The YBIG DIY Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 18>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: The YBIG DIY Thread
    Posted: 25 Apr 2013 at 9:46am
Might be in here regularly enough asking for advice Embarrassed

Have a hinge issue on a small cabinet in the jacks. In laymans terms, the hinge has come away from the chipboard or whatever technical term is used for this type of wood. Anyway, just want to do a mcgyver on it and fill in the damage and re screw the hinge in. What can be used? Wood filler? Polyfilla? Will this allow for me to re-screw and be solid enough to hold the door on?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2013 at 10:22am
Get a wood filler with a hardener(2 pack it's called)
Ye mix the hardener with the filler
Will go rock solid and you can screw into it
But ye need to act fast when mixing it cause it will harden very quick

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sligo Hornet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2013 at 10:26am

Do you use that instead of viagra BSM ?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2013 at 10:28am
Legend BSM. Will get some of that stuff at lunch. Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sausy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2013 at 10:39am

or just buy a new cabinet on lunch and get shot of the chip board sh*te. That stuff is useless at best so what idiot deceided to put it in a bathroom when it could get damp.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2013 at 10:47am

Is that named after that rapper fella?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2013 at 11:07am

or just buy a new cabinet on lunch and get shot of the chip board sh*te. That stuff is useless at best so what idiot deceided to put it in a bathroom when it could get damp.

Typical banker. Never ending supplies of cash!

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sausy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2013 at 11:17am

Typical banker. Never ending supplies of cash!

I'm haven't received my Tayto bars off you. Get the finger out Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2013 at 8:29pm
Babbsy...got the jacks floor tiled so now it's about 15-20mm higher than it was
It won't fit into the wavin waste pipe now as its too high
What sort of gizzmo do I need?

In on about the jacks bowl

Edited by BigStrongMan - 09 May 2013 at 8:33pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2013 at 8:44pm
The shyte pipe too high to the wavin? had this problem meself a few years ago. you can get a fitting that is angled for just the very thing, a flexible multiwick i think its called

Edited by sham157 - 09 May 2013 at 8:46pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2013 at 8:47pm

The shyte pipe too high to the wavin? had this problem meself a few years ago. you can get a fitting that is angled for just the very thing, a flexible multiwick i think its called
yeah that's the problemo...

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2013 at 8:50pm

yeah that's the problemo...
One of the lads here is a former Manager in a DIY place and I mentioned it and he come out with that yoke straight away too. unless Babbsy has other ideas for your crap issues

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daithi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2013 at 8:57pm
BSM need your advice, i know it was posted before but cant be bothered looking for it, doing a bit of painting at home and need to do a bit of filling, need your expertise on best way to go about it so it dose not stand out like a sore thumb as a patch. 

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2013 at 9:46pm
Sand down the filler then paint the patch with your brush
Then paint full wall as normal
So in theory the filler gets 2 coats of paint thus covering it better
Best to mix filler yourself rather then ready mixed stuff(sands down easier)

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daithi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2013 at 9:55pm

Sand down the filler then paint the patch with your brush
Then paint full wall as normal
So in theory the filler gets 2 coats of paint thus covering it better
Best to mix filler yourself rather then ready mixed stuff(sands down easier)
Thanks BSM Thumbs Up, now just to scrape the missus off the wall " you missed this bit and that bit" go out and play with the traffic woman Angry

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2013 at 10:30pm
Loosened the power shower from the wall so could tile behind it
Havnt fixed it back properly but still using it
But it isn't very focking hot
Normally have it on No 5 heat (T-90) and she's hot
But have it on full blast,No10,and it's only Luke warm
Any ideas gents?
St.Pauli Reloaded 2 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote St.Pauli Reloaded 2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2013 at 10:35pm

Loosened the power shower from the wall so could tile behind it
Havnt fixed it back properly but still using it
But it isn't very focking hot
Normally have it on No 5 heat (T-90) and she's hot
But have it on full blast,No10,and it's only Luke warm
Any ideas gents?
Turn it on and off a couple of times and let it run ,or else youve loosened the wires going into it Shocked
In Martin and Roy we Trust !

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daithi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 May 2013 at 10:42pm
Yeah sounds like something might have come loose when you budged it, but only a guess
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 18>