Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brianie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2013 at 7:06pm
Unfortunately Paul has been given/offered the best help that is available, and that hasnt workedCry

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greenforever Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2013 at 7:24pm
Still we should not give up, we the nation owe the man for what he has given us in his performances and pride in the shirt.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2013 at 9:01pm

Still we should not give up, we the nation owe the man for what he has given us in his performances and pride in the shirt.

We give up?

It's his problem that can only be dealt with by him. I think he should be encouraged and supported.

In a way I see him a bit like Best - deep down he doesn't want to give it up\can't give it up.
Madferret View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Madferret Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jul 2013 at 10:23pm

Originally posted by Madferret Madferret wrote:

I doubt very much those tweets came from Paul McGrath or he even knows what Twitters is. .

what the fcuk are you on about , he is on twitter the whole time talking to irish fans villa fans to norman whiteside and loads more.

no way his account was hacked , the fella was in a mess and took to twitter, he's not the first.

If Paul McGrath, a grown adult in his 50s and professional football legend is seeking attention in a juvenile way with ..."Save me from myself please worrier ah jessas help¡ :-)"  on the twits machine I'd be more disappointed in him than anything he done whilst on the piss. Jaysus, he really does need help and not just for alcohol Cry 

The man needs help not sympathy.

Why would you be disappointed in anyone who needs help?????????????????

It's been a long hot day Momma, so I won't go back & type it all out again. But I have boldened and even highlighted it for ya to make sure it's not confusing.
Of course one would feel disappointed. Think about it yourself pal. If someone you really admired got to this stage in their life, would you not be disappointed in them? That's only a natural reaction.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 1:04pm
Good stuff Paul has been given the benefit of the probation act and ordered to give one days training to a local soccer club in Tullamore.   

Best of luck of Paul and hopefully he can get back on track.  
Brazil View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brazil Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 1:07pm
Lads i know from family  experience there is only one man that can help him and thats himself, if he doesnt want to give up the drink he wont, he needs to decide himself to give it up and then check into rehab.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cabra Hoop Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 1:15pm
Its not a matter of deciding himself.............. its a matter of accepting that he is powerless where drink is concerned and that his life is out of his control

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RogerMilla Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 1:15pm
Originally posted by Brazil Brazil wrote:

Lads i know from family  experience there is only one man that can help him and thats himself, if he doesnt want to give up the drink he wont, he needs to decide himself to give it up and then check into rehab.

seen a few fellas do the same , they just decide themselves one day, no amount of pleading from family made them do it but then one day it clicked and they went in

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote drog addict Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 2:57pm
Looking forward to meeting him on Sunday. Did I mention he will be in Ashbourne this Sunday.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colemanY2K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 3:14pm
He is in court today ya...what happens to the weekend festivities if he gets remanded?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 3:20pm
He'll not be remanded in custody; it'll either be a plea of guilty and a fine, or else he'll be remanded on bail for about three weeks or a month to get a precis of the evidence agin' him.

Edited by SuperDave84 - 17 Jul 2013 at 3:20pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote colemanY2K Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 3:22pm
Ah SD I was only stirring...way to blow it!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bob Hoskins Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 3:22pm

Originally posted by Brazil Brazil wrote:

seen a few fellas do the same , they just decide themselves one day, no amount of pleading from family made them do it but then one day it clicked and they went in

He's been in loads of times

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SuperDave84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 3:26pm

Ah SD I was only stirring...way to blow it!

Hell, even if he gets a three month prison sentence, he'll get out tomorrow or Friday (although I suppose in that instance, he's unlikely to rock up to the ybig yoke).

I've asked around to see if anyone I know was down in Tullamore DC today but nobody yet....

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 3:31pm

Looking forward to meeting him on Sunday. Did I mention he will be in Ashbourne this Sunday.
Where's Ashbourne and what's happening?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pipkin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 3:36pm
His punishment is a day coaching kids at Tullamore FC and the charges will be removed after 6 months if he stays out of trouble. 

Remanded in custodyLOL

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Baldrick Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 3:39pm
Its already been decided lads. 

From the indo., 

Judge Mitchell, who revealed himself as a Leeds United fan, said he nonetheless would take into consideration McGrath's forthright apology to the Garda and hotel staff, as well as an "impressive" letter from his doctor handed in to the court.

"I am aware you are a national hero and considered one of the greatest soccer players in Ireland," he said.

"Growing up myself I would have watched many of the games.

"But I was not a supporter of many of the clubs you played with myself - I was a Leeds United supporter.

"I'm also aware, as a hero, people looked up to you, and still look up to you."

The judge also noted McGrath's charitable work for cystic fibrosis and acquired brain injury organisations.

Ordering the former footballer to return and give a full day's coaching to children of different age groups at Tullamore Town Soccer Club, Judge Mitchell said he would give him an unconditional discharge under the Probation of Offenders Act, providing McGrath stayed out of trouble.

The judge said it would benefit both the children of the town and McGrath himself.

"You were in Tullamore for a wedding, you will be coming back now to help young people," he said.

As McGrath left the crowded courtroom, a number of onlookers scurried after him into a side foyer of the building, where he stopped for a time, spoke with them and gave autographs.

Flanked by his agent, he refused to speak to reporters as he was led out a side door before he was bundled into a waiting black BMW with darkened windows and sped away.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote t_rAndy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2013 at 4:32pm
I see the Sun have a campaign to stop people buying/serving Gazza booze, which gazza is supporting. They should do the same for our Paul in the Irish sun!

But seriously it's up to himself if he doesn't want to drink. I know myself I tried to stop but deep down I didn't want to so now it's all about trying to make sure I don't go overboard but I know myself there is potential every time I go out that I will go overboard and potentially do something I regret
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456>