The YBIG DIY Thread

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 18>

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 9:19pm
Evening gents

Stripping wallpaper tomorrow. Mate has wallpaper stripper but hear they can actually damage walls. Avoid and do it hard way or is it bullsh*t?

St.Pauli Reloaded 2 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote St.Pauli Reloaded 2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 10:02pm

Evening gents

Stripping wallpaper tomorrow. Mate has wallpaper stripper but hear they can actually damage walls. Avoid and do it hard way or is it bullsh*t?
Why do you need a Stripper ? Water and washing up liquid,Stripper will only damage walls if you leave it on the one spot for too long if you have or can get a garden Sprayer (For spraying flower etc ,) you can fill it up with water and washing up liquid spray the walls a couple of times but make sure to cover the floor and not create puddles on same , this is way easier than a brush but if you cant get one of these then use a roller Wink BTW is the paper Vinyl or Paper ?
In Martin and Roy we Trust !
St.Pauli Reloaded 2 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote St.Pauli Reloaded 2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 10:07pm
Originally posted by St.Pauli Reloaded 2 St.Pauli Reloaded 2 wrote:

Evening gents

Why do you need a Stripper ? Water and washing up liquid,Stripper will only damage walls if you leave it on the one spot for too long if you have or can get a garden Sprayer (For spraying flower etc ,) you can fill it up with water and washing up liquid spray the walls a couple of times but make sure to cover the floor and not create puddles on same , this is way easier than a brush but if you cant get one of these then use a roller Wink BTW is the paper Vinyl or Paper ?
Garden Spray in B&Q €20 well worth it Thumbs Up
In Martin and Roy we Trust !

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 10:12pm
Fitted a shower screen on the bath today. Was dreading it and the potential of fooking up, but all went swimmingly I'm delighted to report. So if any of you want an expert to fit wan of these yokes fitted, call the experts on 1850 shamshower

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote brianie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 10:13pm

Fitted a shower screen on the bath today. Was dreading it and the potential of fooking up, but all went swimmingly I'm delighted to report. So if any of you want an expert to fit wan of these yokes fitted, call the experts on 1850 shamshower

Sham Bathroom EnterprisesThumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote horsebox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 10:17pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 10:19pm
Having re read my previous post, I'm delighted to announce I'm branching into teaching English in the written form.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 10:32pm
How much that set you back Sham?
Thinking of upgrading the shower curtain

McG...take off the top layer of paper first
Should come off by hand
Ye need to soak the backing paper
Use a roller or a big sponge
Soak the whole room 2 or 3 times
Then use a filling knife(not a scraper) to remove paper
**** of a job

Edited by BigStrongMan - 10 May 2013 at 10:47pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 10:42pm
Sound lads will report back tomorrow. Will do that bsm and pauli a mate offered the yoke to me.

On plus side its only 2.5 walls of paper. Cant wait.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote drog addict Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 10:49pm

McG...take off the top layer of paper first
Should come off by hand
Ye need to soak the backing paper
Use a roller or a big sponge
Soak the whole room 2 or 3 times
Then use a filler knife(not a scraper) to remove paper
**** of a job

If yer good enough and its not sh*t wallpaper that was put on by a dzope you can peel one roll in one go. Cleared one of me rooms last weekend in 20 minutes. Got five more rooms left to sort out over the weekend.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The GerK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 10:54pm
Bsm...try clean out the filter
Had the same prob last night and it came back to normal on its own after a few hours
Something to do with the pressure

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 11:01pm

Got it on eBay from a crowd in Dunshaughlin. 1400x1000 for under €80 delivered to the door. The price of similar in the shops is criminal. I'll get the link for ye

Shower screen

Edited by sham157 - 10 May 2013 at 11:11pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rossieman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 May 2013 at 11:19pm

Had the same prob last night and it came back to normal on its own after a few hours

that must be a serious shower curtain with its own filter LOLEmbarrassed

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote McG Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2013 at 5:27pm
Going to paint over the thing. To hell with the taking down Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigStrongMan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2013 at 7:15pm

Going to paint over the thing. To hell with the taking down Thumbs Up
the lazy mans way I like your style

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The GerK Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2013 at 7:50pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sham157 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2013 at 7:46am
Right lads, blocked drain out the back, the wan that the kitched sink does flow into. Whats the handiest to clear this, the rod yokes or can you just pour some of that drain clearing stuff into it?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rossieman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2013 at 9:31am

BSM was talking about a shower curtain.
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 18>