Martin O'Neill...

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 259260261262263 419>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 12:41am
Keane would be like a dark cloud in the dressing room. A bit like me on this forum.

The Tribesman View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Tribesman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 12:45am

As I've said countless times on here, I would much rather we thought outside the box and looked further afield to the continent and try get a young ambitious manager with fresh ideas and a philosophy that suits the modern game, but there's f**k all chance of that happening.

So if we're not going down that route and O'Neill does leave, then I don't see an issue with giving the job to Keane for the duration of the 2020 qualifiers.

Keane will most likely go to Stoke with MoN, if the latter leaves!
The Tribesman View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Tribesman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 12:46am
Why did MoN turn down The Toffees, which by any standards was a more attractive proposition than Stoke?
KILCRUISE View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote KILCRUISE Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 1:07am
Toffees or Potters. Wow

Originally posted by The Tribesman The Tribesman wrote:

Why did MoN turn down The Toffees, which by any standards was a more attractive proposition than Stoke?
may the road rise to meet you but make sure it does not slap you in the face
Strazdas View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Strazdas Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 1:18am

Keane would be like a dark cloud in the dressing room. A bit like me on this forum.

He would be a very strange choice IMO. Is there any evidence he is a better manager than MON or even his equal? It's noticeable that even the Stoke fans who are keen enough on O'Neill have no interest in Keane whatsoever.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maccatacca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 4:01am
Let’s be honest, we’re in for a dark few years.

The FAI won’t make the right appointment in the next few days, and whoever comes in will ultimately be the wrong choice.

We’re better off without MON, but what will the FAI replace him with? God only knows.

I’ve personally given up on the next two major tournaments.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote deise316 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 4:48am

The FAI won’t make the right appointment in the next few days, and whoever comes in will ultimately be the wrong choice.

We’re better off without MON, but what will the FAI replace him with? God only knows.

Might be a slightly interesting point here, or one that lads think they can dismiss easily, but when it comes to selecting a new manager, just who exactly has the requisite influence, or will make the final call ??

When Trap was appointed, the FAI decided after Stan to send a 3 man committee around the UK to interview who or what they thought were suitable candidates, Houghton, Don Givens & Don Howe fulfilled the role as FAI interviewers/headhunters and duly interviewed whoever they thought a likely candidate, but only interviewed Trap after a suggestion by Eddie Jordan/Denis O'Brien to JD/FAI and that only after Liam Brady had already sussed Trap out as regards his willingness to take the job. By the time the 3 buckos met him, it was a rubberstamp job. 

No such selection process existed for MON, it was Dermot Desmond who suggested him to the FAI and initially made contact, by the time his appointment actually happened, it too was a rubberstamp effort. 

Nay offence to Jordan, O'Brien or Desmond, all wealthy and successful people in their own respective fields, but would ya presume any of them know much more about football than the average poster on here ?? (which is quite a low bar)

Would any of them (as far as we know of them) have an opinion on Mick McCarthy, Lee Johnson, Slaven Bilic, Dave O'Leary, Roy Keane, Stephen Kenny, Marcelo Bielsa or anyone else you care to mention ?? 

Would JD/FAI have the balls to disagree with any of them, particularly the one that is financing maybe 3/4 of the manager's salary, if one of them were to suggest an ''ideal'' replacement?? 

Do JD/FAI have an opinion on the type of football we should be playing, or is it just a case of (as with the Stan replacement committee) finding someone, anyone, that can't be directly linked to JD as Stan was (despite his best efforts) ?? 

We can do this subject to death, and to be fair to the FAI, they want the best for us even if only from their financial point of view & qualifying for Euro 2020, but even if MON fcuks off, just from the evidence of the last 2 appointments, it seems that any type of strategic vision has little to do with it, the next appointment may be some compromise between the suggestion of well intentioned wealthy lads and a 'name' manager whose 'name' is big enough to sell a certain amount of season tickets. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 9:33am

It’s grand.

We will have Tony Laughlin in too

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zinedine Kilbane 110 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 9:54am

Three months ago you were certain we would be going to Russia. Nobody could convince you otherwise.
Now we won’t qualify for the next Euro with 24 teams going.

Some turnaround in the space of three months.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FREEWHEELER Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 10:29am
Excellent post Deise. O Neill even mentioned season ticket sales when talking about his new contract which I found totally bizarre.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drumcondra 69er Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 10:45am

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FrankosHereNow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 11:55am

Guillem ballague has said this today..

<span style="color: rgb28, 32, 34; font-family: Helvetica, Roboto, "Segoe UI", Calibri, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: pre-wrap;">Today Quique Sánchez Flores will communicate his decision to the Espanyol board. Espanyol have contacted few coaches, including Javi Gracia who has other offers too.</span>
<span style="color: rgb28, 32, 34; font-family: Helvetica, Roboto, "Segoe UI", Calibri, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: pre-wrap;">
</span>
<span style="color: rgb28, 32, 34; font-family: Helvetica, Roboto, "Segoe UI", Calibri, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: pre-wrap;">Looks like were stuck with O'neill then.</span>
If Ballague is the source, I expect O'Neill to be appointed Stoke manager within the hour.

hes normally spot on. plus hes a die hard espanyol fan so im sure he is in the know.
No he's not. He's a complete spoofer. 
bullsh*t
Ballague first with the news again.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HuntysCousin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 12:01pm

Guillem ballague has said this today..

