World Cup Qualification Group D Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 177178179180181 190>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RKeane Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 9:49pm

We have 17 yellows and no reds.

Greece have 17 yellows and 3 reds (one straight, and two for two yellows).

So if we win 3-0, we will be through, provided we don't do it in an incredibly undisciplined way.

That words out as -17 fair play points for us, but -27 fair play points for Greece.

3-0

Edited by RKeane - 07 Oct 2017 at 9:49pm
YESSSS! IT'S THERE

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kearney304 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 9:49pm
SuperDaves knowledge is off the charts. I thought it was just restricted to trains / ferries etc. But if you asked him any question he would probably know. LOL

Edited by kearney304 - 07 Oct 2017 at 9:50pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 9:50pm
Originally posted by djhegzy djhegzy wrote:

Righr so, greece can finish on 13 points now too like us, they only have +6 goal difference, and im sure a few of those were against the rock, catchable?
Greece have +7. They beat Gibraltar by 3 goals so they're on +4. We're on +1.

Darraghn92 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darraghn92 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 9:50pm
So basically we need Croatia and Ukraine to draw or Scotland to lose. If not, then we need to beat Wales 3-0 to knock Greece out
VanBosch View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VanBosch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 9:51pm
I dont know which is more impressive, your encyclopedic knowledge of European train options, or the super spreadsheet you must have on the go which by the looks of it includes fair play points! 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kearney304 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 9:51pm
Originally posted by Darraghn92 Darraghn92 wrote:

So basically we need Croatia and Ukraine to draw or Scotland to lose. If not, then we need to beat Wales 3-0 to knock Greece out

***or draw 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hans Moleman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 9:52pm
Originally posted by gazurtoids gazurtoids wrote:

Sweden's goal difference is +10 already without the Luxembourg goals. They'll be grand I imagine. At least, I doubt they'll lose out on goal difference, if it comes to it.

Also, they beat Belarus by a combined total of 8-0 (4-0 home and away). Once they went 7-0 on Luxembourg, they were in the same position, because they only beat Luxembourg 1-0 away. No reason for them to be "disappointed" for these goals not to count in the second place table.

The Swedes destroyed Luxembourg to seal 2nd spot. Without these goals they were haeading for a make or break game against the Dutch away from home. Now it's a dead rubber.

What a ridiculous load of cobblers ....why don't they even up the number groups to avoid this nonsense ......could easily be done with pre-qualifiers for the minnow minnows the same way it'd done for club tournaments

I agree that it's nonsense. That's not really the issue though. The issue is that other countries are aware of all the permutations, and then they try and cover all their bases if at all possible to give them every chance to finish 1st/2nd and make the playoffs.

We, on the other hand, have a management team who have taken little to no notice of how the qualification criteria actually works. It sounded like from his interviews MON was barely aware of the danger we were in of finishing 2nd and still missing out on a playoff. Last night was a f*cking debacle as well. Lads are going on about conserving energy, etc. It's nonsense. Our management team did not take notice of the fact that top spot was still a possibility, even if a very slim one. We effectively killed any chance of that automatic spot by giving up the second half of the match and ceding possession to a woeful Moldovan side.
VanBosch View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VanBosch Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 9:53pm
assuming Portugal beat Switzerland next Tuesday, you'd have to feel sorry for Switzerland going into the play-offs with 9 wins out of 10.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 9:56pm

Originally posted by djhegzy djhegzy wrote:

Righr so, greece can finish on 13 points now too like us, they only have +6 goal difference, and im sure a few of those were against the rock, catchable?
Greece have +7. They beat Gibraltar by 3 goals so they're on +4. We're on +1.

Exactly. I'm assuming they beat the rock on Tuesday and finish second.

Their results against Gibraltar won't count anyway.

Their record for second place is thus set, on 13 points, 9 scored, 5 conceded.

We have 10 points, 6 scored, 5 conceded.

So if we win 3-0, we end up on 13 points, 9 scored, 5 conceded, which is when the fair play record will come into it.
eviemonkey View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eviemonkey Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 10:00pm
Originally posted by VanBosch VanBosch wrote:

assuming Portugal beat Switzerland next Tuesday, you'd have to feel sorry for Switzerland going into the play-offs with 9 wins out of 10.

Not really. They are a miserable bunch. On and off the field.

Portugal would add a lot more to the tournament.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 10:07pm
Incidentally, that now means group A doesn't matter at all, not even one little bit.

Literally the best case scenario there is a 6-0 win for the Netherlands over Sweden. That leaves the Swedes with a counting GD of +4 (17 scored, 13 conceded), so long as Luxembourg finish bottom there.

As Greece's record is already worse than that, and as the second placed team in that group will definitely have a better record than that, there is nothing to consider in that group.

Northern Ireland's record is currently +5, 10 scored, 5 conceded. We'd like them to ship a few tomorrow to make it a bit more interesting for us.

Denmark are currently +7 GD with a home game against Romania to come, so it would also be good if they lose by a hatful there, unlikely and all as that is.
Darraghn92 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Darraghn92 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 10:07pm

Originally posted by Darraghn92 Darraghn92 wrote:

***or draw 

Ah yes my bad

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 10:20pm
Basic permutations:

Tomorrow:
Scotland not to win - that happens, we're grand with any win.
Norway to beat Northern Ireland by a few - if Norway win by one, that group won't matter, as the Greece group will provide a better out (they are +4, 9 scored, 5 conceded, NI are +5, 10 scored, 5 conceded at the minute). If Norway win by a few, then we may be able to overtake Northern Ireland on GD. They are +5, we are +1. If we are level on GD, chances are they'll take us on goals scored (not definitely though). We are 6 scored, 5 conceded, so a 1-0 loss for them and a 3-0 win for us and they still take us on goals scored (10/6, as opposed to 9/5).
Denmark are +7 GD - we need Montenegro not to win in Poland and Denmark to lose by a few - if they lose by anything less than four, it won't matter, as the Greece group will provide a better out.

Monday:
Us to win 3-0 - that happens, we're in the playoffs no matter what (well, assuming we retain a basic acquaintance with good discipline).
Ukraine and Croatia to draw - any win is then good enough for us.
Greece not to beat Gibraltar and Bosnia to beat Estonia - any win is then good enough for us.

That's the long and short of it. The Scotland one is thus basically it. Without it happening, we're close to f**ked.

Edited by SuperDave84 - 07 Oct 2017 at 10:30pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 10:25pm
So the realistic ones are Scotland not to win and Ukraine and Croatia to draw. The other options are a fair bit less likely.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maccatacca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 10:26pm
Gut feeling says that the jocks finally get their act together tomorrow.
grannyrule View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote grannyrule Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 10:27pm
Gary Mackay and the one-nil loss to Georgia the last campaign, can Scotland do us another favour tomorrow night?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kearney304 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 10:27pm
Thanks bud, you go from feeling optimistic to feeling flat. F**king rollercoaster of emotions and I haven't even got on the plane yet Confused

Edited by kearney304 - 07 Oct 2017 at 10:28pm
Strazdas View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Strazdas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 10:28pm
Originally posted by elroy45 elroy45 wrote:

Oh Slovenia please don't lose tomorrow, nerves are gonna be bad enough on Monday without needing two results to go our way

I reckon they'll get a result tomorrow. They've yet to even concede a goal at home in this group and have been a consistently good side at home for a few years.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 177178179180181 190>