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2018 at 8:33am
Wales, like us and Scotland are falling behind the rest of Europe.

They have Bale now but he is once in a lifetime player.

Scotland qualified for 4/5 world cups in the 80’s and 90’s.
Look where they are now.

Wales are on a crest of a wave now but they are going downhill.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DUBLIN DOC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2018 at 8:40am
Wales were on the crest of a wave at the euros no doubt, but they are a sunken surf board now, but that does not say much for us either unless the new blood step up very quickly

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gary McKay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2018 at 10:18am
Quick, somebody mention Iceland.
Lostandfound View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lostandfound Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2018 at 10:24am
Clappause ClappauseClappauseClappauseClapClapClapClap
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 55>