You Boys in Green Homepage YBIG Shop
Forum Home Forum Home : Other Forums : Whatever!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Research for Dalymount Park Radio Documentary

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Jack Charlton
Jack Charlton

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drumcondra 69er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Research for Dalymount Park Radio Documentary
    Posted: 09 Mar 2018 at 1:54pm

Howya all. As some of you know, I’m currently studying for a Masters Degree in Journalism in DCU (insert nerd gag here Wink). Rather than doing an academic dissertation, we have the option of making a 40 minute radio documentary for the Thesis module which I'm considering.

The subject of the documentary would be Dalymount Park which is due to be demolished next year and redeveloped. As it is possibly entering its last full year of use before then, it feels like a good time to do this.

Rather than solely concentrating on the football element, I also want to look at other cultural events in the history of Dublin that happened there and talk to people who attended. I may even just end up focusing on one area but want to gather as much info as possible before deciding.

If yourself, or anyone you know, attended any of the below events and would be interested in contributing then please pm me and I will get back in touch to discuss it. Stretching it a bit with the Douglas Hyde match but you never know!

Many thanks!

Music

Red Hot Chili Peppers & support at Sunstroke - August 25th 1994

Faith No More & support at Sunstroke - June 27th 1993

Black Sabbath & support at A Garden Party - August 28th 1983

Meat Loaf & support - June 13th 1982

Bob Marley & The Wailers and support - July 6th 1980

Status Quo and support including Christy Moore and The Undertones - July 1st 1979

Thin Lizzy and support including Boomtown Rats - August 21st 1977

International Football