Research - Has our fans behaviour got worse?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 9>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Newryrep Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 1:28pm

A poster on here @irelandfan recently encountered behaviour on a flight to copenhagen that made him feel uncomfortable with fans thinking it was ok to grab airline staff by the ass etc.. surely if the airline slapped a ban on these tools they wouldnt be long copping on as there choice of routes to and from games and familly holidays would be severly effected. Im gobsmacked to why airlines allow such behaviour and I see one Airline saying recently that the sale of alcohol should be restricted at airports so we all would suffer the conceqences of these fools. 

As am I  - the passengers should be informed that their behaviour is unacceptable/illegal and that they are being met by the cops at the other end. Also their return flight is null and void if applicable and that they are blacklisted from this airline and any airlines in the same group. They could probably be blacklisted form other airlines in a similar vein to the barring orders of pubs. A couple of high profile stories of people with £10K bills due to alternative travel arrangements/flights being re-routed wouldn't be long sorting it out If your barred from Easyjet/Ryanair/Star alliance you are fuked (unless you are superdave Smile)

you have the opposite when you have guys so pissed its like walking a tightrope trying to get to and from there seat saw an example of this in Andorra when a lad  well pissed tumbled down on top of a lad and his wife and were lucky to escape serious injury.

If it was behind the goal, it was my mrs that was sent flying, she got away with sore ribs

Behaviour at away games has got worse because in general peoples behaviour  has got worse - too many people cant distinguish between  a character and a complete dick and think they are the former when they are actually the latter , plenty think the whole world revolves around them and that people will find their tedious lives and antics interesting

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pipkin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 2:05pm
Since the establishment of supporters club after supporters club following Euro 2012, there seems to be a gang mentality with large groups alright. I think that was the catalyst.

We've even heard particular supporters club members fighting amongst themsleves in Moldova FFS
Trigboy 10 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trigboy 10 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 2:36pm
Wonder why the airline didn't take any action against that clown! Think Timmy Murphy the jockey got jailed for doing the exact same thing!

Edited by Trigboy 10 - 14 Dec 2017 at 2:36pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Roberto Baggio Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 2:44pm
Originally posted by DangerHere DangerHere wrote:

I posted on a different thread about what I saw at the home game vs Denmark. A few lads from Cork (on the lash all day it would appear) at the front of 113 spitting towards Christian Eriksen whenever he came to take a corner and also when he celebrated his 1st goal.

One absolute asshat (I presume a Liverpool or Man City "supporter") at the beginning of the 2nd half walked from the back of the stand to the front to roar at Kasper Schmeichel how much of a w**ker his Dad is.

In saying that, I have experienced nothing but fun and good nature when I have travelled to away games

Are you sure that wasn't our assistant manager?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eireland Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 4:13pm
I think the drinking side of things is the same as always but there's definitely more people coke off their heads. It doesn't bother me until I go into the stadium like in Copenhagen and the atmosphere is utter sh*t because half the fans are football family or lads who can barely stand let alone sing.

There were at least a 1000 regular fans who should have been in that stadium instead of others and they would have contributed. Makes it hard to get excited for the next aways. The others were very enjoyable however including Cardiff. A lot of carry on in the city although harmless but the atmosphere in the stadium was amazing.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MC Hammered Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 4:25pm

Who has all the Persian rugs on these away trips and why aren't you sharing with me you tight fooks?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Gary McKay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 8:36pm
Flew Aer Lingus to Krakow once and it was a dry flight.

They had too much trouble with the Polskis getting tanked up on their way home.

Didnt stop some of them smuggling on vodka though 😆
Fatnacho View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fatnacho Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 8:54pm
Biggest difference is that before you were wary of the home fans especially in Eastern Europe but now you’re more likely to get hassle from your own fans. There were killings in the Irish Rover in Copenhagen.Felt more relaxed and safe in the Danish bars.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 9:43pm
When I started travelling away in the mid eighties the main focus was always the football. The drink was of secondary concern as were Whores and drugs. The craic was generally spontaneous and good humoured. In recent times especially at tournaments and marquee qualifiers, it occurs to me that at least for a certain number of fans the actual football is just part of the trip and not the reason for the trip. I also think developments in air travel has made it easier for party fans to go to games. How many twats would have travelled to Denmark if it took 2 days by rail and boat to get there ?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Dec 2017 at 11:57pm
This is a difficult question to answer. I think 'yes' would broadly be the case, but none of us have seen each & every entire incident in every pub or square to say so definitively. 

