Dan Crowley

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 5051525354 62>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2019 at 3:17pm

Woth a surname like that, Mandriou must qualify for someone else, so I’m surprised he hasn’t got more mentions on here.
Romanian father, Irish mother. He’s from Ballymun and has played for our 19s & 21s
Has to be tied down against the Swiss.

delgado View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote delgado Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2019 at 4:39pm
we will not lose mandriou
gazurtoids View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gazurtoids Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2019 at 10:43pm
What's Dunphy say about Dan Crowley? is he a latter-day Andy Reid or Wes Hoolahan

lets ask our 'Spanish expert' .....which I always took to mean he had a paid sub for Sky sports (by rte probably)

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2019 at 10:44pm
Originally posted by delgado delgado wrote:

we will not lose mandriou
That’s the spirit!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kearney304 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 1:41pm

Eligibility or not, there is very little to suggest this lad is as good as he is being made out to be by some on here. He's played a handful of games for a poor enough team, then been dropped. With their recent results, he'll likely get back in soon enough anyway. 

For comparison purposes, Alan Browne is starting his 5th season in the championship, played over 30 games in each of the last 4 campaigns and scored 18 goals in the last 2 seasons from attacking midfield, also for a middling team, granted, generally better than Birmingham have been recently.  If Crowley had stats like that, or manages 8 or 10 goals by the end of this season, people would be demanding that he should be first name on the teamsheet. 

Yet Browne, who actually does have these stats, has played in a few friendlies (3) for us and struggled to stand out in them, could be dropped from Mick's squad tomorrow and it would barely get a single comment on here. In fact he will probably be struggling to stay in it regardless. 

So as far as I can make out, the fuss is either because Crowley is English born or that because people haven't seen him play for us yet, in people's heads, he has automatically become a better player than what we have, even though actual evidence so far (I'd accept its early days yet) doesn't really seem to suggest that at all. 

Have seen much of Crowley yourself?

+ 1 

The bollocks on here. 

Let's call up Paul Green

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gufct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 1:46pm
Dan Crowley is not eligible and has not shown anything that he deserves to be called up if he’s eligible

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DeclanDaly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 1:50pm

Dan Crowley is not eligible and has not shown anything that he deserves to be called up if he’s eligible

Whether he deserves a call up is a matter of opinion, but he IS eligible. He played for us underage, his switch from England is just being processed, so technically he is not eligible YET.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kearney304 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 2:00pm

So let me get this right. Lads deserve to be called up based on what exactly?

Because on quick glance of our 40 man squad - there are quite a few who haven't seen a minute of football this year.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 2:02pm

So let me get this right. Lads deserve to be called up based on what exactly?

Because on quick glance of our 40 man squad - there are quite a few who haven't seen a minute of football this year.
About the same as I have seen watching them in the last ten years...
Conan View Drop Down
I’m not very bright.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Conan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 2:57pm

Whether he deserves a call up is a matter of opinion, but he IS eligible. He played for us underage, his switch from England is just being processed, so technically he is not eligible YET.
Didn't Mick say himself he's not eligible, isn't that why he wasn't in the 40 man squad? To be eligible you have to be able to play for us. There's obviously something holding up his transfer of allegiance given it only took Rice a month, quite possibly the Johansson issue though I'm not sure how Robinson bypassed that? Maybe FIFA had only just noticed their own statute wording when Luxembourg pointed it out to them

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gufct Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 3:04pm
Crowley’s case is not cut and dried that’s what the delay is about.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BrendanD88 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 3:09pm

But Manning deserves a call up LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Left foot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 3:52pm
Originally posted by Conan Conan wrote:

Didn't Mick say himself he's not eligible, isn't that why he wasn't in the 40 man squad? To be eligible you have to be able to play for us. There's obviously something holding up his transfer of allegiance given it only took Rice a month, quite possibly the Johansson issue though I'm not sure how Robinson bypassed that? Maybe FIFA had only just noticed their own statute wording when Luxembourg pointed it out to them

Rice is not comparable as he is English born 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Aug 2019 at 11:45pm

Eligibility or not, there is very little to suggest this lad is as good as he is being made out to be by some on here. He's played a handful of games for a poor enough team, then been dropped. With their recent results, he'll likely get back in soon enough anyway. 

For comparison purposes, Alan Browne is starting his 5th season in the championship, played over 30 games in each of the last 4 campaigns and scored 18 goals in the last 2 seasons from attacking midfield, also for a middling team, granted, generally better than Birmingham have been recently.  If Crowley had stats like that, or manages 8 or 10 goals by the end of this season, people would be demanding that he should be first name on the teamsheet. 

