Tennis Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 30>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 1:18pm

There is a murkier story behind Mirjana absence for a good few years so it would be great if she did win it.

I think Coco has the best chance of beating Serena. At the end of the day, peak Serena will beat everybody else.

Nadal is actually the fav to beat Raonic but I think Raonic will beat him, Will put a small bet on.
Nadal has been playing really well but he is nowhere near his peak level when he didn't make any mistakes.
Its a fast court so Raonic should win this. 

Either way, both semi-finals should be great and the final will be good too.
Novak v Murray matches are not great viewing.

Saw this before the game but let it slide. A ridiculous statement. 

of course you did  Embarrassed

Peak he was #1 in the world. 

Yeah I did. Save your childish emoticons. How anyone could say he was so far off his peak after his display in the tournament even before today was madness. He was slight favourite today for a reason.

I don't care about ranking. He wasn't playing much better in his peak than he's been playing in Australia this last 10 days.

Thats just rubbish. The Rafa that won 3 GS in 2010 or the beast in 2008/2012 was at a much higher level than now. He would admit himself he is not playing his very best. 
You are basing it on such a short term view. Thats akin to saying Wales were world beaters after the EUROs or Jack Grealish was going to play for England after a handful of good games with Aston Villa.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrendanD88 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 1:23pm

There is a murkier story behind Mirjana absence for a good few years so it would be great if she did win it.

I think Coco has the best chance of beating Serena. At the end of the day, peak Serena will beat everybody else.

Nadal is actually the fav to beat Raonic but I think Raonic will beat him, Will put a small bet on.
Nadal has been playing really well but he is nowhere near his peak level when he didn't make any mistakes.
Its a fast court so Raonic should win this. 

Either way, both semi-finals should be great and the final will be good too.
Novak v Murray matches are not great viewing.

Saw this before the game but let it slide. A ridiculous statement. 

of course you did  Embarrassed

Peak he was #1 in the world. 

Yeah I did. Save your childish emoticons. How anyone could say he was so far off his peak after his display in the tournament even before today was madness. He was slight favourite today for a reason.

I don't care about ranking. He wasn't playing much better in his peak than he's been playing in Australia this last 10 days.

Thats just rubbish. The Rafa that won 3 GS in 2010 or the beast in 2008/2012 was at a much higher level than now. He would admit himself he is not playing his very best. 
You are basing it on such a short term view. Thats akin to saying Wales were world beaters after the EUROs or Jack Grealish was going to play for England after a handful of good games with Aston Villa.

Agree with this.

Do you think Federer is near his peak level Rolo?
keitho5 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote keitho5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 1:27pm
Rolo in talking sh*te shocker

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 2:49pm
That girl on the last page looks more like Jelena Dokic.

In fact, I'm pretty sure it is.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GB 1HughJarse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 3:16pm
I'm a big Federer fan.
It would be awful for Fed to lose another GS final to Nadal.
Think Nadal will get to final, Fed has tougher game against Stan.
Winner of Fed/Stan will get an extra day's rest before the final.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 3:22pm

It is...
Another girl who's tennis suffered from parental issues.

Looking forward to the semi-final tomorrow. Fed has a much better h2h but Stanimal can raise his game to such a high level like he did at the US open.
Hoping for a fed v Nadal final so will go for Fed.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rolo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 3:32pm
Nadal was very close to his best today lads, and at times he played like he was at his best.. How anyone can say he was "no where near" his peak levels is beyond me.

First time in 3 years Ive seen Nadal play at that level.

Im not saying he's going to win three grand slams. But I expected him to beat Raonic today. As did the bookies.

So I dont see whats a short term view?! Dont get that at all. Surely we're allowed to base an opinion on the form shown in the tournament!?

And no I dont think Federer is playing at his peak but Ive been impressed with him in this tournament so far.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shoco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 3:35pm
Nadal must be back on the drugs

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rolo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 3:37pm

Why would he have stopped taking them at all, if its so easy to get away with?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shoco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 4:38pm

Why would he have stopped taking them at all, if its so easy to get away with?

recent court cases in Spain

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hans Moleman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jan 2017 at 5:58pm

My googling skills are letting me down Ouch

Here is Lucic Baroni in 1999

Image result for mirjana lucic 1999

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jan 2017 at 6:30am
Looks like it will be a Williams sisters final again - 14 years after the first and only one in the Aussie open. Venus is 36!!

edit:

Is is - Serena is 35 and Venus is 36!
Its their 9th GS final meeting. 

Edited by Zinedine Kilbane 110 - 26 Jan 2017 at 8:14am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jan 2017 at 11:45am
Game, set and match - Federer
Wawrinka 5-7 3-6 6-1 6-4 3-6 Federer

At 35 years old!   
Could he win this 18th Grand Slam title?  Fedal final looks on.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrendanD88 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jan 2017 at 1:23pm

Game, set and match - Federer
Wawrinka 5-7 3-6 6-1 6-4 3-6 Federer

At 35 years old!   
Could he win this 18th Grand Slam title?  Fedal final looks on.

I am amazed at how well Fed has played in this tournamnet, a 35year old returning after a 6 month lay off to compete at such a level is incredible Clap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ShamtheRam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jan 2017 at 2:58pm
Federer . Greatest of all time Clap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jan 2017 at 1:48pm

Murray out..... He absolutely blew it against a guy that has never beaten him before.

Could we see a Fed v Nadal final!!!!

Its on   Clap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rolo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jan 2017 at 6:41pm
Nadal was absolutely superb again today. Great to see him back at that level.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jan 2017 at 8:59am
Nadal v Dimitrov match was one of the best ever. 5 close sets and winners from everywhere. The total points difference was 186 v 179.

Hopefully the 5 hour match tires Nadal out for Fed!
I really want Fed to win another given he's been so close the last few years.

Serena should win today and beat Steffi Grafs record of 22 grand slams,

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 30>