<span style="color: rgb28, 32, 34; font-family: Helvetica, Roboto, "Segoe UI", Calibri, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: pre-wrap;">Today Quique Sánchez Flores will communicate his decision to the Espanyol board. Espanyol have contacted few coaches, including Javi Gracia who has other offers too.</span>
<span style="color: rgb28, 32, 34; font-family: Helvetica, Roboto, "Segoe UI", Calibri, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: pre-wrap;">
</span>
<span style="color: rgb28, 32, 34; font-family: Helvetica, Roboto, "Segoe UI", Calibri, sans-serif; font-size: 16px; white-space: pre-wrap;">Looks like were stuck with O'neill then.</span>
If Ballague is the source, I expect O'Neill to be appointed Stoke manager within the hour.

hes normally spot on. plus hes a die hard espanyol fan so im sure he is in the know.
No he's not. He's a complete spoofer. 
bullsh*t
Ballague first with the news again.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maccatacca Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 12:38pm

Three months ago you were certain we would be going to Russia. Nobody could convince you otherwise.
Now we won’t qualify for the next Euro with 24 teams going.

Some turnaround in the space of three months.

We should have been going to Russia, we had one foot and the suitcases on the plane at 1-0 vs Denmark.

But O’Neill blew it, and has spent the past two months whoring himself around to any club that will have a look at him.

Realistically, we’re currently managerless (as O’Neill isn’t even watching irish players at games at the moment).

We’ve a few friendlies coming up, with complete disarray off the pitch. Will we even have a permanent manager for those games? And if not, what will even be learnt by playing Turkey and France with a caretaker manager.

The last two/three months should have been spent by the FAI, and MON either parting ways, or sorting out a new contract with a clear plan. This hasn’t happened, and the options to replace MON are equally as frightening as him staying on.

As for a 24 team EURO’s, there are nights when we are easily amongst the best 24 teams in Europe, but, will Brian Kerr, Mick McCarthy etc etc, have us playing well enough consistently to come second in a group? I have my doubts.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 12:41pm

Good summary. Think Young is one of O'Neill's go to guys when he wants a story out there....

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/premier-league/difference-of-opinion-between-father-and-son-an-unsigned-contract-and-a-welcome-to-stoke-video-you-will-never-see-36485338.html

Good article.  But MON will nit be in the dugout at Old Trafford tomorrow night even if he takes the job.  He will wash his hands of that game and be in the stands and knows a tanking is possible.

I still don't think he will accept the Stoke job after publicly being made their 2nd choice.

SimonCox View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SimonCox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 12:42pm

Might be a slightly interesting point here, or one that lads think they can dismiss easily, but when it comes to selecting a new manager, just who exactly has the requisite influence, or will make the final call ??

When Trap was appointed, the FAI decided after Stan to send a 3 man committee around the UK to interview who or what they thought were suitable candidates, Houghton, Don Givens & Don Howe fulfilled the role as FAI interviewers/headhunters and duly interviewed whoever they thought a likely candidate, but only interviewed Trap after a suggestion by Eddie Jordan/Denis O'Brien to JD/FAI and that only after Liam Brady had already sussed Trap out as regards his willingness to take the job. By the time the 3 buckos met him, it was a rubberstamp job. 

No such selection process existed for MON, it was Dermot Desmond who suggested him to the FAI and initially made contact, by the time his appointment actually happened, it too was a rubberstamp effort. 

Nay offence to Jordan, O'Brien or Desmond, all wealthy and successful people in their own respective fields, but would ya presume any of them know much more about football than the average poster on here ?? (which is quite a low bar)

Would any of them (as far as we know of them) have an opinion on Mick McCarthy, Lee Johnson, Slaven Bilic, Dave O'Leary, Roy Keane, Stephen Kenny, Marcelo Bielsa or anyone else you care to mention ?? 

Would JD/FAI have the balls to disagree with any of them, particularly the one that is financing maybe 3/4 of the manager's salary, if one of them were to suggest an ''ideal'' replacement?? 

Do JD/FAI have an opinion on the type of football we should be playing, or is it just a case of (as with the Stan replacement committee) finding someone, anyone, that can't be directly linked to JD as Stan was (despite his best efforts) ?? 

We can do this subject to death, and to be fair to the FAI, they want the best for us even if only from their financial point of view & qualifying for Euro 2020, but even if MON fcuks off, just from the evidence of the last 2 appointments, it seems that any type of strategic vision has little to do with it, the next appointment may be some compromise between the suggestion of well intentioned wealthy lads and a 'name' manager whose 'name' is big enough to sell a certain amount of season tickets. 

ther was a selection committee before the appointment of MON. It was a rubberstamp job in the end but when you said there was no such selection process as before Trap got the job,, there was, it was nearly the exact same. Only the personell were different.

Razor was on the interview panel again
willmcc83 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote willmcc83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 12:54pm
FAI needs to pull the finger out. Doubtful anything will happen today but FAI should issue a public statement tomorrow clarifying the situation - ideally confirming contract offer has been withdrawn and they are looking for a new manager.

Presume they will likely leave a caretaker in charge for the two away friendlies and appoint a full time manager as late as possible for financial reasons but would be nice to see a full time manager appointed asap
Time To Get Behind Mick & The Team

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 1:37pm
Don Givens step forward.

If MON leaves cue a statement from Stephen Ireland's pet rabbit saying how Stephen might be open to the idea of playing for Eire again under the new manager but they will have to visit him and sell him the project as Stephen likes to play with his toys when not playing for his club team, and would need something enticing for him to give that up.

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 259260261262263 419>