Renting a house in Kerry

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote athlonecelt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Renting a house in Kerry
    Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 12:11pm
Anyone ever just rent a place for a week or a few nights down in Kerry near Dingle of Killarney ? Thinking of doing it this year, getting about 8 people, big house, fill the fridge with beer and food, and take it from there.
Somehwhere near enough the main towns but far enough out that its cheaper ? Could drive cars in at night and collect them in the mornings ?

Started looking it up online but its so vast. Hard to know what yer at .
Anyone got any advice ?
irish_major View Drop Down
Bookie Slayer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irish_major Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 12:22pm
Originally posted by athlonecelt athlonecelt wrote:

Anyone ever just rent a place for a week or a few nights down in Kerry near Dingle of Killarney ? Thinking of doing it this year, getting about 8 people, big house, fill the fridge with beer and food, and take it from there.
Somehwhere near enough the main towns but far enough out that its cheaper ? Could drive cars in at night and collect them in the mornings ?

Started looking it up online but its so vast. Hard to know what yer at .
Anyone got any advice ?
Killarney wouldnt be so easy to find a house to rent. sh*tloads in dingle though, and kenmare, which is a good spot too but dingle is unreal. If you just rented a 4 bedroom house in dingle would be cheap enough so long as fellas dont mind sleeping on the couch and what not.
Good website for booking in dingle there

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Salzburglilly Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 12:23pm
Going to Killarney for a few days in June with the bird, never  been there  before, a lot  of reasonably priced BNBS available online.
fochie View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fochie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 12:56pm
Try John Bennys in Dingle, Tis in the town.Thumbs Up

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sono Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 1:26pm
My girlfriends uncle has a house down in Kenmare I was down there 2 weeks ago, 5 min walk to the town and loads of room in the house, 350 for the week I think but would need to double check that, if interested I will get more info for you.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shedite Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 1:29pm
Stayed here once. Had no complaints.... http://www.killarneyholidayvillage.com/

finnanselbow View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote finnanselbow Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 2:02pm
Dingle.

great spot.
4 lads, got 3 bed house between us for 3 night weekend (Thurs to Sun), €300.
plenty of options there

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sausy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 2:42pm
JerryFromKerry is your best shot for info on the area.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BabbsBalls Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 3:35pm
Stayed in Glenbeigh before . Quiet spot with plenty of houses available to rent for a few days at good rates Thumbs Up 

Getting married in the Castlerosse Hotel in Killarney in July . They have impressive Golf lodges. They are basically big-ass houses to rent . Newly built , sleeps around 6-8 people and walking distance to Killarney town. Good value too . 
athlonecelt View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote athlonecelt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 3:46pm
Jaysus lads and lassies, Thanks for such great replies.

Appreciate it.

One thing about this forum, is that youll always get a responce for things like this.

Another great Irish traitThumbs Up

Edited by athlonecelt - 20 Mar 2013 at 3:46pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote athlonecelt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 5:41pm
What is Kenmare like ?? Much to do ?

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sono Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 5:42pm
You looking for a booze week or relaxing week AC?

Kenmare in the summer I imagine is a smashing spot.

Easy E View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Easy E Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 6:17pm
Go on daft.ie and search by holiday homes. Loads of places that way brother.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote athlonecelt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 10:13pm
Hiking / Booze SmileSmile
irish_major View Drop Down
Bookie Slayer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote irish_major Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 10:28pm
Kenmare is a beautiful spot, being a kerry man myself i suppose we dont really appriciate what we have right on our doorstep. Killarney is very touristy, dingle is my favourite spot of all though. An absolute gem. Whatever it is about the place, the local people are some of the nicest you'll come across, always an unbelievable atmosphere in the town. Some smashing beaches and unbelievable scenery

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PanteirA Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Mar 2013 at 10:55pm
Originally posted by athlonecelt athlonecelt wrote:

Hiking / Booze SmileSmile
Dingle and Kenmare would be good options , but If ye are going for a week I would recommend Killarney. Its a bigger town so you have a lot more pubs/nightclubs and there is something happening in Killarney every week. There are plenty of things to do outdoors also. You are only 45 mins drive from kenmare and 55 mins from Dingle so you also could do a day trip there

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Shedite Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Mar 2013 at 8:31am
Originally posted by irish_major irish_major wrote:

Kenmare is a beautiful spot, being a kerry man myself i suppose we dont really appriciate what we have right on our doorstep.
I know what ya mean. Moved from Cork to Dublin a few years back and only now realise how sensational the south west looks. You definitely take it for granted when you're around it every day.

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote athlonecelt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Mar 2013 at 10:50am
In Athlone, its not only the accent that is flat. There is damn all scenery hills or mts. We still get a buzz when we drive over the bridge on the dual carriage way or drive up the slip route.

Love the West. I could look at natural scenery all day. I have no interest in man made attractions to look at. Like cars, buildings, etc.

But natural beauty is great, Mountains, glens, women, waterfalls.