***YBIG STATEMENT R/E MEETING YESTERDAY***

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 8>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BabbsBalls Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ***YBIG STATEMENT R/E MEETING YESTERDAY***
    Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 5:57pm

Representatives of YBIG met with the FAI to discuss the ticketing issues surrounding the upcoming Scotland games and wider ticketing concerns.  Members of site have, for a significant period of time, have campaigned for a reform of the ticketing process.  These calls have been brought to a head over the Scotland game and the allocation of tickets.

Whilst we thank the FAI for taking the time to facilitate the meeting, it is clear that significant areas of concern remain.

YBIG outlined a summary of their findings from supporter submissions obtained over the last few days.  This showed a high volume of supporters who were inexplicably rejected tickets for this game. These included fans with 100% records for the previous qualifying campaign (and beyond), as well as many fans who have attended a large number of away games in recent years.

The FAI provided insight into the specific circumstances and challenges of this game, which has resulted in many missing out.  The FAI provided a general breakdown of the ticket allocation but were unable to provide information as to how many tickets were allocated to season ticket holders/individual fans, as a distinct category.  Representatives of the association were unable to fully explain how such a large number of people with extensive travel records missed out on tickets for this game.

The FAI outlined that given that tickets had been allocated, they have little or no scope in order to facilitate people rejected for this game.  They advised that they may able to source a very limited number of premium tickets.  Those present accepted the word of the FAI representatives and subsequently advised site users to source tickets alternatively.

The meeting also discussed in some detail the current ticket policies and operational decisions in a wider context.

Site members accept that given the high level of demand, the FAI were in a very difficult position in relation to tickets for this game. Representatives pointed out that the implementation of a simple system would have minimised the risk of the scenario which has arisen.  The FAI accepted that more of the regular travelers could have been facilitated.

Site members were surprised to learn that the Association had adopted a policy of prioritising requests from supporters clubs. YBIG strongly feel this had not been clearly communicated to supporters and the FAI were unable to produce clear evidence that this was communicated publicly. Therefore it was possible for a person without a season ticket and no away record to obtain a ticket ahead of a season ticket holder with an away record, and was accepted as such by the FAI.  YBIG members are aware of numerous cases where this has occurred.

In the absence of a detailed breakdown it is not possible to confirm the total numbers, but it is clear from the evidence collated by YBIG that a large number of season ticket holders with extensive travel records were rejected for tickets, with priority given to Supporters Clubs.

The FAI have a number of options, based on existing ticketing models and/or a simple system which could be quickly and simply deployed.  It is unclear why this is not already in place and the FAI were unable to clearly outline how they utilise the data at their disposal.  Site members proposed a ticketing model 18 months ago, and there was an acceptance by the FAI that a new system needs to be implemented in order to prevent a repeat of this type of situation.  However the FAI were unwilling to offer any firm commitments as to when this would be implemented.

YBIG site members are disappointed that the FAI are unable to commit to the implementation of a ticket scheme and feel that there is little more that site users can do.  The Association has opted to adopt a ticketing policy which has disenfranchised many of their most loyal supporters and is not prepared to explain their reasons for doing so.

Edited by BabbsBalls - 29 Oct 2014 at 6:36pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Borussia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:02pm
Sounds like you got fobbed off there Babs - What a joke.

Feel sorry for you guys who went there, asked the questions and got little back in terms of answers.

The FAI are trying to brush this under the carpet in the hope it goes away. We shouldn't let them.

Edited by Borussia - 29 Oct 2014 at 6:04pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daithi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:09pm
Again well done lads on behalf of YBIG fans and fellow non Ybig fans, great stuff fom the 4 of ye Clap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote theheff1989 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:11pm
Well done lads.
Declanus View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Declanus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:12pm
Fair play for meeting them to discuss the issues.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Borussia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:13pm
Forgot to add my thanks to my post above also - Fair play for putting yourselves out to do this.
niall290 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote niall290 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:14pm
Well done lads
June 2012 party time!!
MariborKev View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MariborKev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:15pm
Lads,

To be clear on this

We were willing to work with the FAI on this.  

We offered them a number of opportunities to work on this with us.

