Oriel Park should be nuked

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Oriel Park should be nuked
    Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 8:57pm
Kip of a ground and a kip of a pitch. Rip up that thing.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PanteirA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 9:04pm
I think I met someone last week in Portugal who was an expert in Nukes.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 9:04pm
No it shouldnt. I hate Dundalk as much as anyone. Granted the place needs a lot of work etc but destroying the thing completely is ridiculous. We moan about modern stadia but any of the old stadia we have we want to destroy.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 9:11pm

No it shouldnt. I hate Dundalk as much as anyone. Granted the place needs a lot of work etc but destroying the thing completely is ridiculous. We moan about modern stadia but any of the old stadia we have we want to destroy.

Yes it should.  Here's a dramatisation that displays the benefits of nuking

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 9:13pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 9:22pm
Well done TJ , drag it down before it starts.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 9:23pm

Well done TJ , drag it down before it starts.

What?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 9:25pm
Stupid pics and vids. If you want to discuss Oriel Pk then go for it if you want to yet again act the maghot then head off to the whatever section.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 9:27pm
I am discussing it. I think it should be nuked.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 9:29pm
Thats not discussing it, thats just making a statement.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 9:32pm

Thats not discussing it, thats just making a statement.

Excellent

irishmale0399 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmale0399 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 9:41pm
Trap Junior would you ever go off into a dark corner and drink a very big bottle of cop on...........

The clubs new owners are trying to sort out the lease on the stadium so they can claim grants etc., add to that the €100,000 for winning the league, the first year in the CL..........where should the money come from to do up the ground after where it was 4-5 years ago????

Or are you just sitting at home nursing your frustration.....christ there is Dundalk playing good football, management stabilising the financial side of the business, their fans have something to shout about........and they are winning things. What team do you follow??

Answer one simple question.......Where should the money come from for the club to build/rebuild the stadium to meet your high standard??? And I dont mean that only for Dundalk.....there are plenty of stadia in Ireland in need of investment. Where should the money come from???

As for nuking Dundalk....I am sure there are plenty of Dundalk lads who would love to nuke other places north and south of the Boyne Wink

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 9:45pm
Originally posted by irishmale0399 irishmale0399 wrote:

Trap Junior would you ever go off into a dark corner and drink a very big bottle of cop on...........

The clubs new owners are trying to sort out the lease on the stadium so they can claim grants etc., add to that the €100,000 for winning the league, the first year in the CL..........where should the money come from to do up the ground after where it was 4-5 years ago????

Or are you just sitting at home nursing your frustration.....christ there is Dundalk playing good football, management stabilising the financial side of the business, their fans have something to shout about........and they are winning things. What team do you follow??

Answer one simple question.......Where should the money come from for the club to build/rebuild the stadium to meet your high standard??? And I dont mean that only for Dundalk.....there are plenty of stadia in Ireland in need of investment. Where should the money come from???

As for nuking Dundalk....I am sure there are plenty of Dundalk lads who would love to nuke other places north and south of the Boyne Wink

Galway Utd.

If they cant get money off the FAI, grants or investors they need a long term bank loan. I saw the 1979 European Cup campaign and Oriel is still exactly the same. As for that pitch, it should be ripped up. Joke of a surface. How much did ye waste on that?

irishmale0399 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmale0399 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 10:17pm
Stadium is still as it was at the beginning of the 80s when I was going with my grandfather and father to games. It is a result of a hugh amount of mismanagement over the years by former club owners (but solely not a DFC problem, plenty of other examples) and the typical short term success wish of the average LOI supporter/Club. If the club are not winning trophies or fighting at the top supporters dont come through the gates, sponsors stay away.....That is unfortunately the reality of the Irish game. Arent Celtic, ManUTD and Liverpool more attractive and on tv......

Now lets look at what the new owners are reported to be doing......

1. Are trying to secure ownership of the lease (to allow for the application of grants over €20,000), are working in the background on sponsorship deals and are trying to promote the club in the whole north east.......generate more gate revenue. This may then make for a sound financial basis to start doing up Oriel Park etc. etc.

2. They are rumoured to be talking to DKIT about a new build......again more revenue will be needed to make this happen.......ie. more prize money, grants, TV money or more gate income. Prize money cannot be the basis of any plan to finance a stadium.......no certainty that we will win the league or qualify for the CL.

Re Pitch:
Its not optimal...that is something everyone within the club knows......however.....it has passed all stress tests put down by the FAI and UEFA and is passed fit to play on so clubs have to accept it and get on with it.
If I remember correctly it was put down to generate more income for the club from renting it out to third party users, something which the new owners have reduced drastically. Was also claimed at the time that the pitch would cost less to maintain than a grass pitch long term and the club would be out of their financial problems quicker.......

Now to your idea of long term bank loans to do up or rebuild........
€100,000 prize money for the LOI....
CL money if you qualify....
Then sponsorship and gate receipts.........average attendance of maybe 2,500-3,000 per game paying an average of €15 entrance. Now that and sponsorship money is what the club live from on a daily basis...........Where should the bank get their money from??? I assume the club needs approx. minimum €3-5million.....no bank in this world will give a LOI club that money in the current economy with the finances involved. Risk is way too high.
The FAI are up to their necks in debt as it stands so they aint going to secure or issue loans to the club and if you look at JDs actions in the last few months you can see he is hoping for the DKIT deal....otherwise he wouldnt have been in Dundalk a few weeks ago at the opening of the DKIT sports facility speaking it all up and praising the work being done.
Now lets say DFC do get a new stadium or get the finances to do up Oriel Park what will the rest of the league have to cry about then...????

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shoco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 10:34pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2015 at 10:37pm
It's not a question of having a go at Dundalk. I think they play great football and I'm impressed with Kenny and the fitness of the players. Scored a few great goals tonight.

But other LOI clubs have respectable facilities. It doesn't have to be a 10,000 all seater. Even a more modern terrace or more modern covered seating.  At the end of the day football clubs need to be run like a business and sometimes long term investment has to be made at expense.  Businesses are getting by even in the recession. Are there no benefactors from Dundalk that could throw some money at it?

The LOI needs a revamped image to gain new support. Grounds need to be more fan friendly, and make the league somewhat professional. Bad grounds just make the league look amateurish and as if nobody gives a fook about it. Compare it even to Irish rugby grounds now like Leinster and Munster and the image looks terrible. No wonder we are losing people to rugby.

Even a small example is inadequate toilet facilities at some LOI grounds. Some have no toilet paper and I would say most dont even have soap to wash your hands.

Dundalk as champions are our representative in Europe. Seeing them play Bate in that decrepit ground reflects badly on Irish football and doesn't gain the league any admirers.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Oct 2015 at 11:54am
Question:  If you are driving up the M1 motorway from Dublin towards  Dundalk and you take the exit for Dundalk, there is a signpost which says Oriel Park 6km pointing out into the countryside away from the town. Its a permanent signpost. Yet the ground is in the town in the opposite direction.  Whats that about?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Oct 2015 at 12:05pm

Question:  If you are driving up the M1 motorway from Dublin towards  Dundalk and you take the exit for Dundalk, there is a signpost which says Oriel Park 6km pointing out into the countryside away from the town. Its a permanent signpost. Yet the ground is in the town in the opposite direction.  Whats that about?
If its a fingerpost signlike one in the pic then probably just been turned the wrong direction. Happens all the time with them.

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>