A lot of it has to do with getting older too, these days, I would avoid big crowds in squares and singing Shane Long's on fire for 3 constant days, it more or less bores the sh*te out of me, but more than a decade ago, in the likes of Cyprus in 05/06 or Stuttgart in 06, I would have been in the middle of the crowd in the square or street, singing about Paul McGrath or Gary Breen for 3 days. I can't exactly criticise those that choose to do so today, even if tis not for me any more. 

Cabra did hit on something I agree with though, the good humour (toward others) has declined, back then you could tell a fella yer making a f**kin eejit of yerself, get down off that car bonnet or whatever, and they probably would, but these days , calling out something like that would be likely to get ya a box with several of the eejits  mates joining in. The self policing thing is a myth, it might be true for your own group, or lads ya know, but there are plenty who go to these things with a particularly bad stag do mentality, as long as they enjoy themselves, nobody else matters, and there has been a rise in that. 

It's hard to say overall, for example, was talking to one of the barmaids in Moldova after the Welsh had been there, and she said they were a lot worse behaved than us, standing up on furniture & breaking it, refusing to get down off it or cop on, bits of public nudity, all the while thinking they were hilarious, and that wasn't her experience of the Irish at all. Maybe the survey would be better directed at the likes of staff who worked in Charlie P's on both the recent occasions we were there to see if there was any great difference to them in the 3 years that passed between games, or those in Tbilisi. 

Sometimes ya avoid all the main square/pub stuff and arrive at the match and see half comatose zombies falling around the place, I think this always happened to an extent, but for whatever reason, it seems more noticeable in some venues, Denmark was full of them, but yet Cardiff wasn't, not to the same extent anyway, even though crowd numbers were broadly similar and the games were only weeks apart. 

Still though, my conclusion would be as it has been for more than 10 years, and it does come across as elitist, but generally the less people turn up in a venue, the better behaved it is, ya don't seem to get as many assholes at the further away games, probably because they are mainly there for the football (bad & all as it is) not a glorified stag do that happens to coincide with a match. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote the_walls Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 8:40am
Had a pint in the Dubliner in Copenhagen after the match. It was like a f**king zoo LOL. The tables absolutely wedged with lads standing on top of them, everyone of them with their shirts off. Every single minute at least one would fall off, I'm amazed none of them who fell got seriously hurt. I went up to the bar anyway and one of these heroes was at the bar beside me ordering a treble vodka red bull. He says to me why I don't have my shirt off and that I should take it off. I says I'm grand for taking my shirt off thanks and he asks why not, am I some kind of fag. WTF LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 8:57am
Sounds like you were in their wallsy.
Ecumenical Matter View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ecumenical Matter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 9:13am
Best of luck with the research. Really interesting question.

It’s always difficult to compare different eras and the temptation is to see your younger self in a more positive light than might be warranted but I think things have got worse and will continue that way.

I have been going to Ireland away games for 30 years and in all that time I never saw the like of the game in Copenhagen. For such an important game it was disgusting to see so many “fans” with so little interest in what was happening on the pitch. Some were so pissed they could hardly stand, others just wanted more pints or selfies and others seemed to think the teams job was to entertain them. You can blame ticket allocations and all that but you cannot explain such a high percentage of a***oles.

There have always been a few morons at away games and lads who you knew would be trouble at home at the weekend. However they were a small minority and were on their best behaviour. There was peer pressure and a sense that we were representing our country and that the fans and the team were one unit, players doing their stuff on the pitch and us doing ours on the terrace or stand. There was an innocence about us as well. We were just happy to be there after years of heartache. At the games themselves I’ve seen grown men cry and atheists pray and a lad beating the bodhran until his hands bled. The games mattered and it hurt like hell when you lost.