We were told specifically, to our face, that a maximum of 50 premium tickets could be sourced yesterday. We said that we appreciated the efforts of the FAI and that they should allocate them as they desired. We then advised everyone here to purchase SFA tickets.

However, we stressed in the strongest terms, that we would not accept the FAI attempt to pull a stroke on this one and then produce more tickets.   

We feel that the spirit of the meeting has been breached and therefore we must publicise this fuller account in order to reflect what occurred.

kopkid View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kopkid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:15pm
Fair play lads and a very well written and concise report.Clap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brianie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:15pm
Well Done Lads, Hopefully it gets the ball rolling in getting a transparent system in place before Warsaw next YearClap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gufct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:15pm
Well done lads excellent work I have emailed and Texted Journalists who are personal Friends. No let up until there is a n answer. The situation re: the allocation to SC's is disgraceful not blaming the sc's but we have to mmet these soon as they will be f**ked over like we were unless we all stand together.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:17pm
Yeah they've shafted you's to a certain extent.
Very disappointing re future ticket allocations and implementing change.
Thanks for representing
irelandshirts View Drop Down
I love Ireland jerseys

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irelandshirts Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:24pm
Surely from what's coming out and the possibility that for tight away games tickets will go to SC to distribute from the FAI especially as the FAI wont implement a system are YBIG out of the loop to a degree now?

Take an allocation for Poland of 3200.The same story could arise surely it makes more sense for YBIG to become an Official FAI SC and implement their own transparent ticket scheme based on the points model and that way the 150-200 regular aways would never miss out on the likes of Scotland/Poland etc.
WWW.IRELANDSOCCERSHIRTS.COM

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sligo Hornet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:25pm
Originally posted by MariborKev MariborKev wrote:

Lads,

To be clear on this

We were told specifically, to our face, that a maximum of 50 premium tickets could be sourced yesterday. We said that we appreciated the efforts of the FAI and that they should allocate them as they desired. We then advised everyone here to purchase SFA tickets.

However, we stressed in the strongest terms, that we would not accept the FAI attempt to pull a stroke on this one and then produce more tickets.   
<b style="line-height: 1.4;">
<b style="line-height: 1.4;">We feel that the spirit of the meeting has been breached and therefore we must publicise this fuller account in order to reflect what occurred.

Well done Kev...,but as you rightly say you were LIED too.... that is not an accident or oversight... it is a deliberate act and one I knew would occur ( as did most of us )

They also confirmed to you guys that they will NOT implement any ticket scheme.... confirming that they want to retain FULL CONTROL of ticket distribution

The Supporters Clubs who received their tickets may well find themselves no longer the flavour of the month the next time a situation like this arises.... they will change their minds as they wish whenever it suits

I will categorically refuse to accept any offer ( should I get one) of a Delaney Wonka's Golden Ticket

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brianie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:27pm

Originally posted by MariborKev MariborKev wrote:

Lads,

To be clear on this

<b style="line-height: 1.4;">
<b style="line-height: 1.4;">We feel that the spirit of the meeting has been breached and therefore we must publicise this fuller account in order to reflect what occurred.

Well done Kev...,but as you rightly say you were LIED too.... that is not an accident or oversight... it is a deliberate act and one I knew would occur ( as did most of us )

They also confirmed to you guys that they will NOT implement any ticket scheme.... confirming that they want to retain FULL CONTROL of ticket distribution

The Supporters Clubs who received their tickets may well find themselves no longer the flavour of the month the next time a situation like this arises.... they will change their minds as they wish whenever it suits

I will categorically refuse to accept any offer ( should I get one) of a Delaney Wonka's Golden Ticket
I Sincerely hope nobody does!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Citizen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:28pm
time to mobilise the troops

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Claret Murph Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:28pm
So as it stands the FAI do not to be errrrrr A-COUNT- ABLE for who gets tickets . Don't call us we will call you thanks and good night , ohh close the door behind you on your way out .
Feel for the lads who had to listen to this as nothing changes . i just hope we can keep this in the spot light and not let it drift as the FAI would like i bet .

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Steve Amsterdam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2014 at 6:35pm
The usual tripe from them. As expected,no real answers. And no statement from themselves either yet.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 8>