Georgia - 12th Oct 2019- Travel & Acomm

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 5859606162 171>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ringerbell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2017 at 1:59am
Originally posted by cathalb96 cathalb96 wrote:

Protected, no doubt it's fine.

They'll want you to make it and get you an escort if needs be. Sure chances are the planes will probably be sitting next to one another on the tarmac. Even if the first flight is 30 minutes late, it'll still be grand.

So no such thing as going back out through security and all that then no?

I take it you're flying with Air Baltic? We took that route to Gatwick on the previous occasion and will be again this time.

When we landed in Riga we had to disembark, went through a door to the terminal, took a sharp right and joined the queue to board the plane to London which just happened to be the same plane we just got off...a bit farcical but I guess I can always say I've been to Latvia LOL

I'm sure it'll be the same set up again.

Yep flying with Air Baltic to Gatwick, and that does sound a bit of a farce but at least you can't miss it I suppose , havent booked it but probably doing it the morning of Serbia game because the day before is very expensive, get home with loads of time just be wrecked for the match

There is only around €40 a difference between the Monday and Tuesday flights (price found on skyscanner now). Having arrived back in dublin the day of a home game previously I'd highly recommend paying the little extra and getting home day before Serbia game that way you get a rest before such an important game ( less time I arrived hime day of a game I was struggling to keep awake in 114 that night)

Getting the Monday flight also means if for any reason you be delayed you won't be missing the Serbia game

Tyronebhoy View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tyronebhoy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2017 at 5:36pm
They seem to be a bit more organised transfer-wise from Tbilisi Airport compared to the last time. There's now a minibus/bus service running 24/7 to the city centre and back again. It's service number 37 I think, with a stop outside Arrivals, and is buttons compared to the rip-off bastard taxi drivers who'll be round you like flies the minute you get into the arrivals hall. I've been lucky enough to organise a flight that gets me in in the late afternoon, but I'd say most fans will be touching down at some ungodly hour, so it'll be a good option

Edited by Tyronebhoy - 15 May 2017 at 5:39pm
Northmen, Southmen, Comrades All

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2017 at 5:39pm
The rip off drivers charged us €15 last time, really put a dent in the spending money, was like a nights beer money Cry
deebee View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deebee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2017 at 6:45pm
The train only goes twice a day.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tyronebhoy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2017 at 7:16pm
Originally posted by deebee deebee wrote:

Yep, seems to be designed for people working at the airport rather than customers Wacko
deebee View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deebee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2017 at 7:41pm
Originally posted by Tyronebhoy Tyronebhoy wrote:

Yep, seems to be designed for people working at the airport rather than customers Wacko
The bus from Airport to Freedom square is 34 stops Confused

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tyronebhoy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2017 at 9:06pm

Originally posted by Tyronebhoy Tyronebhoy wrote:

The bus from Airport to Freedom square is 34 stops Confused

I'm the other side of the river, so I reckon I'm only about stop number 17 LOL 
Linzark View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Linzark Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2017 at 2:59am
What is the best option.....eg Thursday - Sunday, Friday-Monday etc ? Also are trains frequent from Kutaisi to Tbilisi and how much approximately do they cost ?
Jock View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2017 at 11:53am
Long stop overs in Munich are putting me off. Think ill pay few extra quid go via Warsaw.

Are there any other routes into Tbilisi bar Istanbul,  Munich and Warsaw that entails only one stop over from Dublin?
deebee View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deebee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2017 at 12:16pm
Originally posted by Jock Jock wrote:

Long stop overs in Munich are putting me off. Think ill pay few extra quid go via Warsaw.

Are there any other routes into Tbilisi bar Istanbul,  Munich and Warsaw that entails only one stop over from Dublin?
Ukraine airlines flying from Amsterdam to Tbilisi with 2 and a half hour stop over in Kiev.
Plenty of flights at different times from Dublin to Amsterdam so not too bad depending on which flight you take from Amsterdam.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drumcondra 69er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2017 at 12:57pm

Which flight to Luton are people getting to catch the flight to Kutaisi? Booked on the 4pm from Dublin which should give us around an hour and a half to get through Luton airport. barring delays, Should be alright

I'm on that flight on the Thursday, is that what you're on? Bit nervy about the connection, had similar through Stansted to Moldova last year and made it but was bricking it the whole journey to Stansted....
cathalb96 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cathalb96 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2017 at 1:14pm

Which flight to Luton are people getting to catch the flight to Kutaisi? Booked on the 4pm from Dublin which should give us around an hour and a half to get through Luton airport. barring delays, Should be alright

I'm on that flight on the Thursday, is that what you're on? Bit nervy about the connection, had similar through Stansted to Moldova last year and made it but was bricking it the whole journey to Stansted....

