Best away of the campaign?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>
Poll Question: What was yours?
10 [12.99%]
11 [14.29%]
6 [7.79%]
15 [19.48%]
32 [41.56%]
3 [3.90%]

KILCRUISE View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KILCRUISE Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Best away of the campaign?
    Posted: 10 Nov 2013 at 10:04pm
Astana. Getting lift back from stadium in a concrete lorry. Now where else would u get that.

Edited by KILCRUISE - 10 Nov 2013 at 10:06pm
may the road rise to meet you but make sure it does not slap you in the face

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Saint Tom Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Oct 2013 at 8:52am
That was some laugh gf

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Oct 2013 at 5:00pm
Originally posted by Beareleven Beareleven wrote:

Has to be Kazakstan.
Me and St Tom on the Lash with the Turkish Pilot who flew the Plane in to Astana.
He was twisted leaving the Adidas bar.

What about the gay shebeen in istanbul
AidoM View Drop Down
Real life Fr Austin Purcell

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AidoM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Oct 2013 at 4:35pm

Originally posted by AidoM AidoM wrote:

I suppose when something unusual happens on a trip it makes it memorable Confused

For that reason it has to be Engerland for me

and ...................................................

the unusual event was....................................

I managed to catch a glimpse of Sligo Hornet's wallet through all the cobwebs Shocked

Taxi in Astana AidoWacko

Jaysus Brianie forgot that Wacko

Has to be Kazakstan.
Me and St Tom on the Lash with the Turkish Pilot who flew the Plane in to Astana.

Her was certainly flying Thumbs Up Smile
But what they do have and no-one can deny this now, they have the finest collection of boilers in the world! And I include Canada in that!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shoco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2013 at 8:39pm
Cologne - great spot, friendly locals and reasonably cheap

Cardiff - was a lot better than I thought it was going to be, knew most of the lads that travelled, last night was great when there was only 3 of us left, cheap too

Stockholm - was my 30th that weekend, other than it being cold and expensive I don't remember too much about it!

London - decent days craic and great atmosphere at the game

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brianie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2013 at 8:31pm

Has to be Kazakstan.

Remember thatLOL

Beareleven View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beareleven Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2013 at 8:29pm
Has to be Kazakstan.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brianie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2013 at 7:53pm
Originally posted by AidoM AidoM wrote:

I suppose when something unusual happens on a trip it makes it memorable Confused

I managed to catch a glimpse of Sligo Hornet's wallet through all the cobwebs Shocked
Taxi in Astana AidoWacko

AidoM View Drop Down
Real life Fr Austin Purcell

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AidoM Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2013 at 7:25pm

But what they do have and no-one can deny this now, they have the finest collection of boilers in the world! And I include Canada in that!
valo88 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote valo88 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2013 at 6:03pm
1. Sweden. Prob had the most craic in Stockholm tbh. Was much different than what we were used to. Traveling support was great and optimism was still on a real high. Kellys was a good spot too, tho alot of the other places were bollox. Only bad point was the stadium being in middle of knowhere and the whole drink/offo thing. Money wise was grand cos id free accommodation and got cheap flights early and i didnt mind the baltic weather muchSmile

...or it all could of been the absolute stunner I went back with match nightLOL

2. Austria. Mental few days. Started out in Bratislava on the Sat. Absolute dive of a placeLOL Not that we cared with the price of everything. Slabs of cans for under a tenner! Had a good wander around the city drinking, climbed the castle and ended up on a bit of a crawl, tho was dead by 12/1 both nights. Train up to Vienna, more cans, even more craic. City itself was lovely. Spent a few hours each day jus having a look around, went to the miltary museam and stuff. Charlie P's, was another good spot. Night before and day of the match was hopping, not so much after. Police escort up to the stadium was class. Other than the result, no complaints about the place. Would and prob will be back.

3. England. Only here because it was the only other away I ended up on the yearTongue Ahh, was good tho, the aul enemyLOL Was only there for less than 20hrs, but made good use of it. Had a good crawl from Victoria midday to Kingsbury, match, then back in and around leicester sq.. O'Neils(?) comes to mind. Flight home at 7, straight to work next morningDead

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nvidic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2013 at 3:55pm
Originally posted by MJD MJD wrote:

1. Belgrade
2. Cologne
3. Vienna
4. Stockholm
5. Cardiff
6. London (England)
7. London (Oman)

Live in London so those 'trips' didn't have the same feel as other away trips for me, although England away was much better than Oman away.

Loved the beer festival in Belgrade but NVidic always going on about it has dampened the memories a bit Tongue

Haha getting myself and yourself confused again?!

MJD View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MJD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2013 at 12:21pm
1. Belgrade
2. Cologne
3. Vienna
4. Stockholm
5. Cardiff
6. London (England)
7. London (Oman)

Live in London so those 'trips' didn't have the same feel as other away trips for me, although England away was much better than Oman away.

Loved the beer festival in Belgrade but NVidic always going on about it has dampened the memories a bit Tongue
17 International Caps
16 International Goals
COYFIG

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lassassinblanc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2013 at 9:15am
Going to go for Sweden as spent an awesome week there, Austria only other place I went was good but no Stockholm prob more to the fact having being in Vienna before I knew what to do, Stockholm was an adventure

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colemanY2K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Oct 2013 at 8:49pm
Cologne
Stockholm
Dublin

Love Germany and the Germans. Had great craic in a pub 10 minutes walk from the stadium before and after the match with the Germanys Rhineland supporters club. Decided to head there as we knew the queue for the tram would be mad. Every time I go there I have a wonderful time.

Had a great time in Sweden. Knew it would be pricey but planned it well and didn't in the end spend a whole lot. Thanks in large part to kellys.
The Swedes do things right and are straight laced and this is very much not what the irish are. I guess that's why a lot didn't like it.

...and Dublin. Well it's always great to get home to Ireland.

*in terms of friendlies it would be england, oman and wales in that order.

Edited by colemanY2K - 23 Oct 2013 at 8:50pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Oct 2013 at 8:21pm
Originally posted by James1977 James1977 wrote:

Really, Dave?  I thought razor blades remained a definite "no no" after September 11th.
When did the rules change? 

I recall having safety blades confiscated at the x-ray scanner, but I could purchase the same product thirty seconds later in the airport shops?

I didn't shell out the €17.  I got a pack of crude disposables for €5.
I worked in the Airport search Unit post 9/11 and average razors as Dave mentioned were never banned. I have always brought my razor with me on trips. If it was a cut throat open bladed razor then that would have been taken off you otherwise you met a knob of an official.
James1977 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote James1977 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Oct 2013 at 8:14pm
Really, Dave?  I thought razor blades remained a definite "no no" after September 11th.
When did the rules change? 

I recall having safety blades confiscated at the x-ray scanner, but I could purchase the same product thirty seconds later in the airport shops?

I didn't shell out the €17.  I got a pack of crude disposables for €5.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nvidic Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Oct 2013 at 6:42pm

Why were you buying razors? You know you can take a safety razor (mach 3, fusion, whatever) on a flight in your hand luggage, right?

yep and a blade 6cm or below too believe it or not

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Oct 2013 at 5:19pm
Why were you buying razors? You know you can take a safety razor (mach 3, fusion, whatever) on a flight in your hand luggage, right?
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>