Yet Browne, who actually does have these stats, has played in a few friendlies (3) for us and struggled to stand out in them, could be dropped from Mick's squad tomorrow and it would barely get a single comment on here. In fact he will probably be struggling to stay in it regardless. 

So as far as I can make out, the fuss is either because Crowley is English born or that because people haven't seen him play for us yet, in people's heads, he has automatically become a better player than what we have, even though actual evidence so far (I'd accept its early days yet) doesn't really seem to suggest that at all. 

Have seen much of Crowley yourself?

+ 1 

The bollocks on here. 

Let's call up Paul Green

Specify which of that is bollocks please. 

There are a few people (mostly same lads who get regularly excited about more or less anyone, including some of those saying all the same things about Jack Byrne a few years back) touting this lad for a call up, some even suggesting he is worthy of a place in the team. I haven't seen him, so I'm enquiring what all the fuss is about. 

One poster has replied so far stating that he believes he has greater ability than most in our squad (which is believable, if not provable) and that his football brain is better than anyone we have in the squad. 

I'm a little suspicious of that analysis, as if he was that good, he would hardly be playing for a struggling championship team in the first place. He was also dropped for their last game. He will undoubtedly get back into the team, its a long season etc, but if he was that good etc. 

One poster made a sensible point that Birmingham were playing a decent team and knew they wouldn't have much possession, so that may have been the reason he was dropped. Which is a fair point, but what exactly are Ireland if not a team who concedes most of the possession to the opposition ? So if you accept that argument (because the other argument is the manager doesn't think he is all that good) is a fair argument, then if he's no good to Birmingham in a game they won't have possession, he isn't going to be much good to us either (at least under this manager) ??

Ireland possession stats; Gib away-63%, Gib Home- 75%, Georgia home 49%, Denmark away 24% -that particular stat is similar to Birmingham's possession stats in the game he didn't play in.

Since Jack Charlton in 1986, our managers have mainly picked lads in midfield who could cover ground and get tackles in ahead of 'footballer type' midfielders, some of them (Keane, McGrath when he played there, R. Whelan etc) happened to be fine footballers as well, but that was probably secondary to their ability to put in a shift in terms of deciding who was picked in a lot of cases. 

When I see lads with the opinion that a fella who has played 3 games in the championship either should be, or is going to be, the man to change all that, I dunno why, but I remain a bit skeptical for some reason, bollocks or not. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kearney304 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 12:15pm
Just find your original post strange because you haven't seen him and you said the below:

there is very little to suggest this lad is as good as he is being made out to be by some on here

My point of view is this - we lack creative players. This guy can create. That is all. Whether he is good enough to start (for Mick) is another question. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Banjaxed Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 1:19pm
Nearly every squad that Hoolahan was a part of he would have been considered the most technically gifted, and also the one with the best "footballing brains"... yet he wasn't a guaranteed starter.

So drawing any conclusions on Crowley/Byrne's ability based on who they play for, past failings, when they get dropped, etc, just seems redundant.

It will always come down to the manager and their personal preference based on how they want to play, but at the end of the day, not playing your most technically gifted player doesn't change the fact that they are STILL your most technically gifted player. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Left foot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 1:40pm

Nearly every squad that Hoolahan was a part of he would have been considered the most technically gifted, and also the one with the best "footballing brains"... yet he wasn't a guaranteed starter.

So drawing any conclusions on Crowley/Byrne's ability based on who they play for, past failings, when they get dropped, etc, just seems redundant.

It will always come down to the manager and their personal preference based on how they want to play, but at the end of the day, not playing your most technically gifted player doesn't change the fact that they are STILL your most technically gifted player. 

Players like Byrne, hoolahan, crowley and kilkenny need to play in teams where possession of the football is required because that's where they excel. 

If you only have the ball for 30-35% of the game these players get labelled defensive liabilities. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pre Madonna Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Aug 2019 at 1:50pm
There’s also question marks as to how much ability they have and how they use it. I always felt Hoolahan tried passes in needless times and dangerous areas, for example. I felt it was a massive flaw. Others might be able to pick the right pass at the right time and little more.
Football is about getting the balance right, if the player is going to weaken the sum total but is nicer to watch, managers won’t pick him. Should Crowley be as good as some are making out, and be eligible, he will become a mainstay. Unfortunately, I think people may be getting carried away, as is the tendency with any Irish or potentially Irish player that shows any promise at all.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 5051525354 62>