Wetherspoons in Ireland

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 39>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote corkery Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 1:25pm
I can't believe people are worried about the Vinters, a small bit of popularity and they sky rocket their prices, they are the most greediest bunch out there. Feck them.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 1:32pm

I can't believe people are worried about the Vinters, a small bit of popularity and they sky rocket their prices, they are the most greediest bunch out there. Feck them.

So true.

6+ Euro for a bottle of Miller in some pubs and you can get them for under 70 cents in the supermarket.

How they justify these sort of prices I don't know.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 1:42pm

So true.

6+ Euro for a bottle of Miller in some pubs and you can get them for under 70 cents in the supermarket.

How they justify these sort of prices I don't know.

Neither are the true reflection either. 70 cent is a joke also.   Below cost selling is not the answer either. ITs cheaper for some publicans to pick up their drink in supermarkets than it is from their supplier.   I do not blame all of the supermarkets for this as many of them do not want to enter this price war but have had to, otherwise nobody would shop there.  But I do think they should do away with below cost  selling for a product such as alcohol. 

However as long as Wetherspoons do not try to introduce below cost selling in the pub industry in order to burn everybody out of the market I have no problem with them.  I probably will not go there but that does not mean they should not be allowed open.  Freedom of choice. 

Edited by Baldrick - 15 Sep 2013 at 1:43pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irishmufc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 1:48pm

Was in the one in Enniskillen, a few in London and a couple in Manchester.They were sound but I don't like pubs where you can't sit at the bar.There's no cosyness to them with tables out in open spaces.No real snugs or partitioned booths and Id never leave my local for one of them no matter how cheap the drink is.My local is an auld fellas pub with a shop in the front.We've the best pubs in the world for craic, atmosphere and the humour so id hate to see that go.It'll be interesting to see how it develops if they come over

Whats your local in westport?

Johnny Morans (right across the road from Matt Molloys).Its a good horseracing pub if you're into that as well.€3.75 for a Guinness (class Guinness),€1 for Bacon Fries Clap.Id say you were probably in it Rossie were ya?
Hoosay View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hoosay Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 2:04pm
Wetherspoons will drive good pubs out of business. They sell beer at less than what other pubs can buy it.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rossieman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 2:04pm

Was in the one in Enniskillen, a few in London and a couple in Manchester.They were sound but I don't like pubs where you can't sit at the bar.There's no cosyness to them with tables out in open spaces.No real snugs or partitioned booths and Id never leave my local for one of them no matter how cheap the drink is.My local is an auld fellas pub with a shop in the front.We've the best pubs in the world for craic, atmosphere and the humour so id hate to see that go.It'll be interesting to see how it develops if they come over

Whats your local in westport?

Johnny Morans (right across the road from Matt Molloys).Its a good horseracing pub if you're into that as well.€3.75 for a Guinness (class Guinness),€1 for Bacon Fries Clap.Id say you were probably in it Rossie were ya?

Yeah have been it in plenty of times,its good for the racing alright and bookies beside it,do go to the other Moran's as well.
Will be down there on a stag in 2 weeks time ,will drop in with my crew for a few scoops and pints.We won't trash it till Sunday Thumbs Up
Metal Paul View Drop Down
The Dude

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Metal Paul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 2:45pm
Lads, how do yiz all reckon this will be "the end of the Irish local"? Where I work we do €3 pints during football matches, €3 Guinness between 6pm and 11pm on a Sunday, we have Tuborg permanently at €3 a pint and a 10% discount for the regulars. There is also hot finger food thrown out weekend evenings and during midweek Champions League games. Why would the regulars go to Wetherspoons when they can get all this in their local??  

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rossieman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 2:48pm
Originally posted by Metal Paul Metal Paul wrote:

Lads, how do yiz all reckon this will be "the end of the Irish local"? Where I work we do €3 pints during football matches, €3 Guinness between 6pm and 11pm on a Sunday, we have Tuborg permanently at €3 a pint and a 10% discount for the regulars. There is also hot finger food thrown out weekend evenings and during midweek Champions League games. Why would the regulars go to Wetherspoons when they can get all this in their local??  

It wont be the end of the local,not a chance.
It will most likely effect some pubs in the area's where they open put I doubt the majority of towns/villages will see any difference.
The Dude

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Metal Paul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 2:57pm
Exactly dude. The way some of them are going on you'd swear the entire country was going to be overrun with these pubs. Wacko A bit of competition for the greedy publicans (especially in Dublin) who think they can charge what they want for drink is needed. Charging €6 and over for a pint of Guinness (the cheapest pint in most pubs) is disgraceful. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Denis Irwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 3:49pm
Originally posted by Wheelo Wheelo wrote:

What's the problem?

I have no time for the vast majority of publicans over here. D***heads the lot of them. Ripping us off for years, 20 quid into your local on New years, f*** right off. Trying to make offys charge more for cans, f*** right off. Overpriced pints, f*** right off.

Have no sympathy for publicans over here, they deserve all they get. Though obviously would feel sorry for the ordinary workers

ClapClapClapClapClapClap 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colmoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 4:02pm

Lads, how do yiz all reckon this will be "the end of the Irish local"? Where I work we do €3 pints during football matches, €3 Guinness between 6pm and 11pm on a Sunday, we have Tuborg permanently at €3 a pint and a 10% discount for the regulars. There is also <span style="line-height: 1.4;">hot finger food thrown out weekend evenings and during midweek Champions League games. Why would the regulars go to Wetherspoons when they can get all this in their local??  </span>
the lad who owns my local could do with reading this
The Dude

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Metal Paul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 4:06pm
Well show it to him then!  

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colmoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 4:10pm

Well show it to him then!  
if he throws out fingerfood on the very rare rare occasion he does be whingin about the price/effort it took. He's unbelievable.
Great little pub with good booze though hence why it does well

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colemanY2K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 4:19pm
a blow in cavan man colm?

I don't like it...this shower is bad news.

A lot of lads giving out about being ripped off by piblicans are in Dublin. My local is similar to IrishMufc as it's €4 a pint of Guinness in my local but these coonts will spread like Japanese knot weed and will choke the life out of the irish local.
jinky View Drop Down
Ireland's number one fan, ole ole ole

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jinky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 4:28pm
If weatherspoons was a football league it would be the EPL... 'souless with dodgy customers'

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colmoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 4:32pm

funny enough he is
The Dude

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Metal Paul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 5:23pm

I don't like it...this shower is bad news.

A lot of lads giving out about being ripped off by piblicans are in Dublin. My local is similar to IrishMufc as it's €4 a pint of Guinness in my local but these coonts will spread like Japanese knot weed and will choke the life out of the irish local.
No it f*cking won't!! Angry It will give the publicans a kick up the arse and they might actually consider dropping their prices for a change. Plus it'll only affect the likes of Dublin and Cork so don't worry, the majority of towns and villages will be safe from their evil clutches. Wacko 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 9fingers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2013 at 5:31pm

Lads, how do yiz all reckon this will be "the end of the Irish local"? Where I work we do €3 pints during football matches, €3 Guinness between 6pm and 11pm on a Sunday, we have Tuborg permanently at €3 a pint and a 10% discount for the regulars. There is also <span style="line-height: 1.4;">hot finger food thrown out weekend evenings and during midweek Champions League games. Why would the regulars go to Wetherspoons when they can get all this in their local??  </span>

Jaysus sounds great! Might have to drop in sometime
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 39>