Yeah us and two others are on the 4pm flight. Its due in to Luton at 5:15 but you know Ryanair it doesn't take an hour and 15 minutes to get to Luton, and I've been monitoring the flight the past few days its been getting in before 5:15 regularly so hopefully it should be alright, never been in Luton but can't imagine its huge. We had a two hour stopover in Stansted coming back from Vienna, flight leaving Vienna was delayed by 30 minutes and then we had to wait for one of those Monorail things in Stansted so was tight enough.
Cathal Bourke
Charlton's Child View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Charlton's Child Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2017 at 1:28pm

Yeah us and two others are on the 4pm flight. Its due in to Luton at 5:15 but you know Ryanair it doesn't take an hour and 15 minutes to get to Luton, and I've been monitoring the flight the past few days its been getting in before 5:15 regularly so hopefully it should be alright, never been in Luton but can't imagine its huge. We had a two hour stopover in Stansted coming back from Vienna, flight leaving Vienna was delayed by 30 minutes and then we had to wait for one of those Monorail things in Stansted so was tight enough.

Didnt fancy risking that flight so got an early morning flight and will kill a few hours in london before hand. Luton is small enough so all go to plan id say youll have enough time.
cathalb96 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cathalb96 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2017 at 1:37pm
Originally posted by Charlton's Child Charlton's Child wrote:

Didnt fancy risking that flight so got an early morning flight and will kill a few hours in london before hand. Luton is small enough so all go to plan id say youll have enough time.

Yeah hopefully be alright. Yous all booking a place in Kutaisi for a few hours kip before the train the next day?
Cathal Bourke

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Borussia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2017 at 1:43pm

Yeah hopefully be alright. Yous all booking a place in Kutaisi for a few hours kip before the train the next day?

Yeah, the lads are in with me. 
Changed our hotel after you pointed out I had booked somewhere near the wrong train station !!

Booked into a place called "Hotel Kutaisi Globus"
cathalb96 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cathalb96 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2017 at 1:53pm

Yeah, the lads are in with me. 
Changed our hotel after you pointed out I had booked somewhere near the wrong train station !!

Booked into a place called "<span style="font-family: "Helvetica Neue", "Segoe UI", Helvetica, Arial, "Lucida Grande", sans-serif; font-size: 18px; white-space: nowrap;">Hotel Kutaisi Globus"</span>

Perfect, we'll have a look for somewhere reasonable around there
Cathal Bourke

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2017 at 1:59pm
Originally posted by Linzark Linzark wrote:

What is the best option.....eg Thursday - Sunday, Friday-Monday etc ? Also are trains frequent from Kutaisi to Tbilisi and how much approximately do they cost ?

Trains are not overly frequent - matter of fact, there is only one a day. They are more frequent from the mainline station at a place called Rioni. Imagine the following: Tbilisi is Dublin. Kutaisi is Tipperary town. Rioni is Limerick Junction. There are more Cork - Dublin trains than Tipperary - Dublin ones (admittedly there are no direct Dublin - Tipperary trains, but the geography is similar) so there are more options from Limerick Junction (in this case Rioni).

There is only one train from Kutaisi to Tbilisi each day. It takes just over five hours and costs 7.50 Lari. It leaves at 12:15. You'd be advised to book in advance (max 30 days out) from www.railway.ge just to make sure you get a seat as there is a chance it could be fully booked.

There are a couple of evening trains from Rioni, however. 19:19 and 20:06, taking less than 3h20m. Rioni is about a 15 minute taxi ride from Kutaisi, which should only cost a couple of euro. Those trains cost a little bit more (11.50 Lari second class, 20.50 Lari first class) but for the extra speed and comfort, they're probably worth it. 1 euro is about 2.60 Lari, so the slower train is under 3 euro, and the faster one just over 4 euro in second class and about 9 euro in first class.

There is also an earlier train from Rioni at 10:10, but I doubt you want that. The time difference makes it effectively a 07:10 train - screw that. Similarly, there's a train at 01:39, and again I doubt you want to be sitting on a train through the night, arriving at 06:20 (effectively 03:20 Irish time).

I'm staying in Kutaisi on the Wednesday night (landing from Milan about midnight) and I'm planning on getting one of the Thursday evening trains down.

There are frequent minibuses as well which are likely quicker and cheaper again but the train is safer at least.

Edited by SuperDave84 - 16 May 2017 at 2:08pm
Darraghn92 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darraghn92 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 May 2017 at 2:11pm
Originally posted by Jock Jock wrote:

Greece has decent stopovers via Athens or Thessaloniki
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 5859606162 171>