U.S Politics

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 216217218219220 334>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 May 2020 at 6:19pm
Is Biden really the best the Democrats could put forward? A racist with wandering hands? They can only blame themselves if they don't win it.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gufct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 May 2020 at 7:25pm
trump losing it over Fox News poll showing Biden winning.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2020 at 1:44pm
Yeah, things are just great in the US at the moment. Just great. Those who warned about Trump being a fascist should have been listened to. By God, how they were proven right.
Jackal View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jackal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2020 at 4:42pm
The person who decided to arrest the telly reporter must be a bit slow. What as he thinking on live television like?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote reddladd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2020 at 5:11pm
US cops don't come across as the most reasonable bunch. They certainly don't do any reasoning. Say what you like about the Gardai but they're light years ahead of that lot. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2020 at 5:15pm
Originally posted by Jackal Jackal wrote:

The person who decided to arrest the telly reporter must be a bit slow. What as he thinking on live television like?
He was thinking the reporter was ethnic minority. Which seeems to be an arrestable offence in America.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote seanyshuffler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2020 at 5:33pm

Donald trump will win the election. He's hitting hardcore republican values, in military and also financially.

Hillary Clinton ruined herself due to lack of transparency.

Mystic Byrner saw it in the clouds.StarClap
Jackal View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jackal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2020 at 6:32pm

He was thinking the reporter was ethnic minority. Which seeems to be an arrestable offence in America.
I went to the Hoover Dam before, three police officers checked everyone on the way in. One said 'Any Muslims aboard?'LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Double Maxim Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2020 at 8:10pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2020 at 9:29pm

I went to the Hoover Dam before, three police officers checked everyone on the way in. One said 'Any Muslims aboard?'LOL

They don't play over over there. Was on a bus from Cleveland to New York years ago and we were near enough the Canadian border round Buffalo I think. The cops came on and checked all our I.D's/passports but there was one latino fella who wouldn't answer the cops question on how he got into the country. He was pretending he could't understand English but they hauled him off the bus straight away.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2020 at 9:32pm
The "are there any Muslims on board" thing is not remotely funny though. It's just racism. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 May 2020 at 10:16pm

The "are there any Muslims on board" thing is not remotely funny though. It's just racism. 

I'm laughing at the absurdity of it not the actual victimising of Muslims.  
Jackal View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jackal Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2020 at 12:43am

I know that. It's  just the way they said it. Stupid baseball hats on and a big machine gun. The dam was full of freaks who thought the government built it to hide aliens.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sid waddell Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2020 at 9:11am

I'm laughing at the absurdity of it not the actual victimising of Muslims.  

I know that. It's  just the way they said it. Stupid baseball hats on and a big machine gun. The dam was full of freaks who thought the government built it to hide aliens.
OK. The thing is, I've completely lost any ability to see humour in the situation in the US. I just see it as profoundly depressing, it makes me very angry, and I see Trump, the Republican party and this whole crazy white supremacist, fascist ideology that has swept through so much of white America as nothing more than pure evil. I saw it that way from the start. It's like a malignant cancer, and it's linked to so many appalling situations internationally. If it doesn't end in November (and it won't because he'll be there until January at least), I fear catastrophic things are going to happen, not that they aren't already, but on a much greater scale. This guy and his international allies are an existential threat to our world.
Dalymount79 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dalymount79 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2020 at 9:37am
A good read in The Atlantic- most of them are - it’s framed around the pandemic and how its spreading in the US.

But also touches on roots of social injustice and imbalance over there.

30 minutes with a brew of choice required.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Het-field Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2020 at 10:38am

I’m not giving that impression at all. The fact that you keep returning to “Warren had nothing to offer, therefore she wasn’t elected” is just superficial.

Would MLM be Taoiseach with extra seats? Chances are, she wouldn’t, as those seats would have been at the expense of other “left wingers”, who would be needed to prop her up. The fact that you refer to a “far left socialist agenda” actually would suggest you never paid any attention to the election, the campaign or their manifesto. So we can park that.

As a social conservative, I don't pay attention to left wing manifestos, and don't vote for their parties. I also can't vote for any FG candidate until they  have a proper leader in charge. All the seats in my constituency went to angry left wingers howling at the moon, who all want our economy to be what it was before we joined the EU in exchange for a "fairer" society, so obviously none of the candidates I voted for were elected. 

She would be leading the government if she ran more candidates, and having to explain to the public why taxes must rise, why houses can't be built, and why her manifesto had to be ripped up and thrown in the bin. After all, "isn't that what you say at election time?" But she didn't, so she can spend the next couple of years playing the tooth fairy to those who will listen, sweep to power at the next election, then let them all down. 

I’m not sure if the assumption that they will sweep to power. In more extreme examples Trump is very much in the hunt for re-election and the Tories turned a two year period of disaster and parliamentary loss after loss into an overall majority. If a government is formed, and remains stable for five years, they will be in the hunt for re-election in 2025. SF will undoubtedly continue in with their nonsense “I’ll have what you’re having approach”, while abstaining in Westminster (a platform they were voted for on), and being the “opposition” within the power sharing agreement up north. It’s easy to scratch their surface.

But I think on another note, what scares me about the George Floyd (RIP) killing is that it may actually only be the thin edge of the wedge, and that things are about to get a whole lot worse.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MC Hammered Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2020 at 11:31am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 May 2020 at 11:38am

Good speech from Killer Mike

https://mobile.twitter.com/FareedNBCS/status/1266587297706893312

I didn't know too much about him prior to today, I knew the name and that was it really,  but he seems like he has a heart and a brain and genuinely cares about his hometown. He came across very well there.

It is rare I would say this about a cop, but their chief of police deserves credit for going on to the street and meeting them. 
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 216217218219220 334>