The YBIG DIY Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 18>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2013 at 10:01am

Loosened the power shower from the wall so could tile behind it
Havnt fixed it back properly but still using it
But it isn't very focking hot
Normally have it on No 5 heat (T-90) and she's hot
But have it on full blast,No10,and it's only Luke warm
Any ideas gents?
Bump for Rossie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The GerK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2013 at 10:03am

Bsm...try clean out the filter
Had the same prob last night and it came back to normal on its own after a few hours
Something to do with the pressure

that must be a serious shower curtain with its own filter LOLEmbarrassed

BSM was talking about a shower curtain.

Off to the thick thread there son

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2013 at 10:07am
Rossie
What's blocking it Sham?
If its leaves and sh*t you need to get em out
If its grim etc from the sink then the acid is yer only man
Had to do it recently,about 6e for a bottle ,think I got caustic soda

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2013 at 11:17am

Rossie
What's blocking it Sham?
If its leaves and sh*t you need to get em out
If its grim etc from the sink then the acid is yer only man
Had to do it recently,about 6e for a bottle ,think I got caustic soda
Havent a clue BSM, its full to the brim with water. I'll get the oul Marigolds on later and have a root around

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2013 at 11:23am
Sham, im sure you've put your hands up/down dirtier holes to unclog. You've a masters in it.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2013 at 11:27am

Sham, im sure you've put your hands up/down dirtier holes to unclog. You've a masters in it.
This is true

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Oct 2013 at 1:39pm
Went to bleed rad last night and bleed screw snapped once i tried to turn it slightly. So one half in my hand the other half stuck in the plug. Happen anyone before? Any tips?

Huggybeer View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Huggybeer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Oct 2013 at 2:05pm
have one stuck like that at home, its gone round from previous owner so cant get a key to catch onto it.

as far as i know
you can A) drill a tiny hole into the top corner of your rad in the same spot as a postage stamp, put a small self tapper screw and plumbers tape into it, then when you need to bleed, just open the screw. PS close valves first
This is what ive done and its worked for 2-3 years now
or B) Buy a new rad

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Oct 2013 at 2:19pm
Sound stuff HB.

Probably a safer option than drilling into the half plug that's stuck and trying to coax it out.

Huggybeer View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Huggybeer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Oct 2013 at 2:35pm
I think you can do that as well McG but you have to rethread the hole and stuff and thats a step beyond my diy skills.

Very easy to do the self tapper thing

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote daithi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Oct 2013 at 6:39pm
Originally posted by Huggybeer Huggybeer wrote:

have one stuck like that at home, its gone round from previous owner so cant get a key to catch onto it.

as far as i know
you can A) drill a tiny hole into the top corner of your rad in the same spot as a postage stamp, put a small self tapper screw and plumbers tape into it, then when you need to bleed, just open the screw. PS close valves first
This is what ive done and its worked for 2-3 years now
or B) Buy a new rad
This is the way to go option A

Edited by daithi - 02 Oct 2013 at 6:40pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Dec 2013 at 7:06pm
Right lads, have a small 19 inch flat screen i wanna throw up on the wall in the bedroom. Wood studs too off centre for me to hang the thing where it would be best suited. So all im left with is plasterboard to work with. Knowing how brittle that stuff is, any way around it? Would it hold the tv given it's only a small one? If i was to anchor it or rawl plug? Askin for trouble?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Dec 2013 at 7:12pm
No
Cut out a square were you want it
You need to insert 'grounds' (timber) between joists
Then put back up plasterboard you cut out
Fix the tv bracket to the grounds you inserted
Poly filler for plasterboard
Paint

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Dec 2013 at 7:15pm

No
Paint

Whilst im a DIY enthusiast this sounds beyond my skills. How da fock do you do that?

BSM, any idea of the measure of gap (in inches like) between joists in a gaff that's 8 years old? like if there's one at beginning of wall, where is next one?

Edited by McG - 30 Dec 2013 at 7:16pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trap junior Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Dec 2013 at 7:23pm

No
Paint

Whilst im a DIY enthusiast this sounds beyond my skills. How da fock do you do that?

BSM, any idea of the measure of gap (in inches like) between joists in a gaff that's 8 years old? like if there's one at beginning of wall, where is next one?

Have the same problem except with a 32 inch telly. I know this is of no help. Seeya.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Dec 2013 at 7:34pm
Could be 400mm?
Cut her open and sus it out
Just cut the timber to fit the gap
Then screw her in securely
Ye get me?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Dec 2013 at 7:38pm
Right i may resort to getting help. Dont want wall coming down. Will report back.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BabbsBalls Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Dec 2013 at 8:20pm
It's only a small telly McG . If ye dont fancy BSMs idea head down to grange builders and get some 6 or 8mm toggle bolts . All you need to fix them in is a Phillips screwdriver .
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12345 18>