Anybody know anything about cars?????!!

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 127128129130131 133>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2023 at 9:08am
Mentioned this to a couple of lads in work yesterday, the looks I got off them LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2023 at 9:28am
Just read a few websites. It's saying not recommended especially with today's automobiles so you shouldnt do it but in the past it wasn't that uncommon. He was a mechanic for a bit 30 years ago so maybe that is where he picked it up.

And the car is running grand and we are both still breathing baby 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2023 at 1:39pm

Octavia VRS - 

When I start the car and put it into reverse, I get a loud beeping noise and an error saying the ParkPilot is currently not available. 

The park pilot does work then after a few minutes. 

The load noise is very irritating.

Brought this to a mechanic while getting my car serviced and he just fobbed me off Cry

Who would be the best person to look at this? 

(I wanted to avoid the Skoda dealer as I think there is only one in Sandyford.)

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2023 at 1:58pm

Octavia VRS - 

When I start the car and put it into reverse, I get a loud beeping noise and an error saying the ParkPilot is currently not available. 

Brought this to a mechanic while getting my car serviced and he just fobbed me off Cry

What you mean 🤔 
Main dealer is the way to go here 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2023 at 1:58pm
It's just a trek to get to during the week. 
I'll give them a shout so.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2023 at 4:38pm

MSL in Cabra 
Annesley Williams on the old airport road

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Jun 2023 at 4:44pm

MSL in Cabra 
Annesley Williams on the old airport road

Legend Clap

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2023 at 1:14pm
250e to plug the diagnostics machine into the engine Dead

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 1:31pm
After speaking with the service manager he tells me they are not taking any more bookings.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sausy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 2:47pm
Have you tried all the Skoda dealers? I know it's not close to you but Pilsen in Ballymount are just off the M50.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 3:01pm
I haven't no. Just thinking about what to do.

The thing is, the service manager is a friend of a friend and we both know one another - I'm not 100% sure it's him though - more than likely it is.

If it is him, is it a case that there is no availability or read between the lines Shocked.

The reason I say this is because a long time ago - I went to another dealer to buy a car - and I picked the car out and went to buy it, the sales man (friend of the family) was there, and said are you REALLY sure you want that one? and I was there yeah, and he kept saying to me - go and look at other cars, just don't buy the 1st car you see. I, being very young and naive was adamant I want to buy that car.  

Long story short, your man swung by the house on the way home and told us the car was a dud and not to buy it!

My wife's car - the battery wouldn't charge - the dealer, auto key and another garage had the car between them for 2 months trying to fix it. Just under 2k spent on trying to fix it and it turns out there was a bad connection on the alternator and they disconnected and reconnected the cable and that fixed it. 

She has no come back on the 2k.

Edited by horsebox - 30 Jun 2023 at 3:02pm
Given's zimmerframe View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Given's zimmerframe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jun 2023 at 3:06pm

250e to plug the diagnostics machine into the engine Dead

you can buy a pretty decent diagnostic machine for about 200 euro, not pro quality but deffo decent. I have one for my car that cost 90 euro which has already saved me hundreds

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jul 2023 at 3:29pm

Octavia VRS - 

Another mechanic said it needs a new control module to be supplied by a main dealer.  The 4 parking sensors are not getting a reading from the diagnostics.

Edited by horsebox - 06 Jul 2023 at 4:02pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sausy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2023 at 10:22am

Octavia VRS - 

Another mechanic said it needs a new control module to be supplied by a main dealer.  The 4 parking sensors are not getting a reading from the diagnostics.

In the 4 or so years you have that car I have had 3 different cars (including a 2016 VRS which sold for the same price as buying it for 2 years and 25kms later) and haven't had to do as much as change a bulb!! You've had serious bad luck with that yoke.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2023 at 10:23am

Octavia VRS - 

Thought as much, that’s why I was sending you to a main dealer! 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2023 at 11:15am

Octavia VRS - 

In the 4 or so years you have that car I have had 3 different cars (including a 2016 VRS which sold for the same price as buying it for 2 years and 25kms later) and haven't had to do as much as change a bulb!! You've had serious bad luck with that yoke.

Cry

That reminds me - I need 2 new tyres LOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sausy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2023 at 11:22am

Octavia VRS - 

Cry

I've been using TYRES ONLINE IRELAND » Huge Tyre Selection » Oponeo.ie for years. Great savings on good tyres and them get them fitted for €10/15 at a local Modern Tyres.
Huggybeer View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Huggybeer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2023 at 2:28pm

Octavia VRS - 

Brought this to a mechanic while getting my car serviced and he just fobbed me off Cry. 

got two new greenlander tyres ,,,track and balanced in rialto tyres, for 120
taxi driver recommends them, says youll get 100k out of them,,

Cry

Getting old and intolerant
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 127128129130131 133>