Now I think the match is becomming an excuse to go on a stag weekend with your mates. Its cheaper than ever before and if you buy your beer in the supermarket you can get pissed on very little money compared to Ireland. I am all in favour of getting hammered in a foreign city and we shifted industrial quantities ourselves in Copenhagen but the match must come first and people who get scarce tickets should be in good enough nick to make proper use of them. Otherwise what is the ****ing point?

I think it has been building up over time and I don’t see it stopping. The match gives a licence to go over the top and you have a herd mentality. I don’t have a major problem with the antics like Victoria’s secret. You have an Irish pub next to a lingerie shop. What do you think will happen? Would have been funnier if it was a porn store but its harmless. What does bother me is the next phase which might lead to violence and turn the whole thing sour. Oh and could we drop the brain dead James McClean chant.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote thebronze14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 10:10am
I see this with groups of Irish lads over for United games in the bar I'm in...All going round looking like their in peaky blinders, acting like Conor Mc Gregor. It's embarrassing. By and large the English Mancunian people we serve are must sounder tbh

Edited by thebronze14 - 15 Dec 2017 at 10:11am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 10:11am
Originally posted by kevincronin2000  Think its safe to say that the authorities in this country have lost the war on drugs so as a nation we have a high usuage of Cocaine and other recreational drugs. <br>[/QUOTE kevincronin2000  Think its safe to say that the authorities in this country have lost the war on drugs so as a nation we have a high usuage of Cocaine and other recreational drugs. 
[/QUOTE wrote:

I cannot give this enough laughing emojis, so I won't bother.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 10:11am

Sounds like you were in their wallsy.
I remember myself and Mrs Claret were on the bus and spotted The Walls and Sham heading into 7 eleven in Copenhagen , I said Cans ??? The Mrs said and a few Hot dogs I would say LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 10:13am

Had a pint in the Dubliner in Copenhagen after the match. It was like a f**king zoo LOL. The tables absolutely wedged with lads standing on top of them, everyone of them with their shirts off. Every single minute at least one would fall off, I'm amazed none of them who fell got seriously hurt. I went up to the bar anyway and one of these heroes was at the bar beside me ordering a treble vodka red bull. He says to me why I don't have my shirt off and that I should take it off. I says I'm grand for taking my shirt off thanks and he asks why not, am I some kind of fag. WTF LOL
Jaysis! LOL I have had a few good nights in gay bars, but this was my soundtrack to that post...

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ConorMac77 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 10:13am

That George Best lookalike wasn't one of them, was he, by any chance (remember hearing about his antics in Bordeaux at the Euros)? LOL

I've only been going on away trips since the Euro 2016 qualifiers and even in that short time I've started avoiding these 'official' ybig meetup bars and instead meeting up with the likes of the Quinn Towers, D69er and co in other bars which have a better balance between being busy and having a good atmosphere but where you can also move around the place, get served and hold a conversation without wrecking your throat due to having to shout to make yourself heard.

But in that relatively short time that I've been going to away games, I've definitely noticed more idiots on away trips and they've been in cities that are handy to get to and at weekends - there was a fight in Charlie P's in Vienna the night before the game there last year which was swiftly sorted out, one fella was kicking a door in the old town in Lyon (a number of other lads reacted by chanting 'Are you English in Disguise' at him, and when I saw lads kicking footballs at upstairs windows in Copenhagen last month, I swiftly moved on. Angry

Thankfully, nowhere near the levels of hooliganism that English, Russian fans etc are infamous for, and I hope to God it never will be but this definitely needs nipped in the bud but that's easier said than done for many people (myself included, I admit) in case they get turned on if they do try to pull anyone up for acting the maggot, especially if the culprit is off their head on drugs. So unless, someone has a better idea of dealing with it, we could be stuck with these idiots tagging along with us, especially if it's a handy-to-get-to venue at a weekend (as Copenhagen and Vienna were).

As has been mentioned above though, I think airline and railway staff need to grow a pair (unlike the fans, they are getting paid to ensure everyone's comfort and safety after all) and either refuse boarding to people behaving badly under the influence of whatever they've been taking (or arrange for the police to meet and arrest them on arrival) would definitely help curb bad behaviour. Thumbs Up
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 9>